We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly amazing staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanoi Culture Hostel
Ranked #8 of 577 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly amazing staff!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I stayed here for 9 nights while I was apartment hunting and settling into the city. It was my home away from home and really made my initial experience to Vietnam truly amazing. The staff are just amazing, so friendly and helpful. They always had a smile on their face and went out of their way to help me with all sorts of matters. The room was perfect; clean, tidy and comfortable. Couldn't fault it. The breakfast and drink every morning was an added bonus, delicious food which made for a great start to the day. Good location too, easy access to every thing in the old quarter. So overall it is excellent value for money however the staff really made my experience here so enjoyable. After leaving the hostel I missed them, they feel like family! Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CultureHostel, Manager at Hanoi Culture Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Cazzarole,
Thank you for choosing Hanoi Culture Hostel for your recent stay in Hanoi. We sincerely appreciate your meaningful contribution to our hotel on TripAdvisor. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve our services perfectly.Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose Hanoi Cuture Hostel the next time you're in Hanoi.
Best regards
HANOI CULTURE HOSTEL TEAM
"A home away from home"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    94
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
248
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here , after spending a night in the old centre hotel ( which was lovely!) And found the staff to be just as friendly !such a lovely chain of hotels. We found the room to be clean and comfortable and nicely decorated, we were bumped up as last time to a deluxe room, and enjoyed our stay very much! We plan to stay here again after visiting Cat Ba island! Thankyou to the staff for such a friendly welcome, and for so much help in planning the next part of our trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 11 nights whilst my boyfriend recovered from Dengue Fever. It's a lovely hostel and worth the price tag. They've considered every small detail and the location is perfectly central.

The staff are truly great - very welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful. They helped us with a couple of complicated matters which went beyond their usual responsibilities, always with a smile. Excellent customer service and the free coffee and lemon juice on arrival was very welcoming.

The room was like our second home. We stayed in the double delux which is large, nicely decorated, comfortable and clean. It had a fridge, TV, aircon, and a lovely en suite with a great shower. The lighting was good too - bed-side lamp, spot lights and wall lights. Good view of the street and large doors opening onto a tiny balcony. It was cleaned every couple of days without us having to ask.

The free breakfast includes one drink, one meal (eggs&bread/soups/pancakes/cornflakes and more) and an extra plate of fruit. Very tasty, filling and healthy - really set us up for the day.

There is a book swap with a few books. Just swap a book for a book with no extra cost.

Negative: the wifi in our room was usually quite slow and sometimes didn't work at all. We had to Skype family in the breakfast area. However there are 2 computers in the reception area with fast internet, which you can use for free.

We would definitely recommend this hostel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean and comfortable,and kept in good quality all basic necessities are prepares. The price is reasonable.

Staff here are very helpful and always keen on solving our problems. Good and careful arrangements are provided like pick up after tours and storage.

Will surely come back if back to hanoi again n recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is my second time staying at this hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. Outstanding value for money. Breakfast is included in the price and is delicious, there is a wide selection of vietnamese delicacies and western fare to pick from. Located in the middle of Old Quarter and on a less busy street. All the major attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Van Mieu and Night Market are within walking distance. This hotel deserves nothing less than an excellent rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are budget places that are quite up to snuff, and then there are those that go above and beyond. Hanoi Culture Hostel is one of those places. Almost everything is perfect -- the staff, friendly, speak good english. The included breakfast is one of the best we've had at budget hotels -- pancakes are particularly good! The rooms are fitted with new and comfortable furnishings, modern bathroom, fluffy sheets and towels - there is nothing worn about this hotel! The bed is very comfortable. There is plenty of storage - hangers! in the closet, so you can put away your belongings. Room service is daily. Lots of natural light in rooms with a balcony. TV has BBC and CNN. The location is also nice as the hotel is not on one of the main thoroughfare streets but rather on a side, small street. Easy to walk to all tourist attractions in the area. We are such fans! We made a video about the room: http://www.housetolaos.com/10-may-2014-hanoi-vietnam/

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301, and really enjoyed the view from the balcony. Stairs are a bit of a pain, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank housetolaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Located near old quarter, night market and the citadel the Culture Hostel is a perfect base for many activities in Hanoi. Rooms are clean and cosy, the furniture is suitable for the room size and offers enough space for the belongings of 2 people. The mattrass was not to my liking: too hard and knobbly. The shower is outstanding as it's very spacious and functional.
Rooms to street offer a great view from the balcony but may be very loud at times, esp at the lower levels. Rooms to the backyard are quieter but miss a real view.
The variety for the included breakfast reaches from tradional vietnamese soups to continental breakfast.
Staff is always friendly, offers perfect service and is helpful esp when it comes to advice for trips to locations like Ha Long Bay etc.
A very good choice.

Armin

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#58 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#3 of 577 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi 3B Hotel
Hanoi 3B Hotel
#7 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi 3B Homestay
Hanoi 3B Homestay
#4 of 577 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Golden Charm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Culture Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Culture Hostel

Property: Hanoi Culture Hostel
Address: 28 Bat Su | Hang Bo, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanoi Culture Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Culture Hostel is conveniently located at centre of Hanoi Old Quarter, 7 minutes on foot from Hoan Kiem Lake, Thang Long Water Puppet theater, nearby Ho Chi Minh Complex, The Temple of Literature. It’s surrounded by many Restaurants, Bars and Banks.Cozy, comfort and accommodating, we offer Vietnamese cultural style decorated . Internet with computer at lobby and hotel-wide WIFI coverage ensure effortless connectivity for entertainment, family contact, and work.All hotel rooms consist of Satellite TV, Mini bar, Telephone, Wabroble, Dressing table, Tea/Coffee maker, Working Desk. Restaurant is available for your complimentary breakfast. Welcome drink is offered upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanoi Culture Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing