We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kurt & Kanako give it a BIG thumbs up!!! Will definitely use again on our next trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sun Villa Hotel
Ranked #17 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My first impression on arrival was a bit apprehensive as the entry is a corridor leading from the street under a neon sign proclaiming the "Golden Sun Villa Hotel". What struck as original and welcoming was the painted mural in the entry corridor (see attached photo), setting the hotel apart from other similar hotels in the area, providing a clear location marker. The corridor from the street opened up to a modern clean hotel were staff were very enthusiastic and welcoming. Throughout our five day stay all the staff from front desk to cleaners made their best effort to ensure our stay was comparable to a five star hotel. We were upgraded following our first night to one of their penthouse rooms... the view was panoramic, fabulous city views and we overlooked St Josephs Cathedral. It's bells could be heard gently pealing and was very atmospheric, not loud enough to be a problem. Both rooms we stayed in were well appointed. Looking at other hotels closer to the old city quarter I perceived street noise would have been more of an issue regardless of the floor you were on. Golden Suns location was convenient, being about a ten minute stroll to either the old quarter or to the opposite end of the lake nearby. We took the option of airport transfers both to and from the hotel and would rate this to be worth the money as it was booked on time and was convenient, cost was not an issue due to the distance from the airport and comparative taxi costs. Of note in my 20's I worked for six years with both Hilton and Parkroyal hotels in Perth and Sydney Australia, Golden Suns service and rooms were well up a standard I would expect and will use them again on future stays in Hanoi.

Room Tip: The higher up the better as you are in a city!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HermsBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (905)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sun Villa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed at the Golden Sun Villa Hotel on three different occasions on our recent visit to Hanoi.
The first time we had a room on the 7th floor, it was well appointed, very clean, and very quiet.

The staff were always a pleasure to deal with, and any request was acted on promptly. Hana at the front desk was a joy to see, and Kevin could help arrange any travel, or transfers within an instant.

On our 2nd stay, following a few days any at Ha Long Bay, we returned and were given a room on the 3rd floor, again it was well appointed, only it was a little noisy as outside we could hear what sounded like a loud air conditioner which unfortunately ran all night. We told the staff, not that they could do anything about it, but when we returned for our 3rd stay, they upgraded us to a larger room at a higher level. So try and avoid room 302. But well done to the staff for taking our concerns on board.

Breakfast was great, with plenty to choose from, and again the staff there were great. Though they did keep insisting that I had more to eat, seems like three helpings just isn't enough.

An excellent stay all round, and I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 302 is a little noisy due to an outside air conditioner, the higher the level the better,
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p41simmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am from Malaysia and have stayed in Golden Sun Villa fro 21/2 - 23/2/14. Efficient of the started by the time I reached the Hanoi airport where the shuttle was waiting for me.
Upon arrival at the hotel, Ms Hana was there to welcome me. She took the trouble to explain the destinations that I can get good food and visit.
The Restaurant serving the breakfast was another strong point for this hotel. I have visited Germany, US, Indonesia and China where I have stayed in higher 'stars' hotel but the service here is really special. The staff make sure we get the food we wants and in less than 5 minutes.
Upon departure, shuttle is ready waiting for me.
Will come back in the near future.
Lim

Room Tip: Try to get room facing the city.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kklim7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We wanted to thank you, all of the staff and management of the hotel , from the moment we have entered the door- you never stopped pampering us and giving us a warm feeling. Thank you for the hospitality and for the care, we felt it in the smallest details!
Service was excellent and so are you!
We will gladly recommend on your hotel which was a sweet and will be an unforgettable memory from our trip!

With best wishes,
Shosh & Shuki Shukrun

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shosh772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If not for the mistake its sister hotel made for double booking, we wouldn't have discovered the beauty of this hotel. We were offered to check out this property and we are so glad we did! The hotel is tucked along a quieter street and behind a small little alley, very near the Hoan Kiem Lake and all other 'to-go' streets. Excellent customer service from the staff (both frontdesk & the F&B) who were very pleasant, warm and helpful while the room we stayed in was modern, spacious & really comfortable. If I could, I would be in the room watching HBO all day.

I don't know if this is a 4 or 5 star property but it sure feels like one, or it truly deserves to be, in my humble opinion.

Breakfast was really good. We ordered a sandwich & a pho - both delicious.
All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Choojx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel is only 3 months old and is in an excellent location. The rooms are spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, huge showers or bath (always hot with plenty of water) and complementary fruit which is changed daily. There was also a bottle of wine and the mini bar is very reasonable. Plenty of selection for breakfast and the beds are comfy and the junior suites are very large with great views (then again I was on the 9th floor). The staff really make this hotel, Kevin the manager sorted out everything before we arrived, he was extremely helpful and nothing was a problem. Hana (and another lady) on reception were so friendly and were always welcoming and helpful. Susan and Mia at breakfast were fantastic also. We stayed 3 nights here but wish it was longer, you can not go wrong booking into this hotel, the prices are very reasonable and the rooms fantastic and very spacious.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank shaydeelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had a great experience during our stay there. My wife and I enjoyed the warm welcome. They have very helpful and friendly staff that will go extra mile for service. Superb Valentine's Day arrangement by Ms Hana. Golden Sun Villa Hotel is the correct choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lai1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonpham11, Customer Care Team at Golden Sun Villa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Mr. Lai,

First of all, we would like to thank you for selecting Golden Sun Villa Hotel as your choice of accommodation while visiting Hanoi.

Your great feedback on TripAdvisor website is much appreciated. We are so glad to know that you satisfied with our room, location and service and we are especially grateful to hear that you would be happy to stay at Golden Sun Villa.

As we know Valentine Day is the special time for you and all couple in the world. We hope that with our arrangement, you had a meaningful day with your wife.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comment us on site, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel service. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you visit Hanoi in the future.

Hana
Customer Care Team
"We Care About You, We Care About Your Trip"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#5 of 596 in Hanoi
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
#4 of 596 in Hanoi
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sun Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Villa Hotel

Address: 68 Hang Trong, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £32 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Sun Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Golden Sun Villa Hotel was just opened in the 15th Nov 2013. Tuck away from Hang Trong Street, this is the latest and newest boutique hotel in the chain of Golden Sun group. Located in the heart of the Hanoi Old Quarter, we are super close to the Hoan Kiem Lake, the Water Puppet Theatre and the many other delights of traditional Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Sun Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing