We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for just a look” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City Gate

Old City Gate
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good for just a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I happened across the Old City Gate while exploring the Old Quarter. My hotel was in the Old Quarter so I just wandered aimlessly down the streets being careful not to be hit by bikes and cars. The Old City Gate kind of just pops up out of no where and when I visited it was in the early evening so there was a lot of traffic. It was cool to see but you don't linger too long because of the traffic. But still a cool place to stop by for a quick picture and then continue on to get something to eat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 8Nikki8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    46
    36
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pops up from nowhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Essentially stumbled across this returning to hotel after half day tour with indochine tours. Had to ask van to stop and. Get out. It is ensconced in normal city-scape and easily mistaken for nothing on particular. Have to imagine a sense of age and history but at least this is actually the original stones not a renovation of replacement after colonial French destruction.
Only need to take Photo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
237 reviews
187 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A cool gate, seemingly out of place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This city gate feels strange in the midst of the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The gate is off limits to cars, so you can walk back and forth without fear of being run over. Oh, and it is smaller than in the picture! If you are in this area around lunchtime, there are some great local street vendors nearby!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrBunnsBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a rare piece of history left standing in this fast developing city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

makes for an interesting focal point in the walks along the many small lanes. Good to see that the urban planners chose to keep this rare piece of history alongside the skyscrapers in the rapid pace of modernization.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank waka88waka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pablo, Laguna, Philippines
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not much but important history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I brought my whole family to Hanoi and we decided to do the cultural tour to every thing that spoke of the glorious Vietnam revolution! The gate was both historic and feudal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rayme_525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old City Gate also viewed

 

Been to Old City Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing