We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it, great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Classic Street Hotel
Ranked #120 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The best thing was the amazing comfy beds and crisp white bedding. The desire to stay in bed all day was tempting! We walked in here as a passing query and stayed for three nights. Our room was perfect. Spacious, quiet and light with a great bathroom. Breakfast was really good quality with plenty of choice and the dining area was charming. This seems to be family run and at breakfast everyone helps out so it's great to meet the staff and talk to them. The staff were very friendly once we checked in and helpful without pushing tours etc. At 35$ for a double room including breakfast this scored ten out of ten for us and would re book if we return to Hanoi. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

What a helpful manager Mr Phuc is. He booked our Hanoi day tour and our 2 night cruise of Halong Bay. Both were excellent. Mr Phuc greets you with a lovely smile. All staff are very helpful. Hot water great. Rooms large. Best Pho I had in Vietnam and the other Vietnamese option on the menu was excellent. Great location. Easy walk to lake and Puppet theatre (a must). Thank you Mr Phuc, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mother_of_lozzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Excellent location, in close proximity to water puppet theater, hoan kiem lake and its surrounding sight seeing and atmosphere... Friendly owner (old lady) and helpful staffs, clean room, antique decoration and furniture yet pleasant to the eyes and nice ambience overall.... Will come back and stay at this hotel next time...

Agung

Room Tip: Take room 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgungSumargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in Classic street hotel in June 2012 for 2 nights and were really happy there.
First impression can be a gloomy tiny hotel, but once you spend 5-10 minutes there you realize how charming it is. It has a very authentic vietnamese style (at least the way I see it)) with little statues all over the place and photos of old Hanoi, antique furniture - the whole place smells history and peace. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice and clean, breakfast decent. We liked the rooster singing in the outside heard from our window in the morning!
We couldn`t wish to find a better place for our stay in Hanoi. Stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

The entry to this hotel is so small and unconspicious, that one doesn't excpect much at this very attractively priced hotel. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, good beds and bathroom. Lots of interesting furniture and art everywhere. The staff and owner are very friendly and cooperative. The hotel is ideally located in the Old Quarter right next to Hoa Kiem lake. Incredible price on Agoda. I would definitevely go back !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hanoi is a city to fall irrevocably in love with, but this love needs to be helped on quite a bit at the beginning. This is a city turned inside out - the pavements and streets are alive with human energy, and all of human life is there to be seen and to become part of. The Classic Street Hotel is a great place to start if you want to take on the challenge of becoming part of this great human dance of movement and sound. Once you begin to flow with the city, it opens its heart to you. The walk between Classic Street Hotel and Hoan Kiem Lake will get you started because it takes you from one oasis of relative peace to another, and in the beginning, you really do need these oases. The hotel appears deceptively small and non-descript from the street, but like most spaces in Vietnam, the extreme narrowness of the building is offset by the depths that lie behind the facade. Once you pass the utilitarian reception desk, the hotel expands into a zen-like, open-air, marbled lobby which is decorated with antique carvings, prints, unusual objects, small water-features and plants. This is a really lovely place to sit at night time. The breakfast room is a continuation of this space and is calm, cool and restful. The rooms are clean and well-equipped, and there is wi-fi for every floor and computers freely available in the reception area. Some rooms are more spacious than others so it's well worth inquiring about a move if you feel that yours is too small. Breakfast is simple and good - fresh rolls, eggs and fruit on the European menu, and Pho on the Vietnamese menu. Coffee here will take a little getting used to but - like so many things in Vietnam - it will slowly persuade you to love it, and then you'll miss it when you can't have it any more. One of the best and most important thing about Classic Street Hotel is the staff. They are endlessly patient in helping you to plan and organise anything that you want to do. We booked our trips to Halong Bay and SaPa through the hotel, and they put hours into it on our behalf, tweaking it for us right up to the last moment. They stored our luggage while we were away on these trips, and we were able to check back into the same room when we returned. At the ned of this part of our SE Asia trip, we were very sad to be leaving Hanoi, and almost equally sad to be saying 'goodbye' to the Classic Street Hotel. Stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipMarlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have stayed in this hotel on three occasions whilst in Hanoi area (between trips to Halong Bay and Sapa). On each occasion we've been impressed with the friendliness of the manager and staff and their willingness to help us, even allocating rooms for us this morning when we arrived at 5am from Sapa. A pleasant breakfast is provided, and the staff generally speak good english. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms have great air-conditioning. We noticed that the rooms ending in '4' aren't quite as good as the others (the other four rooms we had (all ending in '5' or '7' were excellent (I can't comment on the others as I haven't seen them). This is a newly renovated hotel which I would definitely stay at again if I return to Hanoi on a later visit. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that end in 5 or 7 (e.g., 407) which appear to be either new or recently re-furbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#30 of 599 in Hanoi
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 599 in Hanoi
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#52 of 599 in Hanoi
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Street Hotel

Address: 41 Hang Be Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 1000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £25 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient streets of Hanoi are one of the world treasures. This is not only the place of 112 vestiges of history, religion and culture but also the place which has witnessed the changed of Hanoi people's life through the past thousands years. Our hotel - Classic Street Hotel is located in Hang Be Street, one of the ancient streets in Hanoi. With its truly traditional style, open and airy space, Classic Street Hotel makes deep impression in customers who have stayed here. From here, you can feel the most peace of Hanoi. It takes only 2 minutes to go for a walk to go to Hoan Kiem Lake, to Ngoc Son pagoda, The Huc Bridge. Right beside the hotel is Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, tourism center, bank... You can walk through small streets shadowed by big trees, watch silk and souvenir shops on the 2 sides of the roads which joint Vietnam to other countries in the world. Esp. Here you can make friends with Vietnamese people who are very friendly and hospitable. Classic Street Hotel is surely your ideal hotel destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Classic Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Classic Street Hotel Hanoi
Classic Street Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing