We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Pleasant Helpful Staff”
Review of Camellia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camellia Hotel
Ranked #89 of 599 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This hotel right in the Old Quarter is god value.
It has helpful English speaking staff who will arrange trips to visit many places, will store luggage and get taxis and tuk tuks whenever needed.
The very clean rooms are complete with safe, fridge, tea and coffee making, a hair dryer, and computer for free use.
The included breakfast is fairly basic but adequate.
The best thing about the hotel is the helpful service from all the staff. They were always able and ready to help with anything, however small.
I was here 3years ago , have just stayed again and plan to return again at the end of my circular trip.

Room Tip: The 4th for seems to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAGGEDNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

I think there's a few Camellia Hotels in Hanoi but the one I stayed was Camellia 1 and this was arranged by a travel agent. In fact I went on a very cheap package (air and accomodation) from Tokyo to Hanoi then to Siem Reap and back to Ho Chi Minh for $800 so I knew I wasn't staying in a 5 star hotel. I did have a chance to look into their home page which only included a photo of a twin bed and probably the best they could show. The room was depressing, the bathroom so dark I couldn't distinguish between a shampoo & a shower gel, bad and bad drainage . There was a tiny window on the top which did not help much and where all the street noise came from at 4am. I had a decent bed but my friend's squeaked every time she moved. The bed lamp was broken and so was the alarm clock. The bright side - they gave you a bottle of water every day and a so-so breakfast (which turned to be pretty good after the one we had in Ho Chi Minh). BUT for $30 a room, what can you expect?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

After waking up to loud and regular yet hard-to-describe noises next to my bed, my friend and I tried to find the source of the sound. As it turned out, it came from inside the wall. Since we couldn't stop it, we called the hotel reception. The night clerk reluctantly came to our room to investigate the matter. After pounding on the wall for a bit (after which the gnawing noises stopped for a few seconds) he shrugged and said it was an animal. It is now 2.53am and I'm writing from another room which the night clerk was kind enough to give us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandnesjenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We found Camellia Hotel through lonely planet and travelfish. We wrote to them online, hoping they would be able to take reservation through email. They were so quick in response- and let us know that they could pick us up from the airport, which they did.

We are budget travelers, so we picked this place based on price. We weren't expecting much, but what we got was an impecibly clean room, an extremely soft bed, a great AC unit, a mini fridge stocked with cold beer, water, and soda which were priced at the same price as a convenience store. So nice to arrive after long travel, be able to chill in an AC room and drink a beer that isn't over priced.

Besides truly enjoying the room- the staff were GREAT. they helped us with directions to the train station, called around to like 5 different places in Sapa for us to find an available room. Called taxi's (that wouldn't gouge our wallets) for us every time we needed them. They even stood out on the busy and wild streets of Hanoi to wait for the taxi with us.

Breakfast every morning was delicious, We felt like we were treated like family. They were just so kind to us.

Yes you could pay twice the price and stay in a hotel that might have fresher paint or more room for you to put your bags, but if you're on a budget, and you have the opportunity to stay here- DO. We loved it. We felt so lucky to have found them.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostInHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

To say that we were displeased with this hotel would be a serious understatement. The staff were incredibly unhelpful to begin with, and became much worse once we refused to buy overpriced train tickets from them. They are some of the worst business people imaginable. That aside, the room was barely decent, the food was nothing special, and the price was similar to many others in the city.

DO NOT STAY at this hotel. You can find something better for a similar price. Save yourself the headaches.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIASIA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2006

I picked this hotel from the Lonely Planet book. It was awful. I would have rather been camping. The linens had hair in them and the bathroom towels were worst than rags that I use in my house. I would never recommend this place to ANYONE!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank rnfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Linh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rosaliza Hotel
Rosaliza Hotel
#163 of 599 in Hanoi
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
#212 of 599 in Hanoi
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
#110 of 599 in Hanoi
232 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#131 of 599 in Hanoi
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Advisor Travel Homestay
Advisor Travel Homestay
#233 of 599 in Hanoi
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Hotel

Address: 12 Hue Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
#43 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £23 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camellia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are the small hotel located at center of hanoi.Wit 12 standard rooms and good service we bring for you the best stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Camellia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camellia Hotel Hotel Hanoi
Camellia Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing