We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Vietnam... Even though all of them were nice”
Review of Especen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Especen Hotel
Ranked #211 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Vietnam... Even though all of them were nice”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The room was almost like in a five star hotel. We had our own kettle with mugs there. TV, fridge and aircon all worked well and the bathroom was class. The bed was so comfy I'd have it at home if I could! We had our room in fifth floor so the only downside was climbing all the stairs. Location is good with lots of restaurants near by. We organized a taxi to airport through the Hotel and it ended up costing less than it would have with the meter on.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiltsu-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    128
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
28
122
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My boyfriend and I recently travelled to Hanoi and made the Especen Hotel home base for 5-6 days as we travelled to and from Halong Bay, Sapa and Mai Chau. The location in the old quarter was great with lots of activities and inexpensive delicious Vietnamese food right outside your door. Anh who works at the hotel, was super helpful, friendly, spoke very good English and was extremely patient as we peppered him with questions on which tours to take and sights to see.

Anh recommended the Royal Heritage Halong Bay 2-night, 3-day boat cruise, which we thoroughly enjoyed. All the details were taken care of and all we had to do was show up. We also took the hotel's advice and booked the overnight train to Sapa for a 2-day trekking excursion. The only thing we didn't care for was the Summit Hotel which is part of the package tour. The Summit Hotel is old, run down, very cold and the staff were neither friendly nor helpful. When we returned to the Especen Hotel I spoke with Anh and suggested he tell his manager to stop using the Summit Hotel as it reflects poorly on what I feel the Especen represents, good service, clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff. I would definitely recommend the Especen Hotel and will stay there again if ever back in Hanoi. When staying here also recommend drinks on the 2nd storey balcony of the Hanoi bar or Marilyn's overlooking St. Joseph's Cathedral. Thanks Especen for the great memories!

Room Tip: We liked the higher floors in the second tower as you were further away from the street/scooter nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mae Sot, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

This is a great little hotel with helpful staff and very nice rooms, especially for the price. The room we had was totally newly done with a great warm shower, bed, hot water kettle, tv, ac, etc all for $20 for a double. They have a reasonable breakfast but also there is a Bun Reiu place right outside which has great morning soup. the street is quiet. Can't say enough good about this place! just make sure you get to the right one since there are several copy cats.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Firstly make sure you get the right hotel as there are a number of copy cats but with this one you won't be disappointed.

Our room was newly done with excellent fittings, flat screen TV with tons of sky channels, kettle and tea cups, soft double beds, hair dryer, wardrobes, separate warm shower etc all for a budget $15!

Anh (male receptionist) is really chatty and super helpful, upon arrival he provided us with a map and suggested some local restaurants and sights to see. He also booked a deluxe 1 day tour for us (my girlfriend and I) to Halong Bay and it was great, brilliant food and English speaking guide for $45 including pick ups/return, visiting a cave and kayaking. When we returned Anh made sure that we had no problems with our tour (give this man a raise).

They also do an inexpensive breakfast which you can eat on the tables by reception, we were too busy so didn't have a chance to try breakfast at the hotel but noticed other guest tucking in and it looked really good :)

We decided to get the airport shuttle, so did not have any problems with arrangements for travel to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Great place to stay, staff were friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean with as much hot water as we needed! Great central location as well, a short walk to everything but out of the main hustle and bustle.
We had a superior double room which was great, and when we went back they didnt have any double rooms but gave us a family room for the same price which was huge!
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior double if you're a couple, though we didnt see the regular double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nice clean rooms, quite spacious, with nice beds (if a little hard). Our room certainly didn't hold my heat, as we visited in January, but the blankets took care of that!

Don't waste time on breakfast at the hotel, there are plenty of places elsewhere. The only thing I'd check is if a tour is picking you up from the hotel, check which of the three addresses they expect you to be at!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieljacklynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My friend and I arrived at the hotel upon a favourable Lonely Planet review. The staff were friendly, the room was comfortable and clean.

I asked to view a twin room and was shown what was clearly a delux / family room. When I inquired the price it was approximately $5 more than a standard twin / double. I then asked to see a standard room but was informed that there were no lower priced rooms. After some further 'inquiry' my friend and I decided to pay the increased amount for one night, as we were tired.

In the morning we informed different members of staff staff we were leaving. When we were asked why we were honest and said we could stay elsewhere cheaper. We were then informed that there were in fact cheaper options available at the hotel.

To condense a long story, the staff we initially met were intentionally deceitful as we directly asked several times if there were any cheaper options to stay at the hotel. Ultimately, they lost our money and respect.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Soanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#167 of 592 in Hanoi
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#190 of 592 in Hanoi
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#157 of 592 in Hanoi
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#270 of 592 in Hanoi
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#146 of 592 in Hanoi
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indochina Queen Hotel II
Indochina Queen Hotel II
#205 of 592 in Hanoi
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Especen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Especen Hotel

Property: Especen Hotel
Address: 28 Tho Xuong street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Especen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especen hotel is one of the first mini hotels built since the 1990s located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph's Church (Cathedral) on a quiet alley off of Au Trieu Street. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Thang Long water puppet theater, night market, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, Eroupean and Vietnamese traditional restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,... as soon as you step on to the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Especen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Especen Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing