We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't come across well”
Review of Especen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Especen Hotel
Ranked #211 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didn't come across well”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here purely because it was recommended in the lonely planet book.

First we looked the room and it was ok, so then we went on to ask about the price, the best they could do for a double room was $11 each (NOT including breakfast) so we decided to look around instead and walked up the road to Hisbicous Hotel. The room there was a little nicer and $10 each per night including breakfast. So we went for that and were extremely glad that Especen didn't work out for us because the owner of Hisbicous turned out extremely helpful and generous to us!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reecet94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
especen, Owner at Especen Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
I think this review has at least 2 problem so it should be removed.
Firstly, we have no room at $11/night. I think the guest may came across to a WRONG or FAKE hotel.
Secondly, the guest said that he had stayed at the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel (NOT Especen hotel) so the review should be appeared at the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel instead.
I had owned the Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel for 2 years but now I had sold it to other. It is don't refers to Especen hotel anymore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    128
    50
    18
    16
See reviews for
28
122
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved staying in Especen. We had a free upgrade to the family room, the first time we stayed here. Incredible spacious room (especially compared to the room we had in Hong Kong :-)), with a balcony that looks out on the little streets around our hotel. The location is great. Very central, but not in the most tourist part in town. For this price we recommend it to everyone who likes to travel on a budget, but likes comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik_Kiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent two night at the Especen Hotel and we were really impressed. Large, clean room, brilliant location. The staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. This is a simple hotel with all you need at a great price. Was recommended to stay here from a friend and would certainly recommend it myself. We stayed in room 600, and although it was a hike up the stairs, we were amazed at how quiet it was, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernitae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jiaxing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Especen Hotel on two separate occasions. Both times staff were so kind, friendly, caring and helpful.
My room is nice, clean and comfortable with TV, A/C, private bathroom with hot water. Great price.
Great location just a 5 minuters walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake.
There's no swimming pool or fitness center there but you cannot find anything better at that so cheap.
I would definitely come back there.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeTaoWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manolo Fortich, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Me and my friends stayed here for 3 days and it was great! The staffs were friendly and efficient. The rooms (except for the glass shower door that was quite revealing) were great and spacious, the beds big, comfortable and soft. Everything was clean. Everybody in the hotel helped us with: booking our Halong bay tour, exchanging our money, pointing us in the right direction of where to eat, what to do and where to see the sites Hanoi has to offer, and even helped us book a car to take us around the city sites. The hotel location was also a good one cause It is near the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kharla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent room quality. The superior double room even better than deluxe rooms from other hotels. Price is so cheap. Book room so easy without deposit. Convenient location near the Cathedral, cafe, restaurant, shop...

Room Tip: Superior double room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hongyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Even though I reserved a ground floor room, they put me on the third floor. The room smelled of smoke, and the worker who took me to my room apologized, but there was no evidence they had attempted to air out the room.

The staff was very pushy about getting me to book a day tour with the company they are associated with, and they were very reluctant to tell me the location of the places the tour went, some of which I did want to visit. They also did not seem very knowledgeable about the Hanoi area. When I asked for recommendations for places to eat, they only offered one, and it was in the opposite direction of where I wanted to go after lunch.

I did have one redeeming experience with the staff. As the last part of the day tour the hotel talked me into booking, I took a rickshaw ride around Old Quarter before returning to my hotel. When I arrived, I tried to give the driver a 10,000VND tip (the tour guide suggested a 1USD tip, or 21,000VND). The driver refused and said I needed to give him 50,000VND. I knew the driver had already been paid, and I refused. After arguing with him for a minute, two hotel workers came outside. They translated that the driver said the tour guide told him I would pay 50,000VND. I said the tour guide had already paid the driver, and I was just trying to give a tip, which by then I had withdrawn. However, they believed me, took me inside, and made the rickshaw driver leave.

Unfortunately, my last impression of the hotel was not a good one. I asked them to arrange at taxi to the airport at 7a.m. I had a flight to Malaysia at 9:20a.m. and the hotel worker assured me it only took 30 minutes to reach the airport. I asked for the taxi two days before my departure and confirmed it verbally with them multiple times after that. When 7:15a.m. rolled around, I was forced to wake up the worker sleeping on the floor of the lobby. He made multiple phone calls, and I didn’t get inside a taxi until 7:30a.m. The actual time to the airport was 60 minutes, and with the late arrival of the taxi, I almost missed the check-in time for my flight.

All in all, it was a fine room with an ensuite bathroom, air con, and TV, but I don’t think I’ll be staying there again.

Visited June 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#167 of 592 in Hanoi
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#190 of 592 in Hanoi
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Diamond Hotel
Green Diamond Hotel
#157 of 592 in Hanoi
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#270 of 592 in Hanoi
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
Hanoi Serenity Hotel 2
#146 of 592 in Hanoi
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indochina Queen Hotel II
Indochina Queen Hotel II
#205 of 592 in Hanoi
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Especen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Especen Hotel

Property: Especen Hotel
Address: 28 Tho Xuong street, Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
#69 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Especen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Especen hotel is one of the first mini hotels built since the 1990s located in the center of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. It is just a stone’s throw from St. Joseph's Church (Cathedral) on a quiet alley off of Au Trieu Street. This convenient location allows you to be just a 5 minute walk from Hoan Kiem Lake, Thang Long water puppet theater, night market, Vietnam Airlines booking office & Quang Trung bus stop (for service to Noi Bai International airport). You can get to all the famous travel points, Eroupean and Vietnamese traditional restaurants, craft shops, pubs and art galleries,... as soon as you step on to the main road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Especen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Especen Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing