We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really something better than a stay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Hai 1 Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nam Hai 1 Hotel
Ranked #405 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Saigon
1 review
“A really something better than a stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

I write this just to share my own feelings to friends all over the world about my favorite hotel in Hanoi. Last month when i had a chance for coming back hanoi after years living and working in saigon far from my beloved city, i was introduced with Nam Hai hotel, and that was also my first time staying there. the first impression is that all the staffs are very brisk and helpful, the lobby is spartial too. I was allocated to the room 601, this is a very excellent room with great balcony so that i could recall my childish memories when i used to play with my friends under the tiny tiled old houses of the Old Quarter. That worked so much. Every morning, i could enjoy the fresh air outdoor and listen to the rare rythm of the quiet old street before it start for a new day. Breakfast is also plentiful with foods and drinks. And the prominent, i think, is the budget value that this hotel can supply. Days of staying in Nam Hai hotel accompannied with my valuable time in Hanoi that did make my great memories about the fatherland once again. Thank you so much, whenever i have chance for coming back, surely i want to pay a visit to my friendly place- Nam Hai.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homesick-saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    20
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dowerin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

This was our second trip and we loved the Nam Hai 1 just as much as the first time. We stayed 2 nights at another hotel but had to come back to Nam Hai 1. The staff were very accommodating with part day use while waiting to go to Sapa and early check-in on our return from Sapa. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Excellent sized rooms at this price. Breakfast is interesting and varied on a daily basis. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hinchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
us
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

I have been in Nam Hai hotel last month, and it was the best time when I was first in Hanoi. The hotel is in great atmosphere, plentiful services from within to the outback. The busy Ma May Street is very ideal for going to the other corners of Hanoi city. Hotel staffs are very professional and helpful. They always help dealing with travel concerns with the bright smiles. We stayed for 2 nights when first coming there, then they scheduled us a wonderful trip to discover the wild Northern West of Vietnam, following our demand. Duc, one of the staff there, is very experienced; he is very professional when solving out bringing customers’ problems, he can also shows you the best guidance for your valuable time when you’re in Hanoi. Thank you so much Nam Hai hotel. We will surely come to you next time when we travel to Hanoi.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surviveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Two stays here at the Nam Hai. Quiet rooms were newly renovated and worth returning. Ill health kept us room bound for a few days and the staff supplied medicine late at night and showed much concern in the following days. Taxis were arranged and flights and tours as well. Free breakfasts were included in a substantial buffet, rooms were cleaned well and daily. Staff were friendly and helpful. An enjoyable place to share Tet - Chuc Mung Nam Moi!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

I used the Nam Hai 1 on three occasions over a 10 day peroid. It is extremely central in the old quarter. The hotel is well appointed and clean. The staff were professional and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Julie Australia

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie10Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

During 4 weeks in Vietnam, we aimed for 3 star hotels priced USD30-40. We looked for the Anh Dao from a recommendation in the Lets Go guidebook, and found it transformed into the 3-star Nam Hai 1. We selected a queen bed room for USD30. It was clean and comfortable though a little cramped as it was crowded with fantastic wooden furniture inlaid with mother-of-pearl. The breakfast buffet (included in price) was adequate but not exciting. The location was great; right in the Old Quarter. Laundry was reasonably priced and returned within a few hours each time. We ended up keeping the room during our absence on a group tour to Sa Pa, just for the convenience. Our belongings were all intact when we arrived back. The staff mostly very friendly and spoke reasonable English. Free internet access from our room (computer provided though we preferred to use our laptop) was fast. Overall, would happily stay there again if we return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Enjoyed the location. and the service was friendly. The room was good with in room computer which was great. The air con didn't cope too well with the extreme heat. My only gripe was that their was never coffee at breakfast. Would I stay here again... yes I would

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
2.6 mi away
Asean International Hotel Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Quang Hiep Hotel
Quang Hiep Hotel
#193 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison D'Hanoi Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rosaliza Hotel
Rosaliza Hotel
#228 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunny Hotel 3
Sunny Hotel 3
#257 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super hotel Hanoi Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Hai 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Hai 1 Hotel

Property: Nam Hai 1 Hotel
Address: 37 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Anh Dao Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #405 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nam Hai 1 Hotel is located in the Old Quarter - the centre of Hanoi- full of ancient streets and is the financial heart of the city, just a minute's walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake (Lake of Sword Restored). Nam Hai 1 Hotel offers a modern and diverse range of services and facilities. The hotel's location is very convenient for guests, with shopping and banking facilities, as well as eating and entertainment options all very close by. With many well-appointed rooms, the newly-built boutique Nam Hai 1 Hotel, offers you a most relaxing & comfortable accommodation in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nam Hai 1 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing