We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariva MS Salute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ariva MS Salute Hotel
Ranked #503 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The hotel is under renovation, Location is great - old quarter, next to the market, walking distance to all the important places in the city. Staff very kind, breakfast is fine, free wifi but in our room signal was not strong.
Had a triple room, size is ok bathroom clean, just needs renovation.

Room Tip: back room quieter, but ours was at the end of corridor the internet wifi was weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mica1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    27
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

Looks like the parents are out and someone left the kids in charge!
If you are staying in the Old Quarter - which you should, then this is an option. Note though we requested an upgrade and were able to get a suite - but only if we paid cash there and then! Apart from that, the baths are a mile from the wall so shower water runs all over the place, the breakfasts are average, but terrible coffee. Why can they not provide normal tea in the bedrooms? Since we spent most time out and about its not a problem, and location is good. I think there sre cheaper but similar quality to be had in the Old Quarter

Room Tip: Get a city view or risk being boxed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeCameBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

My husband and I travelled with two friends to Vietnam on Boxing Day and stayed at MS Salute for three nights before heading to Halong Bay. After reading previous reviews I was quite worried. When booking this accommodation we requested rooms with windows (after reading previous reviews) and we were lucky to get rooms overlooking the street. The room was large enough with large windows. Room was clean, breakfast was very nice and the bar and breakfast room staff very friendly. Found the Reception staff not as friendly. We ate at the restaurant once and enjoyed the meal though the restaurant was closed so we had to eat at the bar downstairs which was not too bad. MS Salute is in a great location for seeing the sights and markets. You just walk out the door and there are streets of shops everywhere!!! Crossing the roads were a bit daunting at first but just keep walking and the bikes just go around you. Both sides of the Hotel are very busy during the day but at night it was quiet and could sleep quite well. All in all not as bad as I expected so we were quite happy with MS Salute.
Sid and Lesley Welsh, Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Since we had read such negative reviews before we left, we were a bit wary of the hotel. But it did not disappoint us at all. The staff was very helpful and great. The hotel is good if you are just a transit traveller. It is nothing fancy but it definitely is worth the price. The location is good. The rooms are small but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keya_Hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I have been to Hanoi a few times on business and the last time I was there I stayed with my wife at the majestic Salute.

We had a horrible stay here with everything from rude staff to a dirty room. The room looked like it had not been cleaned from the previous guest. The bedsheets and pillowslips were wrinkled up as if slept in and there were lots of long haid hair in the bed as well.

We asked to be moved to a new room but were refused. To be honest the staff did change the bed linen for us but it took a lot of talking to get it done.

We only stayed the one night and then moved.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MobileDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

Given its location this is a great place to be in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Hanoi. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great but dinner in the restaurant was average but it's location is just a cracker. Motor bikes all day and night market right outside both doors. ATM right outside the door. Plenty of great restaurants within 200m. It is located between Hoan Kiem Lake and Dong Xuan Market. Didn't use the hotel spa so cant comment.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

So unbelievably bad.

Awful location - right in the middle of the mucky Old Quarter - it looks like it's in the middle of town on the map, but it's smack bang in the middle of streets of shops selling really poor quality stuff, dirty, stinks outside - would rather stay in the French Quarter or Business area.

Awful room - the carpet felt sticky, the bath was grey, the bed was so hard I nearly bounced off of it. No window view (unless you really want a view of another wall) and the safe didn't work. Also the walls are paper thin - the phone started ringing as we were leaving the room and we could hear it loud and clear even in the lift area.

Awful breakfast - I couldn't eat any of it. Just a couple of bits of bread and plastic cheese and some random hot food slapped together.

We went downstairs to the 2 of the 3 computers that were working and booked ourselves a room at the Sofitel. We got this Majestic room booked through our travel agent and I have no idea what they were thinking. They call this hotel 3 stars - no way.

But they were more than happy to charge 5 star hotel prices at the bar.

Honestly, it's so bad - don't go there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mookiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#169 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
Hanoi Alibaba Hotel
#480 of 578 in Hanoi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#164 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mango Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Tourist Hotel
The Tourist Hotel
#443 of 578 in Hanoi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel 2
#162 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariva MS Salute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariva MS Salute Hotel

Property: Ariva MS Salute Hotel
Address: No. 18 Hang Bun Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi | No. 18 Hang Bun Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly MS Salute Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the French style greeting and its marvelous architecture, the newly built Majestic Salute is a majestic boutique hotel located in the old quarter consisting of 36 streets of which the street names reflect the business one conducted there: Silk Street, Rice Street, Paper Street and so forth. The moment you arrive at the 5-story French style premises, you feel and taste the excitement of the city, the friendliness of Hanoi's distinctive charm stems from its architectural inheritance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Majestic Salute Hanoi
Hotel Majestic Salute
Majestic Salute Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing