We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanoi Guesthouse -----> Ocean Star”
Review of Hanoi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanoi Guest House
Ranked #4 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
“Hanoi Guesthouse -----> Ocean Star”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We booked four nights at Hanoi Guesthouse in Hanoi due to recommendations from fellow travellers on Trip Advisor. When we arrived at the place, the owner Ms Thin informed us that the place was full. We were to stay at her new guesthouse - Ocean Star (a stone throw away). Its definitely took us by surprise. Ms Thin apologised that this has happened.

However, in the end it worked to our advantage. Ocean Star, has been recently refurbished. The room looks new, has a clean bathroom and although its small, its adequate for us. As we have two big luggage, we were given a room on the second floor, which is a big help...as this place doesn't have a lift. Also, the price is the same as Hanoi Guesthouse ($15USD per night for a double room).

She has been very helpful in helping us to book airline tickets - Vietnam Airlines from Hanoi to Hue and Saigon to Phnom Penh (can't book online), tour packages to Halong Bay and Cat Ba island, perfume pagoda. Furthermore, she charged us very reasonable rate. For example, we booked a three day package to Halong Bay, staying one night on a junk, one night on Cat Ba island and it cost us $57USD per person. We discovered that when we did this tour with other people, they were paying $65USD per person, and one couple was ripped off by the travel agent and was charged $82 per person. We also found Ms Thin is very willing to help with any questions in regards to sightseeing, shopping etc. Without her help, we would wasted at least another couple of hours of our time booking these trips, airline tickets etc in Hanoi. Thank you Ms Thin for your help. :)

  • Liked — Its cheap, clean and conveniently located in the Old Quarter and within walking distance to Hoan Kiem Lake
  • Disliked — The free breakfast was very basic. Nothing to rave about.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Windy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    325
    28
    11
    12
See reviews for
211
713
177
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2008

I went with five friends and we really love this guesthouse! Friendly staff and delicious breakfast. Unlimited free internet. Great place. Great value for your money. They will help you with booking tours (best price, might I add) and they help wih airport transfers, too. Will definitely, definitely come back.

- jb
manila, philippines

  • Liked — Great staff! Best value for your money.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust_jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2008

I have booked my accomodation and tours (Halong bay, Sapa, Tam Coc, Perfume Pagoda) when I visited to Vietnam from 29 Apr - 9 May 2008 with Hanoi Guesthouse. Although I not sure whether is the cheapest of all, but I definately think it is the good value of money looking at the good service provided. Everyone at Hanoi Guesthouse are very friendly and helpful, and of course thanks to Ms Thin excellent coordination that make my trip flawless ( I promised I will give her a good review when I met her in Hanoi, which I think she totally deserve it).

Although there is some confusion on the USD 8 for my Sapa tour, although I not sure about the outcome, but I like to think Ms Thin has help me to settle it.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean accomodation
  • Disliked — No
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YapSelangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Our party of 3 booked our first 2 nights in VN with Hanoi Guest House before we finalised our travel plans and when we wanted to book further nights with HGH, they were unfortunately booked out so we had to go elsewhere.
Although we could not secure room at HGH, we liked the genuine (very RARE in VN!!!) warmth of the two receptionists so much that we kept dropping by to say hi.
In fact, our alternative hotel was such a horrible nightmare that we had to call up HGH up at 10.30PM hoping for a last minute cancellation - which fortunately for us, there were!
We were so all so happy to be back at HGH and they were also very kind in their welcoming of us (it was approaching their bedtime).
HGH and its two lovely receptionists (morning and night shifts) will forever stay in our hearts and are one of the rare things we enjoyed about VN. The hotel is clean and affordable. The staff is friendly, professional and is not trying to 'sell' but merely to help.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2007

The Hanoi Guest House was the perfect find for a young backpacking couple. We stayed three very comfortable nights and had taxi service to and from the airport. The room was very clean, the people couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating, the location was prefect for getting around quick but still a quiet corner, and the price is unbeatable. We easily booked our Halong Bay tour through the hotel when we arrived. I would happily return as soon as possible! the Guest House is the place to stay.

  • Liked — the people
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lukezf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2007

I've been travelling for 10 months on this trip, and this is the best and friendliest place I've stayed. The staff were super helpful and took a lot of time to make me feel welcome when I arrived. The rooms were great - really clean, good hot water, all in all excellent value. But it's the staff that make this place a cut above the rest.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank seanmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#8 of 586 in Hanoi
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hostel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Guest House Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Guest House

Property: Hanoi Guest House
Address: 85 Ma May Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Guest House is ideally situated in the central part of old town, conveniently close to all the interesting attractions like Hoan Kiem Lake, Ngoc Son Temple, Water Puppet theater, Restaurants, Bars, Shops, etc. The Team speak excellent English, are knowledge to advise you what is worth visiting around Hanoi and other sites. They are incredibly helpful willing to accompany you. Hotel facility be provided sufficiently, include Elevator. The room rates are inclusive of breakfast, daily fruit, juice, coffee and tea. Free Computers to use at lobby. Free WiFi access be served all floors. The rooms are complimentary fully equipped Satellite TV, Minibar, Air-conditioning, Fan, Heater, Internet access - wireless, Computer in lobby (Complimentary), Refrigerator, Work Desk, Wardrobe, Sitting area,Telephone, Hair dryer, Slippers, Private bathroom with hot shower, towers, bathtub, bathroom amenities, Wake up service/Alarm clock... Superior room with window, Deluxe room with balcony or Old Quarter view, Honeymoon rooms are decorated specially. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Guesthouse Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing