We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #18 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good stay”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at the Oriental Central on arriving in Vietnam for the first time.

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect - you are right in the middle of the old quarter so you can go out and about for dinner and shopping (it's round the corner from "Made in Vietnam" street), and yet the rooms are beautifully quiet and tranquil.

The staff are absolutely superb and the breakfast is yummy too.

The rooms themselves are spotless although we experienced a bit of musty-ness in the first room we were given - the staff were so helpful in sorting it out for us that they put us on a higher floor with more windows and it was perfect.

Overall a good place to stay, and great value for money.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors with more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucystravels87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,734
    175
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
371
1,618
186
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is lovely but it is the staff that make it special. Everyone was incredibly helpful and friendly and made it very easy for us to arrange excursions and onward travel. The hotel was lovely and only a little more expensive than a double room in a hostel when we were looking.

It was our first hotel in Vietnam and was in the middle of the old quarter which is pretty hectic but as soon as we stepped inside it was calm, clean, cool and welcoming.

Even on returning from a trip to Halong bay when we were not staying in the hotel any longer we were greeted with welcome drinks and offered a place to sit and wait for our next journey. A great easy introduction to Vietnam.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Oriental Central was our Hanoi base camp for the tail end of our Vietnam trip. We had planned an overnight Halong Bay tour and a two day mini-adventure out to Sapa and Oriental were simply fantastic with organising and booking each of these (including overnight Sapa train) as well as looking after our larger baggage while we took only essentials on our excursions.

Service was exceptional, with friendly and helpful demeanour from the staff, we felt completely at home here. Worthy of noting was being personally escorted to not only the train station but right to our cabin for the 10pm train to Sapa, which otherwise would have been a little overwhelming.

Breakfast was delicious and custom orders were offered and gladly serviced.

Overall one of if not our favourite hotel on our Vietnam trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in two separate rooms either side of day trips, one was the superior which was fine, one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It was a pleasant experience staying at Oriental Central. The attentive and friendly staff helped me on many occasions (medicine, tailor, directions, tour, etc...). I appreciate their patience with me considering this is my first time in Hanoi, Vietnam. I hope to return again in the future and highly recommend Oriental Central to other travelers. Thank you! Hillman L.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HillmanLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Great stay at the Oriental Central Hotel. Rooms are comfortable, clean and new. But what stood out was the excellent service by the staff there, always going an extra mile for us!

We had an overnight train to sapa and they provided us with a room to shower and clean up before our train at 9pm. This is despite the fact that we are checked out and out exploring Hanoi the whole day!

Lana was especially helpful in suggesting restaurants and coffee houses. She amazingly even arranged for a cab to pick us from the train station to the airport when we RETURNED from sapa to Hanoi a few days later, as she was worried we would get scammed on our own.

Stay here for a warm, cosy stay with no hitches, right in the heart of the old quarter!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lianakoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A lot of the sightseeing places are within walking distance. Although the hotel is located at the busy Old Quarter, the room was unexpectedly quiet. All the staff was very friendly and courteous, especially Lana who was extremely helpful and pleasant. She made us feel that we were honored guests and we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterlee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

From check in till check out, Dong and his team made our stay in this hotel unforgettable. The personal touches to the experience showed the true meaning of hospitality. The breakfast was wonderful. The service was amazing. And the rooms were beautiful. It was such great value for money. It was a faultless stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach_patterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing