We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Hanoi Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #17 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Texas,USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Hanoi Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed in Hanoi over two dozen times in the past 14 years, and I believe the Oriental Central to be the best I've found. In the heart of the atmospheric Old Town and within a few blocks of Hoan Kiem Lake, it's location can not be beat. The hotel itself is brand new and spotless, with colonial-era photographs in all the public areas and the individual guest rooms. the rooms were well appointed and comfortable, and bathrooms roomy and, again, spotless. The faux antique brass bathroom fixtures were a nice touch also.
The complimentary breakfasts were excellent--with either a buffet or a la carte choices.
But what was most important in my forming an excellent opinion of this hotel was the competence and friendliness of the staff--from "Viet" the manager to the receptionists, waiters, bell hops and room cleaners. All knew their jobs and performed them well. When I developed a toothache Viet did not just recommend a dentist for me, but had me hop on the back of his motorbike and drove me to a dentist and stood by to interpret for me and drive me back. his cost for this service--nothing. He explained: "I must take care of my guests. That's my job."

Room Tip: This is a small "boutique" hotel with a narrow footprint, but it is eight floors high. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SongsterTexas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,671
    173
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
366
1,578
181
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews received and that it was very affordable and those reviews were all spot on.

I prearranged a airport pick up as i was arriving in the evening and just wanted to get to the hotel and as advised the pick up was waiting and a comfortable modern car was waiting for my arrival, on arriving at the hotel we were met with a welcome drink and the most comprehensive check in i've ever experienced in a hotel with a map produced and suggestions given for places to eat and how to get to local attractions. We were leaving the next morning to do a haloing bay cruise but the staff made it clear they would be happy to store our bags as we'd already booked to return to the hotel after our cruise.

The room itself is very comfortable and looks like a lot of thought has gone into the small touches such as welcome chocolates and rose petals on the bed and complimentary items you'd struggle to find in a more expensive hotel. Despite the hotel being located on a very busy road the room itself is very peaceful and enables you to have a good nights sleep.

On returning after our cruise, the staff remembered our name and the laundry we'd deposited on our previous nights stay had been delivered to our room and its little touches like this that make this hotel stand out, we had a small problem with a blocked toilet in our room at around 11pm and as compensation we were given our return transfer to the airport for free, it was just one of those things but the way it was handled illustrates why this is a fantastic place to stay made all the more fantastic by its wonderful staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walnutroof657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June. The staff at this hotel cannot be faulted and provide a very friendly, professional service. Brian the manager is extremely helpful and made a point of remembering our names and greeting us using our names each time we saw him. This made the whole stay feel very personal.The young bell boy was very professional and couldn't do enough for us. Brian assisted with the booking for our Halong Bay trip and managed to get us a very good deal on a great boat. They even stored our larger luggage for free while we were away on the three day trip. We had a superior room and this was of a very good standard. I would highly recommend this hotel for its personal service and high standards. In the rooms we got complimentary fruit, biscuits and crisps. When we left the hotel to go on our trip and get the car to the airport it felt as though we had our own personal body guards with the staff protecting us from from the mad mopeds and virtually stopping he traffic for us. We hired bicycles for a day. I would suggest you don't use the the hire shop just along from the hotel. They were rude, expensive and wanted us to leave our passports as a deposit. Far better is the shop we used. Come out the hotel and turn left. After about 100 metres take the first right and about 50 metres on the right is a very small shop that hires bicycles and mopeds. The bikes cost us 50,000 Dong each. Mopeds cost about $5 US a day and no deposit required. The bikes were of a good standard with 18 gears. Along from here is the famous Hanoi ' beer corner'. Here you can get an ice cold glass of beer for 5,000 Dong. If you want to eat at a very good basic Vietnamese restaurant I would suggest the New Day Restaurant. Come out of the hotel turn right and take first left. The small restaurant is on the left hand side. A meal with beers, wine and two or three dishes was about 10 US $. It must be good as I saw Brian the hotel manager buying food there. WE liked it s much we ate there three times.

Room Tip: Book a superior room. Not much more money but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This small boutique hotel is centrally located no more than 10 minutes walk from all the treasures that can be found in the old quarter. Suli, Brian, and Henry are just three of the enthusiastic and welcoming
staff manning the front desk. Catering to all your needs they are a valuable source of information for finding the best spots for the local cuisine. With clean and modern rooms, my only criticism is that the beds were a little hard. The hotel staff did offer a change of room or to place extra bedding on the bed however my feeling is that the beds need changing all together. A few other little comments regarding the room. 1- the air conditioning was rather noisy and difficult to control. It had only two settings: ice cold or off.
2- there was a limited amount of hot water available so make your showers quick.
3- After travelling across the world to experience the Vietnamese culture we decided to skip the hotel's continental breakfast and go elsewhere to sample the local food on the streets. It might be an idea include some local Vietnamese cuisine on the menu.
Otherwise this hotel is great place to retreat to after a day wandering the busy streets of Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have to admit I was slightly apprehensive when the car dropped me off. Its along the busy Hang Bac Street with cars and mopeds whizzing by in both directions and where the only maxim pedestrians live by there is "who dares, wins". The entrance is narrow and easily missed as the hotel name is not prominent. However it was brightly lit which made it stand out.

However, once we got in, the check-in was efficient and friendly (with a sweet welcome drink). Rooms use a card key that is pressed to a panel instead of inserted into a slot. This makes it convenient to keep the key in your wallet then just press it to the panel. There is an irritating alarm that sounds when you enter the room and close the door. I am really not sure what it is for but it doesn't last for long.

Room I had was clean with a fruit and snack basket with complimentary water replenished daily. we didn't really make use of it as the street food outside was so cheap but it was a nice touch. The room safe has both a combination as well as a key. It was troublesome carrying the key around but I suppose the hotel can't be faulted for making sure our valuables were very well stored.

The breakfast was decent although a bowl of pho outside would probably give a better experience of the real Vietnam, but if you want bacon, eggs, baguette (excellent), and fruits, that would be the place to get it.

All in all a wonderful hotel. Great value. Would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsien Hui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a group of 6 and this was our first stop in Vietnam. The hotel staff were fantastic! All were exceptionally friendly and are so willing to help with any queries. We booked our Halong Bay trip through them and our ongoing transport. When we left for our overnight bus they even had made us packed lunches for the journey with fruit,water and other snacks! The hotel itself was clean, had good decor and was a perfect location for seeing the old quarter. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Hanoi!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I highly recommend this hotel as it is very central, clean, has good decor and best of all....the staff are exceptional! They are friendly, efficient and very willing to help with nothing being too much trouble. We stayed twice and found the room on the 7th floor facing the street had a better outlook however the rooms not facing thg street are also good. This is a great hotel to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaileasoutlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing