We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly oasis in Hanoi bustling old quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #22 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hanoi old quarter is no novelty to us, it's our third time around. It's always bustling with people giving visitors the taste of crowded third-world Asia in transition toward structured, ordered Western standard of living. We chose to come here anyway because we had in tow colleagues and friends who are new to Hanoi, new to Asia in fact. The hotel is indeed an oasis on Hang Bac street, with its clean sparkling white facade and reception area in sharp contrast to the chaotic scene all around. The staff at the reception had excellent command of English, a common experience nowadays traveling throughout Vietnam compared to a few years before. We were treated to the personal routine of being seated and served with cold fruit juice in a cool air-conditioned area while registration is being completed. The room albeit small had all expected modern amenities including excellent internet Wi-Fi reception, not much to complain about. Space and view are premium in the old quarter so we were not expecting any. The hotel did an excellent job sealing itself acoustically from the cacophony of street noises. Free buffet breakfast was excellent and served in a quiet area in the back of reception. We could find free flowing coffee, tea and fresh fruit juices. An array of Western and Vietnamese style breakfast dishes were available for self-help, or specially ordered from a menu. Our traveling needs for a day trip to Halong Bay was expediently arranged by the travel agent working at the reception desk. We managed to entertain a couple of business guests for 2 hours in the tight reception area and briefly in the breakfast area. We couldn't ask for more in a small hotel not designed for business meetings. All in all it was a productive and pleasant experience. It's not Sofitel Metropole caliber, but for the money we paid, it was all worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leatfernwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,536 - 2,542 of 3,214 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay here the staff were so helpful and attentive - going above and beyond such friendly helpful and happy staff. Room was great. Breakfast very nice and the location is right in the thick of it. They even gave us a waiting room after check out before our late train to Sapa... A real 11/10!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Maidmarian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is an incredibly affordable hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff (p.s. If you stay here talk to Brian he is the best!). Location is superb right in the old quarter making it easy to get anywhere. Breakfast served in the morning is great and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Arrived to the hotel and got an ice cold watermelon juice which was perfect for the 40 degree Celsius weather. Thanks so much Oriental Central Hotel (particularly Brian Do) for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and always greeted us with names. They helped out with advice on where to eat and what to do in hanoi. They also helped us book a halong bay tour and managed to get us a discount and a free upgrade.

The rooms were nicely decorated and perfectly comfortable. The breakfast was also very good, served in western style with a lot of choices.

But the absolutely best about this hotel is the amazing staff. Special thanks to Suli and Brian for making out stay so awesome!

/Isa&Paul

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Took a 3 day trip to Hanoi and booked Oriental Central from the recommendation of a friend who had heard good things...turned out they were right!

The staff was amazing and tended to all our needs from organizing cab rides, spa appointment, Halong Bay day trip and other things to see and do during our short trip.

The room was clean and well decorated. we got chocolate everyday after the bed was made as well as an assortment of tropical fresh fruits.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city and for a tourist it is the perfect location especially for the price1

Will defintely stay here if Im ever in Hanoi again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel4love007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Buried in the heart of the old town in Hanoi this hotel was an excellent find. We stayed for 1 night after returning to Hanoi from Halong Bay (incidentally the hotel is very near Handspan's offices where we got dropped off after the tour which was ideal). Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly with a drink and cold towel. Brian then took the time to show us a map of Hanoi and make some recommendations as to what to do/where to eat and advice on best taxis to use. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the decor was very modern. We had a window room and could just see the pagoda in Hoan Kiem lake from it. The breakfast was good and served quickly (we ordered pancakes). All in all would totally recommend this hotel - great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank global_catty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our experience of Hanoi was greatly enhanced by the professional, friendly and genuine staff at The Oriental Central Hotel! We were greeted by Brian with a refreshing cold drink, where he gave us a concise but thorough rundown of places we should visit, including where to eat and the best local 'Bia Hoi' to just sit and watch the locals go by! All the staff spoke very good English so organising tours, flights and trains was a breeze, nothing was too much trouble! The Hotel itself was very comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty! We would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to experience the lively Old Quarter of Hanoi, but also have a little oasis to return to when you're tired and very, very hot! Thanks for a wonderful experience, Shelley and Greg.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Teague G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#3 of 606 in Hanoi
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing