We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #18 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel in the best location with the most amazing customer service you could possibly ask for! Beautifully appointed, great brekkie, great value for money and the most amazing staff ever. Soooo friendly and helpful!
The one thing I was say to people is to be aware that the. Cheaper rooms only have windows to the internal stairwell. Some people may be fine with that but I found it a little claustrophobic so spoke to the staff who we're amazing in finding us a bigger room with windows for a small upgrade fee - awesome.
Definitely stay there!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassimo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,808
    177
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
387
1,651
196
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hanoi old quarter is no novelty to us, it's our third time around. It's always bustling with people giving visitors the taste of crowded third-world Asia in transition toward structured, ordered Western standard of living. We chose to come here anyway because we had in tow colleagues and friends who are new to Hanoi, new to Asia in fact. The hotel is indeed an oasis on Hang Bac street, with its clean sparkling white facade and reception area in sharp contrast to the chaotic scene all around. The staff at the reception had excellent command of English, a common experience nowadays traveling throughout Vietnam compared to a few years before. We were treated to the personal routine of being seated and served with cold fruit juice in a cool air-conditioned area while registration is being completed. The room albeit small had all expected modern amenities including excellent internet Wi-Fi reception, not much to complain about. Space and view are premium in the old quarter so we were not expecting any. The hotel did an excellent job sealing itself acoustically from the cacophony of street noises. Free buffet breakfast was excellent and served in a quiet area in the back of reception. We could find free flowing coffee, tea and fresh fruit juices. An array of Western and Vietnamese style breakfast dishes were available for self-help, or specially ordered from a menu. Our traveling needs for a day trip to Halong Bay was expediently arranged by the travel agent working at the reception desk. We managed to entertain a couple of business guests for 2 hours in the tight reception area and briefly in the breakfast area. We couldn't ask for more in a small hotel not designed for business meetings. All in all it was a productive and pleasant experience. It's not Sofitel Metropole caliber, but for the money we paid, it was all worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leatfernwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have been more pleased with our stay here the staff were so helpful and attentive - going above and beyond such friendly helpful and happy staff. Room was great. Breakfast very nice and the location is right in the thick of it. They even gave us a waiting room after check out before our late train to Sapa... A real 11/10!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Maidmarian22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is an incredibly affordable hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff (p.s. If you stay here talk to Brian he is the best!). Location is superb right in the old quarter making it easy to get anywhere. Breakfast served in the morning is great and the rooms are beautiful and comfortable. Arrived to the hotel and got an ice cold watermelon juice which was perfect for the 40 degree Celsius weather. Thanks so much Oriental Central Hotel (particularly Brian Do) for an amazing stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great experience. The staff was extremely friendly and always greeted us with names. They helped out with advice on where to eat and what to do in hanoi. They also helped us book a halong bay tour and managed to get us a discount and a free upgrade.

The rooms were nicely decorated and perfectly comfortable. The breakfast was also very good, served in western style with a lot of choices.

But the absolutely best about this hotel is the amazing staff. Special thanks to Suli and Brian for making out stay so awesome!

/Isa&Paul

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Took a 3 day trip to Hanoi and booked Oriental Central from the recommendation of a friend who had heard good things...turned out they were right!

The staff was amazing and tended to all our needs from organizing cab rides, spa appointment, Halong Bay day trip and other things to see and do during our short trip.

The room was clean and well decorated. we got chocolate everyday after the bed was made as well as an assortment of tropical fresh fruits.

The hotel is located right in the middle of the city and for a tourist it is the perfect location especially for the price1

Will defintely stay here if Im ever in Hanoi again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4love007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Buried in the heart of the old town in Hanoi this hotel was an excellent find. We stayed for 1 night after returning to Hanoi from Halong Bay (incidentally the hotel is very near Handspan's offices where we got dropped off after the tour which was ideal). Upon arrival we were welcomed warmly with a drink and cold towel. Brian then took the time to show us a map of Hanoi and make some recommendations as to what to do/where to eat and advice on best taxis to use. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the decor was very modern. We had a window room and could just see the pagoda in Hoan Kiem lake from it. The breakfast was good and served quickly (we ordered pancakes). All in all would totally recommend this hotel - great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global_catty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 588 in Hanoi
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#7 of 588 in Hanoi
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing