We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #19 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“faultless”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I judge a hotel on cleanliness and helpfulness ... the Oriental Central scores full marks for both, and for everything else for that matter!
Because the price was so reasonable, I went for a junior suite. It was on the 7th floor facing the front. You would never have known there was a busy street below, it was a wonderfully silent and cool retreat from a busy day out on the streets (and I mean streets, not pavements) of Hanoi.
I would recommend visiting "the Orchid" restaurant a couple of doors along... grilled fish that you make up into your own rice paper rolls and the grilled aubergine with steamed rice! You can order from the Orchid in your room and I did that once too when just too hot and exhausted to go out again. Helpful if you have the right money, they take payment on delivery.
Can't speak more highly of the Oriental Central. They made my trip to Hanoi run smoothly with their attention to detail and calm courtesy.

Room Tip: junior suite if your budget will stretch !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putrajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,775
    176
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
379
1,641
191
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was excellent. The rooms are lovely, very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. What makes this hotel so special is the service as they really went above and beyond to help us. After a long trip back from halong bay Brian arranged for us to use a room before our over night train so we could have a shower and relax. They then arranged a car and escort who took us right to our train carriage which was so helpful. They also gave us a goodie bag of food for the train. All this without asking for an extra charge. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Hanoi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The two best things about the Oriental Central Hotel are it’s staff and location. From arrival at the hotel, we were treated so well by Brian and his team. There was no request to great for them and they treated my wife and I as if we were their most important clients. The rooms are a great size, comfy beds and really nice showers. We stayed on two separate occasions and because we were return customers they even upgraded us to their best room on our 2nd stint. The location couldn’t be better with the hotel situated just near everything the Old Quarter has to offer. Beer corner just 4 mins away, the best Pho in Hanoi 5 mins away and all the shops at your doorstep. Would highly recommend this hotel! Thanks to Brian and the rest of the Oriental Central staff for everything!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTandMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were warmly greeted upon arrival and treated like a vip. Receptionist were friendly and gave personal attention to all guest. Rooms though slightly small, it has everything you need from a 5 star hotel. Waking up to a hearty breakfast at the hotel before starting our tour around town was fulfilling.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sscrofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Oriental Central is a super little 'oasis' set amid the 'madness' of Hanoi Old Quarter. The entrance is clean, modern and welcoming and there is a definitely feeling of safety and home as you cross the threshold. The rooms/bathrooms are nicely presented and the staff are very welcoming. On arrival we were given a very comprehensive introduction to the area and a map was issued with all highlights marked. The staff also took great care to warn us of scams so that we could avoid. There is very definitely a personal touch here which extended to the complimentary fruit basket on our arrival. We stayed here are a family of 4 in two rooms. We cant say anything negative about the Oriental except that we were sad to leave it.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front on the 6th floor - no complaints at all. Our children also had a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great location in old town, lovely rooms, and amazing customer service. I real felt like the staff did everything they could to make sure our stay was the best possible. They even looked after our stuff when we left the hotel to go to SaPa even though we had checked out. Brian was especially helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benmb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just stayed at this hotel during our recent holiday in Hanoi. This hotel is amazing.Good location, nice decor, clean room and best of all....the staff are fabulous especially Brian, Annie and Jenny. it felt like home. Thanks guys for the great holiday!

Room Tip: Higher floors is quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#8 of 586 in Hanoi
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing