We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #19 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff are amazing!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a small hotel in the centre of the old town, but exceeded our expectations! We stayed one night as we went on a tour for four days. The staff held our large luggage without any charge, and on our return from Halong bay offered us a room for a shower before our next trip to Sapa also free of charge.
All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, and went above and beyond for us! The rooms were very clean and comfy. Breakfast area is small but was very good!
We can't thank the staff enough for making our stay the best we've experienced throughout all Vietnam. We will definitely be choosing this hotel again on our return to Hanoi.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MezChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,780
    176
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
380
1,642
191
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Oriental Central hotel during our stay in Hanoi. It was a lovely hotel, especially for the price. The rooms are comfortable (not incredibly large, but very comfortable). The hotel has breakfast, and is located in a great spot. It is a short walk from everything and is located in a very fun and walkable part of town.

The part of the hotel that made my stay most memorable was Brian. He was wonderfully helpful as a concierge, but also always said hello to us by name when we came or left the hotel. He knew what we liked for breakfast, he came to fix the wifi when it wasn't working in our room, he booked tickets and made reservations. He had great recommendations for us. His friendliness, helpfulness, and thoughtfulness made our stay even better.

Nice hotel, great price, centrally located, great staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough. We arrived in Hanoi after travelling for 26 hours and having the airline lose our bags. We arrived into the old town tired and annoyed but the minute the hotel doors were held open for us that all changed. We were met with a refreshing drink and a cool towel as the receptionist ran us through a map of the city, pointing out places of interest and authentic Vietnamese restaurants, as well as the quieter (if there's such a thing) streets to use.
We were then led to our room on a higher floor in the centre of the hotel with no window, which is actually the best room you could get because there's absolutely no street noise!

The room was very nicely decorated and had a sizeable bathroom with a great big shower. Complimentary fruit, crisps, biscuits, crackers and water were also on offer. It was the perfect place to recover from our jetlag.

Whilst we only stayed two nights, moving on to Halong Bay for a cruise thereafter, we were dropped back to the hotel by the cruise company three days later and Brian at reception couldn't have done more for us as he organised not only our taxi to Hanoi airport but a private car to pick us up on arrival at Hue airport and take us to our next hotel. So helpful!

Overall my experience at this hotel was nothing but positive. Best of all it was amazing value, acting like a 5 star for the price of a 3 star!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent, and the rooms are clean and functional. It is the staff of the Oriental Central Hotel that makes a stay at this hotel worthwhile. The staff go out of their way to make sure you have a good experience. They help you figure out what you might want to see, where you might want to eat, and work with you to help you navigate Hanoi. Their recommendations for meals was excellent, their knowledge of what museums were "must see" or "okay" was on target. They could arrange day-trips outside of Hanoi and made reservations to taxi service. The hotel staff was the best I encountered in my 24 days (5 different cities) of traveling in Vietnam. I will be returning to the Oriental Central Hotel on my next stay in Hanoi, even if my company recommends another hotel. The staff went beyond the call of service in making my stay in Hanoi an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a window that looks outside the hotel rather than an interior window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a lovely, relatively small hotel conveniently located in Hanoi old town. Surrounded by hot, noisey, bustling streets, as soon as you step through the door of the hotel, it is cool, quiet and serene. The staff were all extremely friendly helpful, be that just while having breakfast, or organising a trip to Halong Bay.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and all fixtures and fittings are in perfect working order. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and quiet. To top it all the attention to detail is wonderful - from the content and arrangement of pictures throughout the hotel, to the complementary fruit and toiletries provide.

Overall, could not fault the place and anyone who stays is sure to have a fantastic time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_firemistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wow! That was my first reaction walking into this beautiful hotel in the middle of the chaotic Old Quarter of Hanoi. Thank to all the staff that made us feel welcome and special from the moment we arrived.
When you walk into the cool clean foyer of this hotel with all the welcoming smiles of the staff, you can't help but feel relaxed leaving the bustling old quarter behind. The rooms are quiet and beautifully decorated and the breakfast is good.
If i can quote from another review - " a great place to stay right in the heart of the best part of town"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanli750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in this hotel, the room was nice and clean, quite small but in a boutique hotel you cannot find huge room.
We had a small problem with our Visa invitation letter ( wrote by them) so we complain with management about that.
The hotel manager Brian understood and gave us a small discount on our room, he gave also us a free drop off to train station and helped us to find a very good Halong bay cruise for a good price.
All the hotel personnel are kind and helpful.
This hotel is a very good budget choice in Old Quarter.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarinaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Elite Hotel
Hanoi Elite Hotel
#7 of 586 in Hanoi
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#21 of 586 in Hanoi
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing