We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oriental Central Hotel
Ranked #18 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed at the Oriental Central Hotel for a couple evenings - and it was excellent! Room was very comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly, particularly Brian.

Definitely a place to stay if Hanoi.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,740
    175
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
372
1,623
186
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed at the Oriental Central last week with my fiance and parents for a short getaway. In short, we had an excellent time! Brian went way above and beyond his call of duty. We were presented a welcome drink, and Brian took his time to go through the map of the city with us and made great recommendations on where to go and eat. Him and his staff remembered all our names, and took great care to ensure our happiness and comfort. They even helped us to frame some photographs that we bought, and took the time to head to a market and buy us fish sauce and rice paper rolls as we had no time. They didn't have to that, but it made it all the more enjoyable for us knowing that no favour too big or small was a problem for them.

Even though its a 3 star hotel, the rooms were way better then most 4 star hotels I've stayed in Europe. It was clean, comfortable and the bathroom was modern. They had a simple buffet spread for breakfast, but it was delicious especially the chicken pho. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of the old quarter, so it was walking distance to restaurants, markets, shops, street food and everything else. You can easily get taxis outside, or if you want something different, the hotel can book you an old trishaw to get you around the city or wherever else you like to go.

In short, we will all definitely come back to stay again! We enjoyed the warmth and hospitality of the hotel and their staff. Thank you for making our stay so memorable! My dad Allan Walker sends his warmest regards to all of you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Centrally located in the old town, we walked everywhere. The staff (especially Brian) were excellent and extremely helpful, giving us good information about were to go and how to get there. They also organised booking taxis to the airport for us and even organised one to pick us up at our destination. Rooms are comfortable but not overly large. Wifi was a bit spotty on the 5th floor, but that didnt detract from the stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aedon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The rooms are great, breakfast is fresh and tasty but most of all the staff are AMAZING. I would never expect this level of service from anything but a very expensive hotel in a major city.


-they would call taxis, walk us to the right one and confirm the estimated cost of the trip.
-they book restaurants or other attractions for us
-But most of all, we hired a car to take us to a remote hotel (turned out to be the worst hotel I have ever seen, but that's for another review) and the driver dropped us off, made sure we checked in and had what we needed. The hotel had not received our reservation, so our driver phoned the Oriental Central and the front desk agent spoke to the Bai Tu Long hotel front desk and translated for us so we could get a room. Since the room, grounds and food were atrocious, the wifi was broken and I didn't have data, I called the Oriental Central and they booked us a hotel in Ha Long Bay! They helped us even after we checked out.


As for the hotel itself:

-Comfy beds
-Fast wifi
-Good breakfast
-Could not be more central
-Make sure you get to know where this place is, it is hard to find especially at night. I took a picture of the small street it is on, but they all seem to look the same.

Room Tip: Stayed on 5th floor, had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ezbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel by far, has been the best service I've ever received at a hotel and was very immaculate. All the way to how they serve you coffee and cold drinks when you arrive and throughout your stay, are always attentive. Everyone is friendly and they even went out of there way to book a taxi from the airport to our next hotel. Lovely people, affordable hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Hanoi.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel exceeded expectations in every respect. We had a late-arriving flight from Seoul. The hotel picked us up at the airport and transported us to the hotel without a hitch. We arranged for train tickets to be delivered to the hotel. The hotel held these tickets for us until we arrived. The breakfast was wonderful -- fresh croissants, fresh juices, rich vietnamese coffee, eggs made-to-order. It was quite hot and humid in Hanoi when we visited. The hotel was a cool and quiet refuge from the weather and the crazy street life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbowdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a small hotel in the centre of the old town, but exceeded our expectations! We stayed one night as we went on a tour for four days. The staff held our large luggage without any charge, and on our return from Halong bay offered us a room for a shower before our next trip to Sapa also free of charge.
All the staff were so friendly and welcoming, and went above and beyond for us! The rooms were very clean and comfy. Breakfast area is small but was very good!
We can't thank the staff enough for making our stay the best we've experienced throughout all Vietnam. We will definitely be choosing this hotel again on our return to Hanoi.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MezChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#13 of 580 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Central Hotel

Property: Oriental Central Hotel
Address: No. 39 Hang Bac Str, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oriental Central Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oriental Central Hotel is luxury boutique hotels in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter. Emphasizing refined glamour, timeless elegance and luxurious comfort, each hotel with her perfect, unique, French architecture, red and white colors decoration and a dedicated, professional, friendly team will ensure to bring you the most unforgettable and memorable stay in Hanoi and Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing