We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good introduction to Vietnam!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Little Hanoi Hostel
Ranked #13 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived in Vietnam, was freaking out and got the hostel, all troubles disappeared.

Dave and Kim were both very fun and helpful, the bed was comfort than my own and it was soooo cheap!

It's close to pretty much everything you'll want to see in hanoi and also surprisingly quiet, Doooo it.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had booked our first two nights at Little Hanoi 1 after friends had recommended it. It was the very beginning of a 2-week trip trough Vietnam from north to south and we had left our programme wide open. That's when having both Kim & David pointing us in the right direction was invaluable, we probably would have missed a lot if it wasn't for them suggesting restaurants, street food, booking tours for us, even train tickets to our next stop (Hué).
All in all we benefited from their service for about a week and got much more than we expected to pay for: free day use of the hostel shower & restroom in between trips (even though we only really slept there for 2 nights and our trip to Halong Bay was not booked with another agency) unlimited access to fresh fruits, tee & coffee, great tips delivered with a smile any time.
If you are looking for a spacious hotel room with a view, don't go there, but for anything else, this is a no brainer.
Thanks again Kim, David & colleagues, we had a great time in Vietnam thanks to you guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Because he wanted to get to little hanoi hostel 1.

There was not a single regret of choosing this gem on a busy Hanoi Street in the old quarters. Located withing walkable distance to most of Hanoi's attractions, Kim is especially friendly and shows great care and concern for the people living there which made the place feels like home. Spent a night hanging with david and some of the other hotel residents and it was awesome. He even brought drinks for everyone. Free breakfast, free flow of fruits, coffee and tea, clean rooms and toilets, confortable beds, towels for use, Air condition at night, Fantastic service, what more can you ask. I even got my room upgraded for the 3 nights i stayed there. Kudos to everyone! I met fantastic people there, (especially this cute asian girl from london which i never had a chance to talk to and now hopes David can help me out here. haha, kidding)

Anyways, Great job and hope to see Hanoi soon in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IzwanDanial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were very happy with our stay, it was the best hostel we have ever stayed at! What makes this place so special is the staff, especially David who went out of his way to be helpful and friendly, and enjoyed having a laugh as well. If you are going to be in Hanoi don't look anywhere else, just stay here! David also helped us organise a trip to Sapa which was the highlight of our Vietnam trip, so we recommend that as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jampurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I had better customer service here than some 5 star hotels I've stayed at. Very friendly staff, very informative and very funny. Talk to Dave, Kim or Courage and they'll set you up on a great experience in Hanoi or any of other city in Vietnam - they book trips too. Excellent time, I hope to return soon!

Scott H.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are really fonctional and clean. David and all the team are the best ! Always helpful, smiling and happy to talk, they make your days in hanoi easy and beautiful
The breakfast is various and well cooked and fresh fruits are always available for free.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuentinBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We didn't actually stay at this hostel, but booked back-to-back tours through their travel desk. The tours were reasonably priced and good quality, particularly the Sapa 4 night homestay trip. The Halong Bay one was a bit rushed, but that is not unusual.
Because our tours were back to back, we did actually spend a bit of time at the hostel. They were very accommodating, gave us 2x free breakfasts, free coffee (very nice coffee too!), free bottled water, free storage of valuables in safe and luggage in a store room and access to the shower room.
The staff were really helpful. The hostel is really popular, which can sometimes cause the reception staff to be run off their feet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank planetwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Luxury Backpackers Hanoi
0.4 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 436 in Hanoi
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 436 in Hanoi
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Brother Inn & Travel
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#15 of 436 in Hanoi
1,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nexy Hostel
Nexy Hostel
#12 of 436 in Hanoi
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Hanoi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Hanoi Hostel

Address: 48 Hang Ga Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 436 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £14 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Hanoi Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Hanoi HoStel is located in the old quarter of Hanoi.There are rooms from: Singles, Doubles, Twins, Triples andFamily rooms. AlL rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious with hot water 24 hours, cable TV, A/C, and modern bathtub bathrooms. Those are just the necessities - as a special extra: Free TEA, COFFEE, FRESH FRUIT and FLOWERS everyday. Fresh buffet breakfast will be your useful healthy option when staying here. Your sastisfaction is the first hostel service piority! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Little Hanoi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing