We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanoi Ocean Hotel

Hanoi Ocean Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hanoi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hanoi Ocean Hotel
Ranked #419 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“don't go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

It was an over all bad experience.
I hardly slept because of the worst matress I had during 8 months of travelling. As if this was not enough, we awoke early because of incredible noises as if there was a whole playground. Additionally our room was air and lightless and the staff wasn't really friendly.
Don't spoil your hanoi experience with this hotel!
We changed hotel and have such a good time here for the same price!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    2
    5
    13
See reviews for
1
15
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Unfriendly staff, they tried to rip us off on the laundry price, and sulked when we didn't book an expensive tour with them!
The room had mould on the wall, and cockroaches in the bathroom. The building is quiet old and infected by mosquitoes!
Avoid!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytreefriend2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Terrible staff. When we checked in, we refused to give away our passports. It's common cheap hotels ask for your passport as they say... in case the police comes and checks your visa. This is NOT true. They only want to be sure you'll pay. We refused to give out our passports and got them back. After 2 nights, a guy we haven't seen before, demanded for our passports again. We refused and he got really rude and agressive. We decided to leave immediately. The first 2 days were not that bad. The ladies who provide breakfast were friendly, although they don't speak English.

When we came down with our backpacks, he locked the door. He got more rude and agressice and demanded money for the nights we WERE going to stay, but haven't stayed yet. We ofcourse refused. When he called in help and had to unlock the door, we managed to get outside with our backpacks on our backs. I told him to call the police if he wanted to sort things out, knowing that police doesn't come in for a case like this. That's when they start pushing and hitting us!! One guy slapped me in my face! We hit them back to defend ourselves, which they didn't expect. And finally we got away with the help of other backpacksers.

So, please DO NOT stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WickedSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here on our last night as Violet Hotel was full.
We stayed in a double for $10 a night that had a TV with a bad picture, a bar fridge and aircon but no remote. When we asked for the remote, they firstly told us we had to pay extra but after they found out we were sent from Violet, we got it for free. We mainly needed it to clear the musky smell that seemed to be coming from the mouldy walls.
Our friend got a single for $10 but no bar fridge nor curtains and had the same response when asked for the aircon remote.
Beside one nice girl on the desk, the rest of them don't have a clue.
At breakfast, we asked for two white coffees and one black and got 3 black. I again asked for milk and one of the staff went off to buy some.
We also ordered 2 bread rolls with omelettes and one with cheese but had to wait for her to come back from shopping for the milk and rolls before she started making it.
The other staff just sat there watching us.
Finally, we were served 1 omelette, 1 cheese and 1 jam with rolls. After repeating the order, they put an omelette on top of the jam.
I guess that's their way of giving extra service for the mistake.
The guy on the next table ordered a roll with an omelette and got served just the omelette. When he asked for a roll, she just said "no".
If you are on a $10 a night budget and have a good sense of humour, then it's OK, otherwise look elsewhere if Violet tries to send you to their "sister hotel".

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KuriTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

i recently posted a review about the Violet Hotel and this is the review for the hotel they transferred us to.

In the previous review i stated how the Violet Hotel was unavailable to meet our booking and transferred us to their other hotel 'Hanoi Ocean'.

We had semi high hopes seeing as we had basically paid $12 and we knew what other $11 rooms looked like.

The girl at the front desk gave us a key to the rooms at the back of the hotel, we went upstairs and opened the door to a standard double; it stank of a damp smell, the walls were mouldy and there was minimal natural light or amenities such as a fridge (this was stated on our booking and the brochure).
We went to tell the girl and she gave us the option of a twin room at the back of the hotel, this was better (still mouldy, smelly and no fridge) but still not worth the $12 so we tried to haggle her but she insisted these rooms were the only options unless we wanted to pay more for one of the front rooms (we didnt want to).
As we had booked through Agoda for the Violet hotel and this was the overflow place we had no options but to stay here or lose our money ($24).
The first night was filled with noise as everyones windows open into the center of the hotel and the staircases area just echos every foot step and door close.
9am the first morning the girl came knocking on our door to see if we were staying another night (we were booked in for 2 DUH!).
10am the second morning they came asking if we were checking out then so they could start cleaning the room - check outs at 12).
The female staff are ok they giggle and laugh at you a lot for no reason but better then the night shift guys who dont even acknowledge your there.

So yeah final note is 'dont bother', theres better rooms at cheaper rates however the attitude of the staffs carries across most hotels.

Room Tip: avoid, better options for less around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turbominicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We got a lot of promisses but nothing kn reality. The room was dirty and weird, the window was right above the kitchen so it was always loud, but most of all- the service was terrible. The english level of the stuff was really low, every one was rude. We were promised breakfast, but after they discovered we booked our tour elsewhere they refused to give it to us, and after a lot of arguements they gave us some dry bread and butter and told us it is all they have while we saw them making eggs. We didnt trust any of the stuff with our money or tour, and were right to do so

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Apparently the hotel has rooms in different levels, be aware that if you choose a cheap room, it's a disaster. We have been staying for same price in different hotels all over Vietnam and the quality was excellent so maybe this is just because is Hanoi. We only stayed there one night, got a very dirty room, mold on walls, kitchen looked disgusting. As we were after long flight, very tired and dying for bed, we took it. Internet was not working. On top of that, we have booked a trip to Sa Pa witht them (our own stupidity I must say, we should have smelled the rat by that time) - they showed us pictures of nice bus, in the end we were traveling in a horrible and smelly bus, as we managed to speak to some locals traveling with us, we paid 3times the price (which you can expect as tourist but what bothered me more was the dishonesty of the Ocean Hotel staff). We were promissed some services that were never delivered (on our journey from/back to hotel to the bus station, the taxi was supposed to be included in the price we paid for the trip, of course once arrived at the place, the driver asked for money). The hotel we got in Sa Pa was nice though.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaBela79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 mi away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Ocean Hotel

Property: Hanoi Ocean Hotel
Address: 14 Hang Non St | Hoan Kiem district, Hanoi 844, Vietnam (Formerly Tin Tin Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 580 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Old quarter, short distance to the famous tourist attractions such as Hoan Kiem Lake, Hanoi Opera House, Thang Long Water Puppet Theatre, the Old Quarter of Hanoi, the Catholic Church ... All the rooms in the Hanoi Ocean Hotel are equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, internet 24H, wifi, mini bar, bathroom with bathtub, hair dryer and other amenities. You will be satisfy when staying in our hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing