We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff!”
Review of Discovery II Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Discovery II Hotel
Ranked #95 of 604 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hanoi Stars for one night. We had a huge room with a balcony just for the two of us, against a very fair price. The room itself had everything we needed: aircon, television and even a fridge. Further, the shower was very good!

About the staff; we were very lucky that Quynh was on duty. She is one of the most helpful and friedliest people we met on our three-month trip throughout South East Asia! We asked her over a hundred questions which she all answered with the same level of interest, sincerety and kindness. Hence, we definitely recommend other travellers to staying here (especially if you're full of questions about Hanoi and Vietnam)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joel2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
15
35
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Location was very good; short walk to Hoan Kiem Lake and shops, restaurants nearby. Rooms were ok, airconditiong worked very well. Beds were quite hard to sleep on, but this was a common thing all around Vietnam. Breakfast was ok and served when needed.
There was two staff members in our time, other one spoke excellent English, the other one not so much and it was sometimes difficult to explain what we need or want, although both were very kind and nice. We got lots of help and advices about staying in Hanoi (taxis, trips, maps, restaurant tips etc), I think the staff is trustworthy. This hotel is a good, reliable choice for your stay in Hanoi :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vietnamElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was happy to stay in the Hanoi Star Hotel, in the center of Hanoi, with the best staff I ever met, so friendly and helpfull, that it was almost sunny inside the hotel... Thanks and I'll come back for sure...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Hanoi Star. There is a very helpful staff and clean accommodations with all the necessary amenities. Free wi-fi and included breakfast make this place a great deal for the price. It is near many exciting attractions in Hoan Kiem. They can also organize tours and recommend many excellent restaurants nearby. I would love to visit Hanoi and the Hanoi Star again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everyonelovesahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WORLDTRIP
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We arrived late in Hanoi and I walked past this hotel three times, but since the other hotels in this area where to pricey for ourselves or the rooms where realy ugly, I decided to go in and ask. I did not want to in the beginning since the lobby looks that nice that I expected a high price for the rooms. I was wrong! I understood FIFTY Dollars in the beginning but that was wrong. For FIFTEEN Dollar it was worth having a look at the rooms and I knew I do not have to look further. The room was big, comportable bed, TV and fridge, shower was new and lots of toiletries in the bathroom to use.
We stayed for a couple of days and that is because this place is a perfect spot to walk to all the sightseeing places, it is quiet since the windows are in the back of the buildings away from the noisy roads.
Best thing is...the staff is so friendly and nice, always willing to help, answering our questions, booking tours or bus tickets if we want to. Even giving us a guide book for free!
I send BIG HUGS to every one of you!
The breakfast is made fresh if you wish to have breakfast and is really good! We could choose out of bread, butter and jam, eggs or noodle soup with veggies or fried noodle with veggies or egg .....
We did recommend this place to other people already and will do so in the future.

Room Tip: we were in room 404 and 604.... 404 seems to be a bit more modern and has a fridge. It is a bit more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Looks like a typical hotel, but the staff absolutely go out of their way to help you out. They were able to give us insider notes on navigating Hanoi, some great restaurants nearby, and allowed us to store our bags and even shower before our train trip long after we checked out.

The room was nice, comfortable, and clean. 15 dollars a night included a modest breakfast. Located in the Old Quarter, everything was basically close.

After some bad experiences in big cities, it is always refreshing to find a place with service placed in front.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshTake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Looks like a typical hotel, but the staff absolutely go out of their way to help you out. They were able to give us insider notes on navigating Hanoi, some great restaurants nearby, and allowed us to store our bags and even shower before our train trip long after we checked out.

The room was nice, comfortable, and clean. 15 dollars a night included a modest breakfast. Located in the Old Quarter, everything was basically close.

After some bad experiences in big cities, it is always refreshing to find a place with service placed in front.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreshTake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#144 of 588 in Hanoi
181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#73 of 588 in Hanoi
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery II Hotel

Property: Discovery II Hotel
Address: 25 Hang Mam Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Stars Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 604 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery II Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Discovery II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing