We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base for exploring north vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #35 of 601 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A perfect base for exploring north vietnam”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Artisan Lakeview for several days before and several days after a 10 day cycling trip in Northwest Vietnam. The hotel was in a perfect location for shopping, sightseeing and just hanging out. I loved going across the road to breakfast each morning, where we would sit on the balcony and watch the city start to wake up. While the hotel is very centrally located, the actual street location is quiet and relatively non-commercial. Artisan Lakeview felt like a little home away from home. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They even stored our cumbersome bike boxes and didn't mind us assembling and disassembling bikes in the lobby area!

Room Tip: I suspect rooms with a lake view might be more expensive. Our rooms all overlooked the street-scape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmr206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    99
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
52
119
61
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having recently spent two weeks in Hanoi, in the Artisan Lakeview Hotel, I am pleased to say it was so homely, so very clean and the staff were more than helpful and very pleasant, whatever you needed, they would get for you.The Cost of accommodation plus breakfast was just right for our budget. We found this hotel through a family member who lives in Hanoi and the staff made him so welcome when he came to pick us up. Being in the old quarter it was a great experience for us as it was our first time in Vietnam. We did enjoy the food and tried all kinds of restaurants, one being the Artisans own . Breakfast was most enjoyable being a buffet we were able to sample all types of things. We will go back to Vietnam and certainly to the Artisan Lakeview. Thank you for a very very pleasant stay.
Jane and Alan. Portugal

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 583MsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The resently completed 5 days Hanoi tour of my wife, daugter, sis-in-law and a friend was a very successful, enjoyed and relaxing touring experience at affordable cost.

Miss Jenny and her staff are all very professional and nice personnel who really showed their hardworks for the satisfaction of their clients more than I expect.

For our brothers, sisters and friends who wish and are planning to visit Hanoi and anywhere in Vietnam, please don't waste your time searching for the tour agents that will meet your needs and expectations to the highest quality level at lowest/affordable cost.

Your simply happy friend and a permanent guest of Artisan Group,
Mr. Marciano Jr.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yangon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I recently visited Vietnam for the third time, with a 9-day private tour of the northen mountains as the main aim. We had two days in Hanoi before and after and decided to try Artisan Lakeview on arrival. We did not want to be right in the old quarter, yet close to the action. Artisan Lakeview turned out to be perfect! Tucked in a charming side street with more celebrated hotels, we paid just $30US per night including a delightful buffet breakfast.

You know the old saying about first impressions. The staff are brilliant. Jenny and her reception team were smiling, courteous and informative. Our room was clean, comfortable and yes, relatively quiet. After our initial stay, we rebooked for our return from Sapa and northern towns and villages. They couldn't fit us in at the time but booked us in at another Artisan across the road. When we returned, they joyfully told us they had made space for us after all.

We will be telling our friends and thoroughly recommend it to all who plan a visit to the wonderful old city of Ha Noi. If recommendation meant commission, we'd be millionaires.

David & Fiona G - Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I did not want to waste time hopping around travel agents looking for best deals so I emailed this hotel for a customized package with 3nights hotel plus Halong Bay 3D2N trip altogether. From all the info I could get from various travel websites, I calculated their package to be value-for-money and value-for-time since I do not need to spend time transacting with other agents.

Pros:
1) Located on a quiet street filled with cafes, pubs and eating places but close walking distance to the lake and other busy locations.
2) Lake view from the honeymoon room is great.
3) Service is good. They start your stay with an introduction of the attractions on a map. I am also impressed with the fruit platter they put in our room refrigerator upon our return from Halong.
4) Breakfast is very delicious with three different freshly squeezed juices. Their hotel cafe is actually frequented by Vietnamese locals too.
5) Travel arrangement by the owner, Jenny, is swift and good. Able to communicate very well in English both vocal and written. You can be assured her recommendations are good and honest.

Cons:
1) Bathroom has a light stench some times.
2) The machine operating the lift is a bit noisy during midnight. I stayed on top floor nearest to the lift machine.
3) Mattress is below average.
4) Shower power is weak and temperature is inconsistent at times.

Room includes slippers, kettle, bottled water, safe, TV, toiletries (shaver, toothpaste, toothbrush, etc) and refrigerator.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Located off the busy streets of the old quarter, near hoan kiem lake. easy access to all attraction from the shopping streets, street vendors nite market puppet show etc. the 1st 2 nites we were in the original artisan, rooms are clean & part view of lake to the rear window. toilet abit dated. good spread breakfast at the hotel's restaurant across the road. on return from halong bay another 2 nites but stayed at newer artisan next to the restaurant. building recently constructed with good sized rooms (window to lightwell) with modern bath. staff very helpfull, great service & location will definitely stayed again.

Room Tip: fresher rooms at the new artisan
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khtan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here a year ago and had no hesitation in booking in again.
It is a wonderful place to stay in Ha Noi.
Just moments walk from Hoan Kiem Lake it is ideally situated in the old quarter.
The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean and the buffet breakfast helps start a brand new day in the best of ways.
The staff are excellent with nothing a problem and, as a bonus, they speak good English.
Thank you to all at The Artisan Lakeview.
Already I am looking forward to my next stay with you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Heart Hotel
Heart Hotel
#108 of 585 in Hanoi
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gondola Hotel
Gondola Hotel
#96 of 585 in Hanoi
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Lakeside Hotel
Golden Lakeside Hotel
#273 of 585 in Hanoi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
Centre Point Hanoi Hotel
#459 of 585 in Hanoi
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunline Hotel
Sunline Hotel
#107 of 585 in Hanoi
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Artisan Boutique Hotel
Artisan Boutique Hotel
#43 of 601 in Hanoi
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artisan Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artisan Lakeview Hotel

Property: Artisan Lakeview Hotel
Address: 23 Hang Hanh St | Old quarter, Hanoi 00844, Vietnam (Formerly Silver Moon Lakeview Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 601 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Artisan Lakeview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artisan Lakeview Hotel is located on the quiet side of Hoan Kiem Lake in the heart of Hanoi Old Quarter, within immediate vicinity of all the services and the beautiful nature. We provide a pleasant accommodation, a wide range of exciting culinary experiences, and friendly service. This family-owned hotel is well known for its warm atmosphere. Welcome and enjoy a relaxing holiday.Our 15 well-equipped accommodations provide a comfortable setting for staying overnight. The rooms are cozily decorated and well lit, and sure to suit all preferences. Select the alternative that best suits you from double rooms to spacious family rooms and suites. In our pleasant lobby, you can read newspapers or talk with our front desk team to know more about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Artisan Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sun Lakeview Hotel Hanoi
Golden Sun Hanoi
Hotel Golden Sun
Golden Sun Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing