We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of my trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #28 of 385 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of my trip”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed the night in the new Hanoi Backpacker Hostel, one of the most comfortable and fun hostels I've ever been. The Halong Bay Tour organised by the hostel was really the hightlight of my trip in Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank negrujs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    287
    148
    55
    38
See reviews for
5
136
262
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horgen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

All you need is here in one place:

Good cheap accommodation, rooms, toilets, showers, are perfectly clean,
Free breakfast, good excursion tours in one place,
Excellent animation, employees, guaranteed party,
People from all over the world...

New Hanoi Backpackers is simply the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20Horgen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Only positive things to say about this place. It is is everything a hostel should be - clean, safe and comfortable rooms. And lots of stuff included for your $6 a night - breakfast, wifi, walking tours, Vietnamese lessons, movies in the afternoon and even beer on a Sunday night. The staff are welcoming and helpful and tried to hook me up with other travellers for an airport transfer.

Room Tip: The female dorm was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrollercoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foshan, China
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at the hostel on Ngo Huyen street. Many people have commented that it is expensive: I paid $6 per night for a bed in an 8 bed dorm - how is that expensive? If you want private ensuite rooms when you travel then yes, it is worth looking at hotels as prices can be comprable, sometimes cheaper; if you just want a bed for the night then this is excellent value for money. You have to think about what is important to you, if meeting/socialising with new people is an important part of the way you travel, then a private room in a hostel is a better option than in a hotel where people tend to keep to themselves.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm in the Annex building. It was clean and comfortable. There was an ensuite shower room adjoining the room and extra shower/toilets on other floors. There was very large storage lockers within the room, and individual lamps at each bed that meant the main light did not have to be on just because one person wanted to do something.

Free tea and coffee available. Bread, butter, fruit and instant noodles for breakfast are included in the bed price. There is additional breakfasts like a fry up available for a cost. I enjoyed banana pancakes for 30,000dong.

There is a roof top bar and a partying culture here. It has a friendly atmosphere and you are guaranteed to find yourself with chatting to people easily. They do happy hours, games nights, pub crawls, BBQs etc.

Computers are free to use. The ones in the main building were always being used and staff did not enforce the 15 min rule. I was staying in the annex which mean it was a lot easier for me to use computers.

Staff were young, friendly and helpful: Vietnamese and international. There is a travel desk that will help you book bus and rain tickets as well as tours to Halong Bay and Sapa; you can read my review of the Sapa trip through my profile page, I did not fancy the Halong Bay trip as speaking to others who had done it made it seem too much like a booze cruise for my taste.

I experienced no problems and enjoyed my stay.

The next time I am Hanoi, if I want a place to relax with my own tv and ensuite I will stay in a hotel, if I just want a cheap place to lay my head, I will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Accommodation was basic but I didn't spend much time in my room. Staff were very helpful. The bar had a great selection of shots including garlic, chilli, ball and protein. The manager Mr Lander has a great local knowledge and was able to guide me to a number of fascinating locations. The Halong Bay cruise was expensive but well worth it. The tour guides kept a tight schedule filled with lots of activities such as, badminton, tubing, motor boating, kayaking, swimming, as well as some thrilling ball, frisbee and card games. Expect to see a few Buffalo on the island. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, just keep an eye on your passport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viet-cashcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

After a muderously long train trip from southern China, then a crazy taxi ride to the hostel we were prepared for the worst. luckily when we arrived the staff were bubbly, helpful and more than ready to assist with making the most out of Hanoi.

We were only staying the one night before heading out to Ha Long Bay for a boat cruise. The rooms were clean and without Air Con during the day which for us is awesome! I never understand why people love coming to hot countries and then stuff themselves into a sub zero room even though they are walking back out into the heat again at a later stage. Sadly the Air Con comes on during the night but i slept next to the window and opened it so didn't freeze.

We stayed at the old hostel for this one night and got to meet people upstairs in the hostel bar. Super cheap drinks (well not as cheap as roadside stalls but still cheap) and great staff all ready to party their arses off any time.

After our Ha Long Bay cruise we came back and stayed at the new Hostel which was even better, new big rooms (we got a private suite), huge common area and large tv room with balcony as well as so many cool things to do such as beer pong comps, free walking tours, sports matches on the big screens and again everyone here was super friendly.

If you are going to stay in Hanoi you can't get any better backpackers than Hanoi Backpackers Hostel!!

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

After experiencing hotel after hotel that was trying to rip me off, coming to the Hanoi old Backpackers hostel was a true breath of fresh air. I felt safe, welcome and able to relax as soon as I arrived. The beds are great, the dorm rooms are typical, the bathrooms are small, but knowing I'm in a place that is honest and providing good service and fair priced trips was priceless. Great atmosphere, great location, free breakfast and even a free walking tour!! How sweet is that!! Love it. Truly backpackers for backpackers!!

Room Tip: Any are good. Make sure to book trips to Sapa and Halong through them. It's worth the price. Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#14 of 385 in Hanoi
1,153 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 385 in Hanoi
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#3 of 385 in Hanoi
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chien Hostel
Chien Hostel
#67 of 385 in Hanoi
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 385 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing