We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hostel in SE Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #28 of 367 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Hostel in SE Asia”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

from start to finish this place has been great, i Have never felt such a good atmosphere in a hostel. the beds are really comfy, the booze is cheap and the pub crawl they arrange is not to be missed. Great staff too. Will def come back. also it is the cleanest hostel by a mile. free internet and pool table. i

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ed j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    284
    143
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
131
260
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I tried to book a tour with the new Hanoi Backpackers Hostels in Ma May St. They offered a competitive price on the tour, quoted in US dollars (which is normal). However when I asked for the staff member to give me the price in Vietnam Dong, she used the exchange rate of US$1=21500VND. I questioned the staff member why she used this figure and pointed to a board behind her which said 21500VND and told me this is the rate everywhere in Vietnam.
In my 3 weeks in Vietnam the standard exchange rate used at every other hostel, restaurant, tour company, shop and even market throughout the Country is US$1=21000VND (February 2012, official rate is 20780VND).

I told this to the woman who simply stared back at me and said that is the price. I left and found the same tour at the correct exchange rate just down the road.

It may not seem like a lot of money, but this hostel is charging it for all customers staying at their hotel, in their restaurant and booking their tours. This makes them a lot of money, and for a company who is supposedly looking out for backpackers and offering low prices, they are ripping you off. Even the dodgy market sellers are better than this!

Add to this I ordered a drink from the bar before I tried to book and it came out in a filthy glass, less than impressed.

Shame on you. I hope you can improve your game.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sneezemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the original Hanoi Backpackers' Hostel on Ngo Huyen Lane in September - October 2011.

The rooms are clean and the breakfast is decent.

The hostel is very conveniently located, within a walking distance from Hoan Kiem lake.

What was really great about staying here were the trips organized by the staff from the hostel (to Halong Bay, to Sa Pa etc). The prices were reasonable and you'll never forget the experiences you share with the group you happen to go with.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreea_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here on a motobike tour of Viet nam, Nice and clean, conveinient to explore hanoi, not too far from the train station and the ha long bay cruise they run is fabulous. definately include the castaway island part.. and don't plan to sleep plan to have fun!

The hostel is easily spotted (Bright) the bar has nice drinks that don't taste of Hanoi Vodka. The staff are friendly and helpful. All in all we had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ches81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

i stayed in Hanoi for 4 days, i moved into this hostel from another one, coz that one was quite noisy. when you see the general enviroment of this hostel, you will definitely choose this place to stay. it is big and nice, great atmosphere, the lobby and kitchen look amazing. even if the price for the dorm is a little bit high compare to others, but my friend and i still chose this one.

we were told the dorms in the main builing were full(this place have a branch hostel which is just right corss the street), so we had to checked in into the cross street one, which seems much quieter. they put us in a 12 person female dorm,the bed is big and clean, the locker is acceptable too, but then we found out, there are 12 people stay in one room, but only two plug seats for charging our digitals, the two plugs including a bathroom one, so we had hard time to charge our phones, camera etc. and i can't believe how tiny the bathroom is, i am a asian girl, pretty small size, but i had hard time to fit myself in in the toilet room(they seperate the toilet and shower to two spaces). my friend had shower but the water was freezing cold, so she had to jump out the shower in the middle of bathing. another western girl also said she can not believe how cold the shower is. So next day, my friend and i have to go down to the top floor of the main building to use the public shower which was just ok, but very inconvenient. the door of each pubulic shower is made from bamboo or some straw thing, you can see through easily, so when i had shower, i have to hang my towel, clothes all of the door to make sure no one can peek through.

The breakfast they supplied is soso, the bread is cold, the coffee is instant coffee which is really rare in Vietnam(all the places i stayed in VN supplied Vietnam local coffee), taste is very bad. but other drinks as well as the fruits they supplied was nice.

The staffs are friendly and nice, very helpful, but if i go back to Hanoi, i am not sure i will choose one to stay again, or at least try the main building one. i would never stay in 12 person dorm again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed the night in the new Hanoi Backpacker Hostel, one of the most comfortable and fun hostels I've ever been. The Halong Bay Tour organised by the hostel was really the hightlight of my trip in Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank negrujs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horgen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

All you need is here in one place:

Good cheap accommodation, rooms, toilets, showers, are perfectly clean,
Free breakfast, good excursion tours in one place,
Excellent animation, employees, guaranteed party,
People from all over the world...

New Hanoi Backpackers is simply the best!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 20Horgen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#12 of 367 in Hanoi
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 367 in Hanoi
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#10 of 367 in Hanoi
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 367 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing