We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For social backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #27 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For social backpackers”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel (ma may); however I would say the private room is overpriced at 40/night. I found much cheaper accomodation for similar room quality once I was settled into Hanoi. However, Hanoi Backpackers Hostel definitely wins for their social scene (bar downstairs, large lounge/computer area, tours to Halong bay, etc). The travel desk was also very helpful in booking transportation. If you are interested in meeting other young backpackers and partying, this is the spot for you. We also did the Halong Bay tour, which was well organized but again more of a party scene. As my boyfriend & I were not quite as keen on the party scene, I personally would have preferred to stay at a different hostel/hotel given the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pow_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    282
    142
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
130
258
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Depending on how long you've been in Asia, you will love or hate Hanoi Backpackers. It's a standard mega hostel that you'd find in SA or Europe. Big bar, loads of activities, pub crawls, travel agency, and decent breakfast. Beds are comfortable and lockers are huge. Their new location is a bit more modern and spacious, but travelers will prefer the original. The travel and pub crawl folks were great, but the front-desk staff at the annex were incompetent. Hendo, Paul (Pete?), and Cesar made my trip incredible!

The real selling point of Hanoi Backpackers is their Halong Bay trip. This is a significant step above the other trips being sold around town at a fraction of the cost. Halong Bay (in good weather) is a trip that you will never forget. So fork over the extra cash for the following reasons:

- Party boat with fun backpackers - vs. - Chinese families with kids
- Amazing food for all (even vegetarians) vs Basic meals
- Private island with banana boat and huts vs. CatBa island
- Tons of kayaks in good shape, plus the chance to jump off the top of the boat

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Great place if you're on the younger backpacker scene - but make sure it's what you want before you check in - I think a lot of the poor reviews are from people who expect small, quiet dorms in a simple place. This isn't what backpackers is trying to be!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matto123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This is the best Hostel I've stayed in, the two Aussies running it are great help with any information you need. The parties were great fun when we were there. The rooms are clean and safe and the food there is good too!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soceal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sha Tin, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find that the Hanoi backpackers hostel was a nice enough place, despite the fact that only one power outlet worked in our room. The next day they had to fix that and the shower door so they upgraded us to private rooms for no extra charge.

The real draw of the place should be its Rock Long Rock Hard Halon Bay Booze Cruise. They say it's not a booze cruise but for $25K Dong a beer it turns into one. Our guides were great but you should be warned that this is a young persons trip. If heavy drinking with 20 something's isn't your idea of a good time then you should look elsewhere. I also recommend doing the 2 night tour because 1 would not have been enough.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

Cool place. It's a party as expected. Fun bar downstairs, the rooms are nice but broken AC wasn't fixed despite a few requests. Overpriced tours.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

It's erverything you look for in a hostel. Nice staff, that not only do their jobs, but are fun to have around. Showers, Aircon, rooms, lockers, common room, internet, just as the backpacker likes it. Food and drink is not really cheap in the hostel, still okay though. Located directly in the old quarter you can count on a hostel tour around the bars and clubs after the regular evening activities in the lounge and lobby area are over. Or you just stay in. Their booze cruise through Ha Long Bay is legendary. With the size of the place it doesn't feel intimate or individual though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#8 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing