We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #28 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Service at this hostel was extraordinary. I lost my luggage upon arrival at the hostel (taxi drove off with it) and the hostel staff (special thanks to Mai and Dao) helped me to call the taxi company dozens of times in a 24-hour period up to when it was found, even when none of it was their responsibility. They were warm and gracious throughout and I am deeply grateful. I would definitely stay with them again. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    282
    142
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
130
258
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very nice hostel, probably the nicest I've been in. Staff are fun and friendly if not a big crazy. Rooms are clean, as are bathrooms. Air con goes on in the rooms at 7pm so they're nice and cold but on our last night there was a problem with the aircon and we baked. The bar area is busy and always something to do, theres a big chill out room upstairs. Really good security for luggage too. We did their trip to Halong Bay where the accommodation was sub par. A lot of dramas on that trip ie a guy beating up his girlfriend and a rape allegation that was ignored by the tour guide, but overall quite good fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingonaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our trip through Southeast Asia. Private rooms were spacious and pretty comfortable. The hostel is pretty clean, the breakfast is pretty good, and the staff is very friendly (although communication was sometimes a little tricky). We were happy staying here, and the way I've distributed points below are a reflection of our experience in Hanoi, at the hostel.

I was much less into the tour of Halong Bay. The tour offered by HBH is a party tour, which would have been cool if the two guys running it had been less vile. I don't know how many times we saw one of these guys naked in two days, but it was way too many (I'd go into more graphic detail about the things they did, but TA probably wouldn't post it). Both guys were burnt out and boring, and neither of them did a very good job getting these parties started (they spent most of the day getting wasted). More importantly, they didn't make anyone feel very comfortable. Had I been on the tour by myself, or with girlfriends, and not with my boyfriend, I would have actually felt pretty unsafe. Seriously. It was that bad.

Other aspects of the tour were not great either. We were there in January, and it rained a lot (our friends went on the same tour in October and had a much better time). The rain made for a squishy night in the indoor common area of the boat (watching our guide get naked), and a pretty soggy one on the island. Cabins are open air, even in January, and so our mattresses and covers were damp. I slept in every single piece of clothing I'd brought with me. Food is also pretty disgusting. Overall, disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This place is great, if you are young and into the drinking tour of SE Asia. Most people are not over age of 22ish, and lots of gap year types also. They offer good dorms but the vibe is very insular, foreigners hanging only with foreigners, and the evenings closely resemble a university frat party.

The food is actually quite good and reasonably priced, and the place is clean, despite my experience one morning of watching a member of the kitchen staff repeatedly sneezing and wiping her nose while wiping the cutlery. The staff are friendly and helpful too.

Convenient place to start, but be warned that if you are an actual traveller (not on drunk tour) and over 25 you will likely find this place tiresome and more high school dance than Hanoi.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveldrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed slightly longer than planned due to the Halong Bay trip being full but still had a blast - rooms are clean and comfy - staff are great and the Halong Bay Tour is one of my best experiences yet!!!! Also made new friends who'll we'll def see again - soon!!!!

Room Tip: This is a party hostel - expect little quiet - thats what we wanted!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I had a bed in a dorm, it was comfortable with a bathroom in the dorm and breakfast included (perfect for me because I'm not crazy about Vietnamese street food...) There is a bar and a kitchen. Fun if you want to meet people and party but also nice if you want a good night sleep, the dorm room was quiet at night. Location is great, in the same street you can pick and choose from many travel agencies happy to take you to Ha Long bay or Sapa, book open bus tickets, or whatever way you want to travel. They also have a place in Hue which is just as fun as the one in Ha Noi:)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel (ma may); however I would say the private room is overpriced at 40/night. I found much cheaper accomodation for similar room quality once I was settled into Hanoi. However, Hanoi Backpackers Hostel definitely wins for their social scene (bar downstairs, large lounge/computer area, tours to Halong bay, etc). The travel desk was also very helpful in booking transportation. If you are interested in meeting other young backpackers and partying, this is the spot for you. We also did the Halong Bay tour, which was well organized but again more of a party scene. As my boyfriend & I were not quite as keen on the party scene, I personally would have preferred to stay at a different hostel/hotel given the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pow_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#10 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 362 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#8 of 362 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 362 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing