We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy place, happening and also noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #24 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Busy place, happening and also noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stuffs are cool, and the location is good. It's a very happening hostel, the cons are it's very noisy, u would hear the noise in the room upstair. Unfortunately, I had a bad 2 night experience in the hostel which the room i stayed, there are a group of travelers who made noise in the midnight after they came back from party. Overall it's ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Phillip,

Thanks for your positive review of our hostel. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. VBH Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    273
    138
    53
    36
See reviews for
4
125
255
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Downtown one. The rooms are clean and each bed has its own lockers. There was a bathroom ensuit and it was clean too. The facicilities of the hostel are great. It has an entire floor with sofas and movies to chill out and it also has PCs and a pool table. The downstairs bar has a lot of athmosphere. Location is very good too, in the heart of the old quarter. All in all great experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The rooms were a bit spacious, with huge lockers under the bed for bags. Very clean. Showers were hot. Beds were comfy and big.

There is free water. The provided breakfast is good, with optional add-ons.

The staff asked about our plans and tours, but did not push us to book with them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The people here are like a clan of drunken teenagers. The lobby is almost always full of people, some are employees and some just die hard hanoi BP shirt-wearing fans. But they drink pretty hard here and love to party.

Their food and services are beyond a bloody fortune (booze cruise especially), to the point of laughter. They still fill up a boat every time though.

On a positive note, the beds are pretty comfy with locks provided for your bags and there are outlets next to each bed which was definitely a plus. The Internet signal didn't reach the rooms which was upsetting but besides for that, the sleeping arrangements were good overall.

In conclusion, if you're young, looking to meet other party-seeking travelers and looking to party then this is definitely the place for you. It may have mastered the art of "party hostel". However, if you're older than 22 or just don't feel like drinking away your experience in Hanoi then id suggest going elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

It's very very cool !! Atmostphere, room, staff, drink and even smell are really really awesome. It is like small town in the big city, different from other hotels. The staffs were friendly and helpful. This was my favourite places that i stayed over the duration of my trip. The room was very clean, specially rest room!!. I had great time and made some great friendships with the other backpackers. I had many new friends when i stayed there ^_<
I will come back !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggirl_wannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was one of our favourite places that we stayed over the duration of our entire trip through South-East Asia. The hostel was extremely well run, with staff that could speak english well (majority from English speaking countries), and who were ex-backpackers themselves so they could provide great advice to tourists. Located in a great spot, with quiet and clean rooms, and close to everything in the Old Quarter. Also has a great rooftop bar, which is a great place to start the night, before departing on the pub-crawl run free-of-charge by the staff each night. The food served here is also great, and at good prices. We decided to do the Castaways Halong Bay Cruise (run by the Hanoi Backpackers Crew), and although pricey, was definitely worthwhile. We had great fun with the activities offered, and made some great friendships with the other backpackers on the trip. When we got back to the hostel after the trip, we felt right at home, and had many new friends to go and drink with in the bar. Ally and Emelio were fantastic, and really went out of their way to look after us both when we were on the trip, and when we got back, offering great advice. The downtown hostel bar was also a lot of fun, with great live music being offered. Would definitely recommend this hostel, as it is extremely well run, and a friendly place to stay at cheap prices.

Room Tip: At the original backpackers, the rooms located in the building across the street from reception, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_92aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Clean annd well run considering how many people stay there and how crazy it can get. Great showers and the beds were comfortable and dorms were clean. Great atmosphere and if you need time out to chill, the fifth floor common area is quiet and really relaxing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ROMY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#9 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#8 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 332 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#10 of 332 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi City Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 332 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing