We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #30 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hanoi Backpackers is a great place to chill out and relax after a long day sight seeing and it is a great place to meet people over a drink or two ! If I had any complaint it would be that you could spend too much time drinking in the hostel instead of enjoying the fabulous street food, bars and markets right on the hostels doorstep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Cheers Edward for your good review of our hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Cheers - VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Didn't stay in this hostel but booked our three day two night halong bay tour with them! Best thing we did in Vietnam amazing way to meet people, you will stay in touch with and travel south with! Tour was good for drinking and parting! The foods also good , accommodation on the castaways island is very very basic , take your mosquito repellant!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Charlotte, Thanks for your great review and we are really pleased you had an awesome time on Castaways! All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights plus a trip to Ha Long Bay... My advice? Line your stomach. If It's your thing the party vibe here is amazing. Everyone gets together at the downstairs bar for happy hour then heads out after the crowd from the other hostel turns up. Huge party ensues. Everyone's happy!

Did the backpacker's Ha Long Bay trip, 2 nights of excess, fun drinking games, skinny dipping, climbing, wakeboarding, tubing and fantastic fresh food (not necessarily in that order). Met some friends for life, 2 ozzies ended up moving to my home town in Brighton on my recommendation. Well worth the money if you get a good crowd, you can always opt for one night, then stay another if the groups a good'un!

Stayed at the hostel a few nights after the boat tour and fell ill, stayed in bed most of the day and night but no partying noises could be heard, another plus!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: They're pretty flexible about extending or cancelling your stay. I think most people just turn u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Joel, Thanks for your great review of our hostel and we are really pleased you had a blast on our Castaways Ha Long Bay trip. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in the private room for two nights. It was pretty average and not that comfortable. The price was not great either but in the interest of fairness we were not looking for somewhere to drink and go on pub crawls etc and thus much of the value of this place was lost on us. If I was staying with my mates in a dorm room I would say it would have been a very enjoyable place to stay.
The reason for the bad rating however is biased as we booked the Boomerang which is kind of exclusive to the Backpacker hostels through them. They advertised a luxury backpackers travel bus from Hanoi to Hoi an - hop on hop off. Unfortunately we ended up having to sit at the back of the bus. We had chosen seats at the very front but were informed these are for the drivers who, understandably need to sleep between driving shifts.
The back seats are right ontop on the engine which was very hot and more or less cancelled out the Ac and there was stuff behind us which made reclining back a no go. There was no movie on the bus which was advertised. We paid the extra for this so we could travel in comfort and get a good sleep in which did not happen.
We mentioned this to the Hostel in Hue where it is important to say the complaint was handled very well we were assured it was a new service and is still being honed and the staff member we dealt with was apologetic and seemed quite happy to have feedback which he could use to improve the service. Just felt we should let people know.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the private rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Conor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Conor, Thanks for your review of our hostel and bus service. We have already discussed your feedback and this will help us make this service successful. We hope you enjoyed your trip. All the best. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Very popular with the backpacker/party crowd. The accommodations are pretty standard (the privates are considerably nicer, but a bit overpriced) but there is a very social vibe to this place. Lots of drinking and socializing if you're into that sort of thing.

The downtown location is definitely more party central (the bar crawl passes through here every night turning the lobby into a beer pong hall) so if you're not as into partying I recommend staying at the original location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi Lucas, Thanks for your review of our hostel and we are happy you had a good time. All the best. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed at Original backpackers for about a week (give or take) using it as my base to explore Sapa and Ha Long Bay. The hostel itself was clean, organised and friendly. There are plenty of places to chill there and it is well located to explore Hanoi. The staff were very helpful and friendly and good to chat too as well. I did the Sapa trek organised through these guys which was really well done. The pub crawl was also a good bit of fun. The rooms are a bit dark, but I think that's the nature of being indoors in Vietnam. Book ya self a dorm and meet some cool people. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Go for a dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOULOUPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi there, Tnaks for your great review of our hostel and Sapa trip. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at the Downtown Hanoi Backpackers - staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! Drinks on the house while we waited for our dorm to be cleaned, and they refunded us 2 nights when we cancelled our stay last minute. Definitely a place to party - lots of other young backpackers, events at the bar every night, great place to crash and blow off steam right in the thick of things in the Old Quarter. Clean rooms, comfy, delicious breakfast included.

Room Tip: Dorms are totally fine place to stay, private rooms are pricier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aislinn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hey thanks for reviewing our hostel. Happy you enjoyed our atmosphere and had a great time. All the best. VBH Crew Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#14 of 423 in Hanoi
1,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 423 in Hanoi
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luxury Backpackers Hanoi
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#2 of 423 in Hanoi
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
BC Family Homestay - Hanoi's Heart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 423 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range: £8 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing