We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but had better and cheaper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Ranked #26 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Ok but had better and cheaper”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as it was highly recommended. We stayed in a doom room which advertises all beds having plug sockets but there where only 4 plugs and 4 beds in the room 501. Lucky no one else joined so we had plenty.
Not all the staff seam to have the same info, when we arrived we asked for our youth hostel discount with our card and the first person had no idea. Then when we left baggage I asked for a ID tag to put in bag and she said they don't have them; but then the manager later gave us one. It was gone just a few little niggles especially when it is a slightly higher price than others in the area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi James - Thanks for your recent review of our hostel and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    278
    140
    55
    36
See reviews for
5
128
256
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here about 2 weeks ago and I had a fantastic time! I normally do not stay in hostels but this hostel may have changed my mind. I stayed in a double bed with my boyfriend the room had great storage and beds and bathrooms were very clean. They didn't put the air conditioner on till 6 which sucks if you want to take a nap but honestly you will probably not be in your room anyway. They have a great lounge upstairs which is good if you want to use the computers or have a bit of quiet. Downstairs is usually pretty active with people checking-in or having lunch. At night it really picks up they have a bar crawl that starts at the other location (the Original Backpackers Hostel I stayed their for one night and I also enjoyed it its about a 10-15 minute walk from the Downtown location) if your looking to drink, meet people and have fun this is a great place!!

I also wanted to give a review for their Halong Bay/Castaway Island tour
I did the 3 day/2 night August 2-4 and it was great fun!! if your expecting a leisure cruise this is not for you, be prepared for plenty of drinking (they don't force you to so if you don't want to its perfectly fine) You should also expect to spend time traveling on the first and last day but honestly no matter which tour you go with its going to happen (i did a different one last year, this one was better.) They had three boats which they docked together on the first night, I stayed on the smaller boat which was great since I got to really socialize and get to know the other people but you can hop from different boats throughout the evening. I learned a lot of drinking games from around the world. The boat crew were awesome as well ( Tom, Callum and Luke) The next day we spent on Castaway we were able to go tubing, rock climbing, or just hangout on the beach it was a fantastic day that then turned into an even better night!! The only negative I can say about this trip is that the sheets were a little dirty on the ship and on the island you were not provided with a pillow/sheet but to be honest you will probably end up passed out by the end of the night so it wont be a big deal, if it is just bring a sleeping bag liner. Anyway I highly recommend the hostel and cruise!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alihey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
HI there, Thanks for your review of our hostels and your awesome feedback of our Castaways trip! I will pass on your comments to the team! Enjoy the rest of your trip. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Rooms in he hostel are nice enough, secure and clean, good air con etc. roof top bar is reasonably priced but doesn't have a view. All in all, no complaints about the hostel itself. A great place for your first stop in Vietnam, gave out lots of reliable info about where to go next and how to get there.

However, I would say the downtown one is the same price and generally seems better, so stay there if you can.

The castaway tour was SO fun and the best way to see Halong Bay, we even saw the wild monkeys. All the guides were great, apart from Michael who was just a creep with no understanding of what is and is not appropriate. We have since met other groups who had their tour with him and made similar comments. I understand it's part of the job to get the party started, but some of the things he said and did were very offensive and made lots of girls we were with feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Ellie, Thanks for your great review of both our hostels and really pleased you had a great time on Castaways - I would like to add the group leader in question has now left our company due to poor performance on the job so we do take our customer feedback seriously. All the best for your future travel. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed with Hanoi back packers for 5 nights in total, two nights in the private rooms - which was really spacious and great aircon with an awesome view of Hanoi. The Cast away tour was so much fun, the group was awesome and so were the activities and drinking games. The only down side is i had booked telling them i had dietary requirements and no effort was made to meet them on both the boat and island, i basically lived off Morning glory for three days. The tour guides were great however, when chose to stay an extra night on the tour,we were told that we could get onto the boomerang bus a day late - this ended up being full and we had to pay and stay in a dorm room an extra night. The dorms are in pretty good condition though and the hostel is awesome.
HOWEVER.. the Boomerang bus is not worth your time, for what you get it is really expensive, we got a bus that was not the same was the picture, it was old, NO cushy reclining seats with foot rests , NO great movies, - NO movies at all, after asking the tv stayed off. Wifi was unable to load a single page for the whole 24 hours we were on the bus. After Hue, we got onto another separate bus that was older than the first with the same deal - NO toilet, movies, wifi. Welcome pack is a bottle of water, sick bag and bag of peanuts. The Sleeper buses we took for the rest of are cheaper and you get to lay down.

Room Tip: stay at downtown hostel, much better than original - we got a dorm with no window and it was a hot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greentraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
HI, Thanks for your great review of our hostels and castaways tour. I will pass on your feedback regarding the dietary requirements so we can make sure this does not happen in the future! Also I have passed your feedback regarding the BB to our travel manager to deal with this as a matter of priority. Always good to hear people stayed on the island for another night of fun!! All the best - VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hanoi Backpackers is a great place to chill out and relax after a long day sight seeing and it is a great place to meet people over a drink or two ! If I had any complaint it would be that you could spend too much time drinking in the hostel instead of enjoying the fabulous street food, bars and markets right on the hostels doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Cheers Edward for your good review of our hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Cheers - VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Didn't stay in this hostel but booked our three day two night halong bay tour with them! Best thing we did in Vietnam amazing way to meet people, you will stay in touch with and travel south with! Tour was good for drinking and parting! The foods also good , accommodation on the castaways island is very very basic , take your mosquito repellant!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Charlotte, Thanks for your great review and we are really pleased you had an awesome time on Castaways! All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights plus a trip to Ha Long Bay... My advice? Line your stomach. If It's your thing the party vibe here is amazing. Everyone gets together at the downstairs bar for happy hour then heads out after the crowd from the other hostel turns up. Huge party ensues. Everyone's happy!

Did the backpacker's Ha Long Bay trip, 2 nights of excess, fun drinking games, skinny dipping, climbing, wakeboarding, tubing and fantastic fresh food (not necessarily in that order). Met some friends for life, 2 ozzies ended up moving to my home town in Brighton on my recommendation. Well worth the money if you get a good crowd, you can always opt for one night, then stay another if the groups a good'un!

Stayed at the hostel a few nights after the boat tour and fell ill, stayed in bed most of the day and night but no partying noises could be heard, another plus!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: They're pretty flexible about extending or cancelling your stay. I think most people just turn u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDJoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James V, Manager at Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Hi Joel, Thanks for your great review of our hostel and we are really pleased you had a blast on our Castaways Ha Long Bay trip. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
Hanoi Rocks Hostel
#11 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel - Old Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
See You At Lily's
See You At Lily's
#9 of 341 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi Tomodachi House
Hanoi Tomodachi House
#1 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Pho Hostel
Hanoi Pho Hostel
#6 of 341 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original

Property: Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 341 Speciality Lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vietnam Backpacker Hostels - The Original reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing