We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and rooms. So so breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Ranked #79 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location and rooms. So so breakfast.”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The building is quite centrally located and it's easy to walk to the Old Quarter from here. We were traveling with 2 kids and got a room with 2 bedrooms and a living area. The rooms were very good and the view from the 23rd floor was great. The wifi worked supefast and the laundry included was a bonus as it saved us from the typical hotel laundry costs. The breakfast, however, was very poor and after the first day, we barely had anything there except coffee and toast, which is a shame considering that the experience otherwise was good. Would recommend if you're traveling with kids and don't have any expectations on breakfast. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in your generous feedback.

We are very pleased to note that your family and you had enjoyed your stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi serviced residence. Our property has recently completed an entensive upgrading to enhance the stay experience of our residents and guests.

However, we have also taken note of your unhappiness over the breakfast served. We offer an extensive breakfast buffet that consist varieties of Asian and Western dishes. Therefore, would appreciate if you could contact me at andrew.mah@the-ascott.com or telephone +84 4 3934 2342 extension 6238 so that we can understand why you were only served with coffee and toast for your breakfast.

Thank you for your feedback again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hanoi.

Best regards,

Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    251
    54
    9
    8
See reviews for
389
42
9
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great place to stay. If you are travelling with children this would be an ideal set up as the hotel apartments are very well equipped with everything you could possibly need and the hotel has a great swimming pool too. However we loved it as a young couple. We even got a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartments were spacious, stylish and clean. It’s in a central location, but not the liveliest of areas at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrismartinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at Somerset Grand Hanoi.

Feedback such as yours inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We have stayed in this hotel May 22-July 20, 2012 and again in September 2-30, 2012. My husband was working in Hanoi those two times and we wanted to stay close to the Old Quarter and Hoan Kiem Lake. This was the best choice for us as its location is superb and it enables us to cook our meals just like at home. The kitchen is well equipped with laundry facilities as well.

The facilities are excellent. Having several restaurants in the building, a grocery store, boutiques and buses to other grocery stores make lif very convenient. For those who have children, the kids are ferried to school, too.

The service is excellent. There is always someone to get a taxi for you and to give the necessary instructions in Vietnamese. In fact, they will bring you out to lunch, bring you shopping and give you a ride in their motorbike.

They helped me get some food and brought me Vietnamese food that they cooked themselves. Also, fresh vegetables ad fruits from their garden. I found that really kind of them.

The gym facilities are first class and the staff are superb. It is like having your own personal trainers.

It is quite dated but the hotel is now being renovated. The lobby has just been finished and it is now modern, spacious and tasteful.

We will again stay there the next time we travel to Hanoi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

We are very pleased that had an enjoyable stay with us. Being centrally located in the city center, all major attractions and eateries are within walking distance from our property.

Our spacious apartments are indeed great value for money as we have recently completed extensive refurbisbment of our apartments to provide the comforts of a modern home for our guests.

I would like to thank you for your compliments of my colleagues. Such positive comments will definitely inspire my team towards providing excellent service to our guests at all times.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future

Best regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great if you are business or with a family. Not so much for a romantic honey moon holiday (personal view). These towers are located 10 minutes walk from the ancient district of Hanoi including the lake. Towers have great and large apartments which are clean and have all the modern amenities that you would expect from a four star hotel. It also have a lovely pool and a nice restaurant (which was being renovated during our stay). We stayed there as two couples along with a toddler who enjoyed the extra space of the apartment compared to a hotel room. Towers have their own shopping centre so you can stock up on things from their grocers.
The only thing I would like to say that some of the reception staff came across as a little snobbish. The reason could be that we "holiday" residents of the apartment which sees lots of long terms business residents. But over all, high recommended for Hanoi.
p.s. they make you pay extra for cappuccinos during their breakfast buffets.

Room Tip: Choose a room in higher level - you get a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wed_Photographer_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yen Ping L, Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for your excellent review on Somerset Grand Hanoi.

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service and facilities.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve. We have taken note on your observation of the attitude of the Guest Service Officers that require improvement. I would like to assure you that we have personally addressed this issue with the staff concerned and will ensure that they receive the necessary guidance to perform a much better role moving forward to avoid a recurrence of this incident.

Once again thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choice. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,
Andrew MAH | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanoi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This apartment hotel (known as "Hanoi Tower" to locals and taxi drivers) has recently been renovated. The rooms are apartments, so they are huge and very quiet .. with no noise from neighbours. The hotel is very central, and has a big pool and very good gym. Since the renovation, this is a very good value hotel, especially for families or business people staying for longer periods.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanoidavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yen Ping L, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Your feedback will be shared with the entire team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. We are also glad to hear that you like the newly renovated residences. Feedback such as yours inspire us to continually provide and improve the level of service that residents have come to expect. As we continue our efforts to achieve excellent service standards.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you back at Somerset Grand Hanoi.

Kind regards,
Lew Yen Ping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We travelled with our 3 sons aged 12, 9 and 5. This choice of hotel appealed to us because it was the only apartment style hotel that we stayed in during our 2 week trip in Vietnam. It was nice to have the availability of a kitchen and laundry even though we didn't end up using either (our stay was only 3 nights, 2 nights prior to Halong Bay overnight cruise and 1 night on our return from Halong Bay) before flying out to Nha Trang. This hotel was very practical and provided all the things to make you comfortable for a longish stay (I guessed that the clientele were mostly business men with or without their families). We particularly liked having the small supermarket at the bottom of the hotel, kids made good use of it choosing interesting sweets, it certainly was a novelty to have it. Kids also made good use of the pool.

The only thing that this hotel was devoid of was character. It had little warmth and absolutely no frills to speak of. Like most tourists in Hanoi we had very busy and long site seeing days but I never got that welcome feeling at The Somerset Grand where I felt glad/relieved to be back in the hotel and my apartment as I did in all of our other hotels in Vietnam. I understand that this is a HUGE complex and it's more difficult therefore for the staff to give off a more personable vibe.

We found the staff to be efficient but not personable. The friendliest staff were the doormen.

We travelled with Buffalo Tours and may I mention our wonderful guide "Zing!" Hopefully I have spelt his name correctly? He was our favourite guide throughout our trip which is speaking highly of him because our guides were all of a high calibre. Zing did our airport/hotel transfers and our 4 hour trips to and from Halong Bay. His English was impeccable as was his knowledge of Vietnam and also other cultures and countries. He was very confident and competent at his job. It was a pleasure to be in his company and he provided us with so many helpful hints to improve our holiday.

May I also suggest that you do not miss the Water Puppets. I recommend that you book the tickets almost straight away. This is what we did but still we were surprised when we couldn't get tickets until the last show 2 days later. We thought that we were doing it for the children but let me say that it was us who got the most pleasure out of it.

Also, two restaurant suggestions. One is Highway 4. The staff speak almost no English here but the ambience in the restaurant is charming (be prepared to sit on the floor though). The food is unique - lots of interesting fare on the menu such as crocodile legs etc. We initially had difficulty ordering something that our children would eat but once it all came to the table and the kids tried it, they enjoyed it. We were thankful that French Fries were on the menu though particularly for our 5 year old. I have to say that the food was amazing here, perhaps the best that I had in Vietnam. It was a little pricey but definitely worth it for the experience and the really yummy food.

Second suggestion is Koto. One of my son's teachers had been to Vietnam and recommended it to us. It's quite westernised (so the kids could enjoy a hamburger) but it's the first and virtually the only place where I could get a decent, proper Western coffee. For that reason alone it's worth the visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vietnam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in your generous feedback.

I am very pleased to note that your family and you had enjoyed your stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi serviced residence. Our property has recently completed an entensive upgrading to enhance the stay experience of our residents and guests.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Hanoi.

Best regards,
Michael Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We booked this hotel bcause of the location close to the old town, that it had a pool and that it was an apartment hotel providing more space and amenities than a regular hotel.

It was worth the price. We first stayed one night in 3 room apartment room 1205, overlooking the pool area. This room was spacious and quiet. The second stay we were in room 510 overlooking the street. This room, also 3 bedrooms was smaller and had lots of noise from the street. Apart from that both rooms had the same high standard & were modern, clean & perfect.

This is an apartment hotel mixing long and short term stay. Staff attitude in the reception is more brisk and effecient than warm and personal. If you're looking for a resort where you feel like part of the family this isn't the place to go. That said, there are amenities plentiful for the whole family & provides a great place to relax after a noisy day in town.

Pool area was clean. Restaurant served a decent breakfast and less so room service dinner. Checkin-checkout went ok. The reception is currently being rebuilt so things get a bit crowded when waiting for transport etc.

All in all we'd gladly stay there again if visiting Hanoi.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room higher up facing the pool if you don't want to hear horns night and day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for your excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay experience with us during your recent stay with us. Our property is centrally located in the city center and all major attractions and eateries are within walking distance from our property.

Our spacious apartments are indeed great value for money as we have recently completed extensive refurbisbment of our apartments to provide the comforts of a modern home for our residents and guests.

We apologise for the inconvenience due to our lobby renovation. When completed in eary August, the modern and luxurious new lobby will provide the ultimate comfort for our residents and guests.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Michael Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Melia Hanoi
Melia Hanoi
#67 of 588 in Hanoi
1,802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
Hanoi Tirant Hotel
#75 of 588 in Hanoi
1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Somerset West Lake
Somerset West Lake
#186 of 588 in Hanoi
116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#94 of 588 in Hanoi
2,159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boss Legend Hotel
Boss Legend Hotel
#98 of 588 in Hanoi
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Grand Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Grand Hanoi

Property: Somerset Grand Hanoi
Address: 49 Hai Ba Trung St, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#28 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#35 Business Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Grand Hanoi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Somerset Grand Hanoi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Grand Hanoi Hotel Hanoi
Somerset Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing