We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Somerset Grand Hanoi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Hanoi(Hanoi)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
414
298
71
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
298
71
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinebedroom apartmenttennis courtsfull kitchensupermarket downstairssmall supermarketgreat apartmentthe ground floordining tableold quarterliving areafamily stayhoa lo prisonmini martswimming poolquan an ngonlong stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The location was ideal as it was not too close to the hustle and bustle of the Old Quarter (just a 10 to 15-minute stroll there). We also frequented the supermarket to fix our craving for juices, cereal and ice-cream!

We were given a free upgrade to a two-bedroom service apartment on the 23rd floor! The view was great. The apartment was also very clean, modern and spacious. Free-wifi was reliable. We were also very pleased with the room-service.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. When there was a mismatch between the cost we were quoted for the airport transfer and the actual cost, they were patient and checked our confirmation email. They were also quick to get back to us that we would be paying the cost which we were promised. As we had to leave the hotel at 5.30am for our flight home, they arranged for breakfast to be delivered to our room the night before.

It was definitely value for money, and we had a peace of mind throughout our stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi. We'll definitely opt to stay in an apartment/hotel of Ascott in our future vacations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MavisMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared with the team at Somerset Grand Hanoi. Your
feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant
experience. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very reasonable price (less than u$ 150 a night) including wifi and breakfast. Reconstruction of breakfast area is on the way, i.e outside in a tent with a lot of noise from the airco, street and construction workers. Breakfast ok, not special.

Living room is big, bedroom reasonable, kitchen and for me too small bathroom. Old windows/shutters allow a lot of noise and Hanoi street polluted air to enter. Keep curtains closed and airco on.

Front desk staff was on the sunday we arrived and day we checked out real bureaucrats. Took 30 minutes each time!

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. We welcome suggestions such as yours as they indicate the areas where we can further improve.

I have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements to the state of the window and the checking-in and checking out procedures that requires improvement. Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. We seek your patience and understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to provide excellent service and products to our residents.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Yours sincerely
Andrew Mah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have visited the Somerset several times in the past decade. The prices were too high for my budget. This year there were some seasonal promotions that I was able to afford. I stayed in the hotel twice over a three week period, each time for over a week. We were lucky enough to get a two bedroom apartment. Breakfast is on the fourth floor at the famous Jaspas.

The staff is very helpful, any time I had a problem with something in the apartment someone came right away to help us solve it.

Staff is unfailingly courteous. I would not count on them for tourist info or tips on places to go.

There is a swimming pool and a gym on the fourth floor. It was too windy to go into the unheated pool during our November stay.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. My mantra is and has been value for money.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably quieter
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lactmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you for choosing Somerset Grand Hanoi as your accommodation during your holiday in Hanoi. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here three times now over a period of two years, each time for 3 or 4 days. The apartments are excellent value by international standards but would only rate as 'good' by Hanoi standards as the city is generally quite a cheap place to be.
I've always stayed in the apartments and on the last couple of trips, despite travelling alone have been allocated a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment which give me frankly more sleeping and washing options than I need. The furnishings aren't 5 star but they're very good. This would be ideal for a couple or family staying here for some time. Apartments have full kitchen (including washing machine) off the living room which again is separate from the bedrooms
Highly recommended and I'll be staying here again if and when I return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solar_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your excellent review of Somerset Grand Hanoi.

We are very pleased that had an enjoyable stay with us. Being centrally located in the city center, all major attractions and eateries are within walking distance from our property.

Our spacious apartments are indeed great value for money as we have recently completed extensive refurbisbment of our apartments to provide the comforts of a modern home for our guests.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future

Best regards,
Andrew Mah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The building is quite centrally located and it's easy to walk to the Old Quarter from here. We were traveling with 2 kids and got a room with 2 bedrooms and a living area. The rooms were very good and the view from the 23rd floor was great. The wifi worked supefast and the laundry included was a bonus as it saved us from the typical hotel laundry costs. The breakfast, however, was very poor and after the first day, we barely had anything there except coffee and toast, which is a shame considering that the experience otherwise was good. Would recommend if you're traveling with kids and don't have any expectations on breakfast. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qtraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somersetsby, General Manager at Somerset Grand Hanoi, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for taking time to send in your generous feedback.

We are very pleased to note that your family and you had enjoyed your stay at Somerset Grand Hanoi serviced residence. Our property has recently completed an entensive upgrading to enhance the stay experience of our residents and guests.

However, we have also taken note of your unhappiness over the breakfast served. We offer an extensive breakfast buffet that consist varieties of Asian and Western dishes. Therefore, would appreciate if you could contact me at andrew.mah@the-ascott.com or telephone +84 4 3934 2342 extension 6238 so that we can understand why you were only served with coffee and toast for your breakfast.

Thank you for your feedback again and we certainly look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Hanoi.

Best regards,

Andrew Mah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews