We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, spacious and friendly”
Review of Viet Fun Hotel

Viet Fun Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viet Fun Hotel
Ranked #381 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 8 February 2013

very nice room. did not expect anything that nice for the price. friendly stuff even though we had troubles with the tour we have booked at the hotel. would recommend it definitely! nice food place right across the street with decent prices and really good western food

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traum r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Had a bad experience booking a ticket trough Viet Fun Hotel- they charge their service with 200.000 VND what is around 10 USD (for a ticket of 17 USD I finally paid 28 USD!!!) The price on the train ticket was covered with an other paper. When I realized it I went back to the hotel to ask some of the money back, the person at the desk reacted quite aggressively and refused.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa_Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and would recommend it. We found it after being appalled the hanoi backpackers charged $10 a bed...then we found this a couple of doors along for $10 a room. We were on the third door in a fairly spacious room with large shuttered windows.

The bathroom was clean and had hot water - even a bath.

Wifi worked well - one evening it was playing up and the guy tried to fix it. 3 computers in the lobby downstairs aswell.

We booked multiple tours and bus tickets via reception finding them the cheapest price in the street. They say they charge cost price and add $1 commission - sounds good to me. This included bus and train aswell as a halong bay trip and airport pick up.

Handy atm in the reception lobby too.

Heading back for another night when we get back to Hanoi after our trip to Sapa!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel was a big disappointment. We booked on agoda and later discovered that the price was more that double the price for all the similar hotels in the same alley. AND they charged us double that because we were 2 people making it 4 times more expensive than all the other similar hotels there. The booking also included breakfast but when we got there they said they don't serve breakfast. The hotel was dirty and run-down, totally not worth the price. You'll be much better off just walking into another hotel on the same street and getting a room (that's what we did for the rest of our nights in Hanoi, got a much better hotel for much less money).

Room Tip: From what I understood lower floors have better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Viet-Fun hotel. The staff was warm and extremely helpful as unlike most guests I was there for work. They even fixed my tv in the middle of the night as I was trying to watch the Eurocup semifinals! They offer several rooms styles/sizes/prices ranging from the sober guest house to the charming hotel feel (with balconies and bathtubs). All are impeccably clean and equipped with all necessary comforts. The breakfast is simple yet healthy and nutritious. It is run by a very nice family and the location is excellent just a block away from the Cathedral.. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThiBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My partner and I stayed here for a few nights and over our 4 month trip this was by far the friendliest service we have had. They looked after us so well, including giving us a free nights accommodation when our tour was booked out. This hotel is perfect for backpackers and I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Very pleased with the prices, location, and helpful staff at this budget hotel. Would recommend it to any backpacker looking for an alternative to the hostel scene. Singles are $10 and the location makes VFH an excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burrston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.7 mi away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#100 of 606 in Hanoi
2,396 reviews
2.3 mi away
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Serene Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viet Fun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viet Fun Hotel

Address: 38 Ngo Huyen Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £14 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing