We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's called Hanoi City Hostel now”
Review of Duc Thai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc Thai Hotel
Ranked #282 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's called Hanoi City Hostel now”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here twice when it was known as Duc Thai, now renamed as Hanoi City Hostel.
Same owner who stays in the hostel.
Very good value, 15USD per night for twin room. Stayed for 7 nights (3rd time)

Dragon and Hien were very helpful and friendly.
One computer for free Internet, free wifi in room.
Duong will cooked the eggs the way you prefer, served with bread, butter/jam/cheese, lime juice and/ or coffee/tea (always with a smile)

Location is good. It's easy walk to Duan Xuan and the night market (Fri - Sun), plenty of street food, cafe and restaurants nearby.

The staff book tours, bus and train ticket for guests as well as non-guest. Advise on places to eat, massage, etc.
Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yap Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    64
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
59
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I got off the bus from Laos and was over run by the cab drivers, luckily the owner of Duc Thai saved me from the rush. She paid for the cab to her place and didn't pressure me to stay. The rest of the staff was nice too, and they gave advice on where to get food. The price was reasonable, on par with what two people would spend for a hostel.

Laundry service was quick and all of it came back clean.

Also their travel agency gave me a cheep price when I had to get my visa renewed.

Room Tip: Don't take the top room, it is a bit noisy. Every other room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed two nights in this very nice hotel which situated in exciting area. The room is not very big but clean, cozy and tastefully decora. The breakfast: fresh bread from the baker street is delicious and roll cake which is traditional cuisine in Vietnam which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sochetjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Poor and unfriendly reception, i was an assistant front office manager and trust me, the hotel receptionist would be fired if he was working with me! Can't walk out cause the room was prebooked and we have eave as soon as we can .
Bathroom wasn't dirty but look cleaned like with backpacker style! was awful and DON'T prebook the breakfast .

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhouliannhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ushuaia, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2011

My girlfriend and I decided to go to Halong Bay for one night. We left our luggage with the hotel, just as I have done many times in my life. Just before leaving, I put my iphone in my bag. I arrived the next day, and sure enough, the iphone had disappeared. I usually hate blaming other people in these situations, but I am positive it was taken by someone on the staff. The lone bright spot of this hotel was that one of the bellboys seemed to feel really about about my phone, and offered to help find me a new one in Hanoi.

If you are looking for a shower with lots of warm water, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meloncararo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed in the hotel during Christmas and New Year Holiday and we were surprise with a little new year party in the midnight of the 31th Dec 2010. The staff there are very friendly and helpful, and also the tours were organized perfectly. Size of rooms are big enough for 3 people and very clean. The only downfall is the water pressure is too low to take shower sometimes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokling_then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Conviniently located, our room was comfortable and roomy. All the staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpfull. We stayed for sixteen nights and felt like being at home. I will always stay in the Duc Thai when visiting Hanoi. can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrijuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#108 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.1 mi away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#3 of 581 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.3 mi away
O'Gallery Premier Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Thai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Thai Hotel

Property: Duc Thai Hotel
Address: 95B Hang Ga str, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duc Thai Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Hanoi, Hanoi City Hostel is surrounded by stylish shops, restaurants and cafes, and is just a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake,Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Temple of Literature, night market,a beautiful architect the Opera House, and a fascinating slice of centuries-old life in Hanoi, the Old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Duc Thai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing