We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Duc Thai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc Thai Hotel
Ranked #280 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 21 January 2009

I stayed at Duc Thai in Hanoi during my holiday in November 2008. The hotel is very conveniently located within the city centre, affordable, rooms clean and good size, what you see on the pictures is what you get. Staff speak very good english and all are very friendly and helpfull, especially the manager: Tom who goes extra mile to help you... he even organised an itinerary for the rest of our trip in Vietnam. Definetely a place worth recommending, and coming back to!
Greg, London, UK

  • Liked — location, good price
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gregs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    64
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
59
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

I chose the Duc Thai from Trip Advisor reviews and must say there was a lot of good feedback on Hanoi accom. What impressed me was the feedback on Tom the manager and his no hard sell, along with v good feedback on trips that were organised through hotel, also how they had gone out of their way with other travellers to accomodate or provide meals etc.
The hotel is narrow like many in Hanoi but my first impression was on my arrival via airport cab Tuan (i hope thats how you spell it) bounced across the road to help me with my luggage. He has this great friendly smile and was always very helpful. I became very addicted to Vietnamese sweetened coffee while in Vietnam and one afternoon mentioned how i would love one and he immediately organised one on the house. Small gesture but this was indicative of their willingness to assist and it really makes a difference this sort of service on travels.
The room was on the front 4th floor and first night noticed traffic noise but after that i think i just did not notice. I stayed 5 nights and did the Halong Bay trip arranged with no sell at all from Tom or staff in fact i asked them after a couple of days. I appreciated that after travelling for the previous 2 weeks. The Dolphin is great jusnk etc but Halong Bay itself is another story. Briefly it is overridden by tourists and junks. I counted 50 ... and this is during winter. Back to hotel .. Yes, it is like the pictures on hotel web page - good for me large room, big open window heavily curtained to block out daylight if needed. Bathroom was great, modern enough i think renovated with good hot water pressure. Location was good .. limited cafes close compared to some parts of old quarter but then i may have missed them ... i did get lost a bit ... Tom is a trendy young manager, computer savvy, great internet and screen with printer yeeha and i found all his suggestions and all the staff advice very honest ... including where to get money changed what cabs to use .... The lift is stunning like a 5 star hotel lift. I am veggo so breakfast was a meat eaters heaven but plenty of coffee and when the fruit ran out and i asked if anymore he disappeared and came back from the shop with bananas no trouble at all .. i know they would have organised non meat if i wanted it but not a big breakfast eater ... they did have pumpkin soup every second morning ... nothing would have been a prolem to organise. Just ask if you need.
Thanks Tom, Tuan and Peter and all staff for a great stay and all the little things keep it up even when you are No. 1.

  • Liked — The staff and manager, the lift, the shower
  • Disliked — dining area small,
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank saggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

We stayed in the duc thai hotel at the beginning of december, we had an absolutely lovely time. The rooms actually look like what they do on duc thai website which is very unusual for the hotels we stayed at, throughout our travels.The beds were comfortable our deluxe room was very large and the wooden floor boards and furniture were a nice touch.The staff were friendly and attentive when ever we had any concerns or needed anything extra they served us happily and promptly. One evening before leaving for our sapa tour at 2115 i injured my hand and we ran out of time to get our dinner so the staff let us sit with them and shared their dinner with us. This was so kind of them and very helpful to us. We booked both halong and sapa through duc thai and they were great, the best thing about them is if you have any problems they will fix it them they will not ignore your complaints ever they always try to fix them! We would absolutely stay here again it was a friendly, quiet haven from the hustle and bustle of Hanoi.

  • Liked — The staff and the lovely clean rooms
  • Disliked — nothing no complaints
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank marie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

We have selected Duc Thai Hotel through last minute offer looking for short term stay in Hanoi and not having any big expectations towards the standard. Therefore our surprise was even bigger when we found out very good room conditions, professional and helpful staff and - morover - friendly owner Tom ;)

Starting from short stay plan we have extended our "involvement" with Duc Thai to full 3 weeks across-Vietnam trip with full service - staring from planning and discussing places to visit, through ordering all possible tickets and making hotel reservations to bying special tours in selected places. The trip was fantastic and - believe or not - we have succeeded in all the plans )sometimes still asking ourselves how it was possible...). It was great comfort to have Tom on the line whenever something was necessary and small issues arised. Duc Thai proved to be reliable, highly customer oriented, well organized and professional partner for Vietnam trip and Hanoi stay. Morover we have met there great, friendly and opened people who were committed to deliver according to promise.

We wish Duc Thai all the best in their business and rich guests ;)

Mikel and Maria from Poland

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cylowieknikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Was there in Dec 08. I had 2 rooms and were very happy with both rooms. Rooms were clean and spacious - really value for money. Service was excellent and Tom was a great help. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank G2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

Seeing so many positive reviews on Trip Advisor, I emailed Tom directly and he promptly replied. I was impressed with his tone and the information he provided and we booked for December. Before arriving I had to change dates several times. They were very accomodating. Tom arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and were warmly welcomed. The room was cleaner than any 4-5 star hotel I've stayed at. The staff, as other reviews noted, are truly outstanding: friendly, helpful, and solving any problem presented! A pleasant breakfast was included and was a time to learn from fellow travelers. The staff of the Duc Thai made our time in Hanoi a wonderful experience. And we were able to walk to many destinations.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuckOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2009

The rooms were spacious and clean and the breakfast was plentiful, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Also the hotel is conveniently located in old hanoi, about a five min. walk to the Hoan Kiem Lake.

But what impressed us was the advice and help that Tom, the manager, gave us in planning our 6 weeks in Vietnam & Laos. We had booked 5 nights at the Duc Thai but upon arrival Tom suggested we use one of those nights as part of a visit to Halong Bay even though that would cost him one night's tariff. He arranged day tours to the Perfume Pagoda and Tam Coc and a 2 night stay & tour on Sapa as well. All of these exceeded our expectations; in comparison to tours we booked in other cities, the ones we booked through him were far superior. As well, Tom had arranged for our visas at the airport, and arranged for our hotels in Hue, Hoi An, Buon Ma Thot, and Dalat. He also booked our flights and trains(getting us a refund on an overnight train to Hue when we decided to fly instead). Everything, airport pick-ups, hotel registrations etc. went smoothly. He and his staff were obviously out to make our stay in Vietnam as hassle free and enjoyable a possible.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lorwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Quoc Hoa Premier Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#49 of 588 in Hanoi
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#23 of 371 in Hanoi
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Thai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Thai Hotel

Property: Duc Thai Hotel
Address: 95B Hang Ga str, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duc Thai Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Hanoi, Hanoi City Hostel is surrounded by stylish shops, restaurants and cafes, and is just a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake,Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Temple of Literature, night market,a beautiful architect the Opera House, and a fascinating slice of centuries-old life in Hanoi, the Old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Thai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing