We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service from very friendly Hotel Staff”
Review of Duc Thai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duc Thai Hotel
Ranked #280 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service from very friendly Hotel Staff”
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We arrived late after a delayed flight to be met at the airport by the car from the Hotel as arranged although we were almost 3 hours late. The manager Tom met us at the Hotel, and checked us in and quickly gave us a map and showed us where we were in relation to all the sights in Hanoi and suggested a suitable walking tour. This was the type of first class service we got all through our stay. We had booked a 2 night trip to Halong bay through an agency but again they had no problem holding our bags until our return. After travelling for almost 4 weeks in Vietnam and staying in different quality accomodation what stands out about the Duc Thai Hotel is the friendliness of the staff and there genuine willingness to do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    64
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
59
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Booked our stay, airport transfers and a tour to Halong Bay 2 nights 3 days with Tom over the internet from Australia confirming dates and prices. Tom replied promptly to our emails.Driver was at the airport, nice greeting at hotel after checking into our room Tom inquired what we would like to do in Hanoi then got us a town map showed us where to go.Our tour went of with out a hitch.Prices remained as per email quotes.Nice people would stay there again.
Syd Maree
Mackay
Australia

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The Duc Thai was a great spot for us to stay for 4 days after a week in Laos. We booked on the internet following a reviw of past travellers on trip advisor. Tom and his staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them in regards to where to eat, where best to shop and advice on local tours. The breakfast was more than adequate for us, laundry service was available at a very good price, the internet was free and being in the old quarter everything was close by. Would recommend the Duc Thai as a great place to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
world
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Good hotel with nice staff and location in the heart of Hanoi.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enregister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
korea
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Duc Thai Hotel located very close to downtown.
Room are very clean and a snug.
Staff also kind (name Tim) and Tom (he is hotel manager ).
Hi Tom. Are you still there. I am missing you,

Everbody booking Duc Thai Hotel and meet Tom.
He is very handsome (hahahaha)
Bye Tom from Korea.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoreaChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed only stayed at Duc Thai for the first two nights of our trip but would have happily stayed longer. The staff were brilliant, helping with flight and train bookings, transfers, and other hotels along the way which was great. We got back on a night train from Sapa at 4.30am and they opened the hotel up for us and gave us a room for a shower and got our luggage out of storage (which had been there for a few days) - for no extra charge, which was a godsend!
However, I would recommend staying in a back room, the streets of Hanoi are noisy, but apart from that would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews. Was not disappointed.

- Ease. About two weeks before our stay, we contacted the hotel by email to inquire about rooms, airport transportation, and asssitance booking local tours. The hotel gladly arranged not only our room, but airport pick-up and drop-off, and a 2-day trip to Halong Bay. Was nice having a sole local contact to arrange everything during our first trip to Vietnam. No disappointments what so ever; however, just remember that hotels normally will charge a bit more for tours to Halong Bay (service charge) than say a tour operator on the street. However, the convience and piece of mind were worth the extra few dollars. Bonus - the hotel allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel during our excursion to Halong Bay without any additional charges.

Remember to ask about one free taxi airport drop-off or pick-up with a 3+ nights stay.

-Location. Within two blocks of the night market, and a 15 minute walk of Lake Hoan Kiem.

-Price. $25/night. Bed slept two people comfortably.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_D_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Quoc Hoa Premier Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Golden Palace Hotel
Golden Palace Hotel
#49 of 588 in Hanoi
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#23 of 371 in Hanoi
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duc Thai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duc Thai Hotel

Property: Duc Thai Hotel
Address: 95B Hang Ga str, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 588 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Duc Thai Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the very heart of Hanoi, Hanoi City Hostel is surrounded by stylish shops, restaurants and cafes, and is just a short walk to the famous Hoan Kiem Lake,Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum, Temple of Literature, night market,a beautiful architect the Opera House, and a fascinating slice of centuries-old life in Hanoi, the Old Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duc Thai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing