We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoddy room, incompetent staff. Look elsewhere”
Review of The Tourist Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tourist Hotel
Ranked #423 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were in Hanoi for over a month, we stayed in four different budget hotels, and had generally good experiences in all of them, except this one. The internet connection stopped working after the first day, and when I asked staff about it, the reply was "sometimes the internet doesn't work." From our experience, "sometimes" turned out to be "most of the time." Luckily, after eating at a nearby hotel, we were able to obtain the password for the neighboring wifi and that worked perfectly for the remainder of our stay.

Our booking terms also became an uncomfortable matter. We had agreed at check-in to a certain daily price, only to be randomly informed six days later (a few days prior to check out), that our price will include a ten percent tax, seven percent service fee, and three percent credit card transaction fee. Originally we had planned to just book on Agoda, where the total for taxes and fees would be fifteen percent, not twenty, but upon check-in the receptionist had discouraged us from booking online. A five percent difference isn't much, but if you're staying long term it can add up. Additionally, it seemed deceptive to do that.

Two days prior to check out, we had informed staff that we'd like to book a taxi to the airport at 0730 on the morning we were leaving. We made sure to remind them once again the night before our check out. We had breakfast at 0700 (which staff was very reluctant to serve to us, even though we had originally agreed that breakfast was included in our fee), to find at 730 that there was no taxi. The staff in the morning was different from the staff in the evening, and nobody had called for a taxi. A common experience with the hotel management here was that the left hand didn't know what the right hand was doing.

On a positive note, the location was good, and the value was okay (but not when you consider that several of their listed amenities were not available). We were better off paying two dollars more a night at the three other hotels in Hanoi we had stayed at before, where we didn't have to deal with these annoyances.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 501. There are pieces of plaster falling off the ceiling, there is no wifi, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanh D, Owner at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thanks you very much for your feedbackto our hotel.However,It í not allways true for all what you said in some situations.
Firstly,about the room charge,We abosulutedly calculate for you the same price as on Agoda.The price has showed on agoda not including ten percent goverment tax and five percent service charge.Actually,you have to pay more 15% for final price on Agoda (VaT and service charge).We also keep the same price.You and your friend understood and accepted to this price with sastification.
Especially,When you came to our hotel the first day.We showed the room 501 and you also are sastified and stayed here 11 nights.
Infact,We are respecting you and try to fullfill our service for the best.However you and your friend wrote two times on trip advisor.I think that It is not fair to us.
In addition,You stayed in our hotel in storm weather.That the reason why water damage and chunks of plaster falling of thet walls.We had fixed the walls already after the weather was better.
Overall,We allways improve and change about the quality of rooms and service as well as offer best price for all customers.We are expecting more customer's feedback which helps us to fullfill our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Booked three nights here via booking.com very basic hotel, but in a really good location.

Service was okay they were keen on selling us tours, we did end up booking our halong bay tour with them and that turned out great and at a good price, but still slightly pushy but from what I gather this is pretty common in a lot of places in Vietnam.

There were a few things that were a bit odd, cleaning equipment such as mops were left in the stairwell and we were told that 2/4 of the options on the breakfast menu were not available because "it's raining", it was the third day if rain in a row and they had been available everyday prior to this.

The air con did get noisy on one of the nights however this was not an issue any other nights.

We did tell them about these thing on checkout and they said they would do something about all of it

We booked another night for when we returned from our trip.

The hotel also organised our airport pick up and stored our luggage while we were on a tour.

I would stay here again, yes it's basic but it's location and price is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mai-tai4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 5 nights during a recent trip. The rooms are very spacious, but in need of repair & upgrading. The air conditioning units work well but are very noisy & occasionally sprayed water into the room. One of the rooms we stayed in has extensive black mould on the wall near to the air-conditioning unit. The bathrooms were clean, but in need of upgrading. The first room we stayed in had a balcony, but the doors would not close, so we were affected by traffic noise from the street below. Some of the electrical sockets leave a lot to be desired in terms of safety & require immediate attention. The Staff were generally friendly & helpful & did their best to sort out any problems. As we were travelling throughout Vietnam, we booked in & out of this hotel 3 times & the staff did their best to ensure that a room was available on our return.

The breakfast menu is okay but very limited.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the 'Old Quarter' which has a vibrant feel especially at night with the Street Bars within 50 metres.

I would recommend this hotel based on it's location & value for money.

Room Tip: Of the rooms we stayed in, I would recommend room 302 in terms of space & cleanliness. Try to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

It's a very old hotel with old rooms and they are not maintaining.
Some persons of the staff don't speak english and don't make any effort to understand.
The electricity is not maintaining and very dangerous!!!!
The staff wake up us in the night to take a mattress under our bed.
Horrible hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascal94300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanh D, Owner at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for your support to our Hanoi Marriotte Hotel. Being a mini hotel group in Old Quarter of Hanoi, we always try our best to bring you good service once you visit us. And, we have been always pursuing our outlined commitment.
Firstly, We would like to sincerely apologize for your inconvenience in our hotel. About our room, we furnish all rooms with asian traditional style, you can imagine that you stay in the ancient period with full equipments (A/C, TV, refrigerotor...). After recieving your review, we have check all facilities, electricity equipments inside rooms for maintaining and upgrading quality.
Secondly, about our staff, there are two of all being able to speak English a litter bit. Now we are providing trainning program in order to upgrade the service. It was a misunderstanding as you saw them not to try to understand. Because our young team of staffs are always eager to please guests.
For all readers, We would like to say that our hotel encourage you to complain your trouble while you are here so we can make appropriate actions to help you timely!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked at booking.com and cost only AUD$20 for 2 nights and 2 persons. the room interior is very classy. but the aircon got problem, there was dirt or dust falling on our head at night. Overall, the staffs are very helpful and friendly they help us in choosing which tours to take. and the shops just walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brisbaneadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanh D, Owner at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Readers,
We would like to say thank you very much for your support to our Hanoi Marriotte hotels. We highly appriciate your review about Hanoi Marriotte Hotel. Your comment encourage our staff to work better and better!
We did checked all rooms and facilities with the aim of maintaining and upgrading our service. Hope to bring you good service once you come to Hanoi Marriotte Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Upon arrival, we were bombarded with questions about plans, when we told them that we like to explore for ourselves, we were met with a cold reception, curiously, for the duration of our stay. We were told we were 'upgraded' which was great, however later that day were told if someone else books the upgraded room, that we would have to move rooms, which defeats the object of an upgrade really. Air con leaky and faulty. Walls damp and smelly. Bathroom dirty & smelly Very noisy as balcony door didn't actually close. Full days power cut, were told to "go for a walk" during thunderstorms (ridiculous) Female staff very disinterested - one in particular only smiles when trying to sell you something. No sense of customer service whatsoever. Avoid this 'hotel'.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darburnett1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khanh D, Owner at The Tourist Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review for Hanoi Marriotte Hotel. Being a mini hotel in Old Quarter of Hanoi, we always try our best to bring our customer good service. And, we have been always pursuing our outlined commitment.
Firstly, about the staff, we have a young team with enthusiasm for serving guests. There may exit misunderstanding here. Anyway, We really sorry about your feeling of staff's attitude. Mini hotel like us can not control electricity supplied, it is managed by local electricity company. When power was cut off, it is hotter inside the hotel so the girl recommend you to go out for better condition.
Secondly, about our room and facilities, there were some problem like damp walls... mainly affected by thunderstorm. Absolutely, We would like to appologize for your inconvinience. We always look forward to hearing all complaints from you during your stay so we can support you prior to your check-out. There was a guy get trouble with his room and we were willing to bring up a fan and discount his room price.
As some reviews you can see in Tripadvisor, rooms with bacony are a litter bit noisy because the old strest is crowded. Someone likes that but others not. We recommend the room toward the back for one who like quiet room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Before leaving Vietnam, I stayed 4 nights in this hotel in Hanoi. Located in the centre of old town everything you need is within walking distance. The stuff is young and really motivated to help you with all your problems. The rooms are really big with aircon, in mine was also a fridge and a TV. More than I needed. And all that you get for a really fair price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gappi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
4.9 mi away
Hanoi Asia Guest House
Hanoi Asia Guest House
#220 of 607 in Hanoi
216 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
Hanoi Hibiscus Hotel
#208 of 607 in Hanoi
429 reviews
5.2 mi away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#196 of 607 in Hanoi
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#297 of 607 in Hanoi
195 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
Hoan Kiem Lake Hotel
#307 of 607 in Hanoi
64 reviews
5 mi away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#154 of 607 in Hanoi
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tourist Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tourist Hotel

Address: 49 Luong Ngoc Quyen | Hang Buom, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#126 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £10 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tourist Hotel, a new beautiful Oriental downtown hotel in Hanoi, blends oriental luxury accommodations with intuitive service. Discover the many fun touches setting us far, far apart from the other boutique hotels in the Old Quarter neighborhood of Hanoi. At the ideally location, nestled between the 36 Hanoi Old Street and the center of Hanoi Tourist attraction, the Marriotte hotel offers guests a true city experience without the hassle. Our guests can enjoy most of famous attractions just close by the hotel, such as: Hoan Kiem Lake (2 minute-walking); discover the Opera House, Water Puppet Theater, Ho Chi Minh Memorial Complex, the War Museum, and Temple of Literature; look for bargains at the Dong Xuan Market and experience shopping in the bustling atmosphere of the Old Quarter or spending the afternoon strolling along the shores of nearby lakes.The tourist hotel is Hanoi Old Quarter's luxury boutique hotel featuring 16 uniquely lavish designed with oriental stylish. Located in the heart of the Old Quarter, being close to all famous attractions and near to all travel hot spots, the tourist Hotel provides all the comforts of home whether you're traveling for business, for pleasure, or for both. The tourist offers guests a true outlet to relieve the stresses of life.Just let our engaging staff know what you'd like to do or see, eat or drink, what you need in your room for work or play, or how you'd like to spend your time in Hanoi-----, and we'll handle the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Tourist Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing