We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms - not a great location....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #166 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Goa, India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice rooms - not a great location....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

The rooms at the Anise are nice, clean and comfortable. However, make sure you have rooms towards the rear of the hotel as it could become quite irritating with all the traffic and noise which starts quite early in the morning. Breakfast is quite good too. Overall value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesRoy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear valued guest,
On behalf Anise Hotel Management and Staffs, I would like to thank you so much for choosing us during your leisure trip in Hanoi, your kindly comment on Tripadvisor is highly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel Hanoi in the near future.

With my warm regards,

Phan Luong/Ms
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    219
    90
    9
    10
See reviews for
53
261
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Good city hotel in excellent location by the Old Quarter. Rooms well equipped with toiletries, free bottled water, razor, toothbrushes etc and well servied and clean. Free Wifi in all rooms. Restaurant on top floor with panormic views of city serving very good meals with good service and reasonably priced. Staff worked hard to please their guests. Outside extremely busy during the day and evening but very quiet at night. Location within walking distance of Municipal Water Puppet Theatre and mant restaurants, shops, stalls etc.Care needed when crossing roads due to volume of motorcyles, cars etc. Hotel well served by taxis, cyclos and buses.

Room Tip: Noisiest rooms on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spidersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi, we wish to thank you for choosing us and spending your valuable time for sharing your experience onto the Trip Advisor. We delighted to know that the hotel and its services was up to your expectation. Your positive words have been shared with the hotel staff team. We look foreward to welcoming you back soon.

With our best regards,

Luong Thi Phan/Ms
on behalf of Anise Hotel Management & Staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We've now stayed here three times, albeit twice in the same holiday. On our first visit a couple of years ago we loved it, second visit, we thought that some things are needing a bit of attention to detail - neither of the clocks in the two rooms we stayed seem to work, curtains pulling away from their poles etc, simple things that are easy to fix. On our third visit, the Anise proved why we go back. I arrived feeling ill and OH went up to the restaurant to ask if they had any yoghurt. They came down 5 minutes later with yoghurt, a glass of milk and two bread rolls to help me feel better - which they did. Wouldn't hear of charging us even though we mentioned it when checking out. That and being upgraded to window rooms both times - great service.

Room Tip: Rooms lower down on the street can be quite noisy. 8th & 9th floor are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
It's always our pleasure to welcome you at Anise Hotel Hanoi. I would like to thank you for choosing us and also thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com. We wish to welcome you back soon with a special offer to celibrate your fourth visit at Anise Hotel Hanoi.
With my Best Regards

Phan Luong/Ms
on behalf of
Anise Hotel Hanoi Management and Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Staff were reasonably helpful but tended to laugh at us when we shared our ideas with them about where we wanted to go. They then would suggest a really overpriced tour to do instead of our plan and wouldn't really give you any other options. Rooms were fine but there shower design means every time u have shower the whole bathroom gets flooded.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Sir,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Anise Hotel & sharing your ideas at Tripadvisor.com. Our management is always paying high attention to the experiences of our guests in order to supply the best service. Please accept my sincere apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We have sent your feedback to the departments in question and corrective action will be taken immediatly. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comment as this feedback helps us determine areas of improvement
We wish to welcome you again at Anise Hotel Hanoi.

With myBest Regards,

Luong Thi Phan
on behalf of Anise Hotel management and staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here while in Hanoi on the outskirts of the old Quarter watching the locals exercising in the park in the morning was great.The staf were friendly helpful and always greeted us with a smile great little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
We would like to thank you both for your preference and sharing your experience related to our hotel, services and staff. We care all the comments received from our guests in order to supply the best service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With our best regards,

Luong Thi Phan/Ms
On behalf of Anise Hotel Management and Staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We started our too brief (15 days) tour of Vietnam by spending 4 nights in Hanoi based at the Anise Hotel. The hotel graciously let us to check in upon our morning arrival from N. America, which permitted us to recover a bit and then go out to explore the very nearby Old Quarter. We chose to stay in a "superior double" room in order to have windows, and while the hotel fronts on a moderately busy street and a park, the traffic noise was not bothersome. The early morning exercise broadcasts from the park awakened us instead at around 7.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, and supplied with terry cloth bathrobes and a hair dryer. Complimentary disposable slippers were also supplied in the room, and they were very welcome after walking so much through the city--we were able to explore many of the city's main attractions on foot from the hotel's location.

The hotel served excellent breakfast choices, including some of the best French-style bread and pastries that we found in our time in Viet Nam. Overall, this was a very pleasant place to stay, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Sir,
Warmly greeting from Hanoi, Vietnam!
Thank you both for choosing Anise Hotel and taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. We highly appreciate and consider your comments. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to get in touch with us if you need any further information related Hanoi and our Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With our best regards,

Phan Luong/Ms
On behalf of Anise Hotel Hanoi management and staffs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2011.

The rooms were a good size and clean, however the bathroom flooded when the shower was used. Our room was at the back of the hotel so reasonably quiet. There was free wifi (however this seems to be standard across Vietnam and was available in every hotel we stayed at). There is only one lift located in the centre of the hotel. It was very slow, small and often full. The restaurant is on the 11th floor so was quite a long walk up the stairs in a morning. The breakfast itself was average. There is a small bar in the basement, however it seemed reasonably expensive compared to other bars we visited in the city and the service was very very slow.

The location is good, about a 10 min walk from the old quarter (with quite a few roads to cross on the way though!) The staff were relatively helpful in arranging taxis etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmly greeting from Anise Hotel Hanoi!
I would like to thank you both for your preference and sharing your experience related to our hotel, services and staff. We care all the comments received from our guests in order to supply the best service and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to Anise Hotel in the near future.

With my best regards,

Phan Luong/Ms
On behalf of Anise Hotel management and staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
0.7 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#45 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalcedony Hotel
Chalcedony Hotel
#144 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#152 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
#200 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#228 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing