We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #173 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast. I can't really get excited about the Anise although it is in a great location for all the attractions and it was better than my first impressions from the street.
Another positive is the noise in the room; given the location it is remarkably quiet.
If you have a drink in the ground floor bar be sure to ask for change when paying your tab! The bar man I had played a game of hide and seek when I was waiting for my $6 change from a two drink order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Anise Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a deluxe room at the Anise on our recent tour of Vietnam.

The room was very clean and compared to western standards was massive with a king size bed as well as a day bed! The bathroom had a modern shower and again was very roomy.

The breakfast was good although the boast about the great views from the 11th floor restaurant were perhaps a bit over egged.yes you could see a long way, was it lovely no not really!

The hotel's position was great to explore the markets as well as being within walking distance to the puppet show and lake.

All in all a great budget hotel perfect for a couple of nights whilst exploring the old city of Hanoi.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazseptember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

small hotel good for short stay. We had a junior Suite room which was spacious and well equped on the 10th floor. Despite being on a high floor the noise from the square was audible in the morning ( loud speaker anouncement ) and keep fir enthusiast playing music late evening. Some good eataries around the hotel vacinity. The breakfast on 11th floor was decent and catterd for vegetarians, Staff were excellant and helpful

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebrahim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were booked into this hotel as part of a tour of Vietnam. Our first night at the hotel was rocky, as there was a large group of young people room hopping, banging doors and partying. We had one night away at Halong Bay, then back for another two nights - which I was rather dreading. However, on return we seemed to be upgraded to a much nicer and larger room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is in a great location. Plenty of choices for breakfast make for a good start to the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

the staff are friendly and helpful the rooms are a little cramped the food is good and the bar is a nice place to start the evening. the Hotel is situated opposite a square or Plaza where you can find pleasant guides to help you find your way around town. the square is also a venue for a lot of local events like marshall arts training, dancing and a great playground for families

Room Tip: Always check the room before you sing in to any hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidElkins24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great hotel and helpful staff .. could not do enough to make you feel at home. Good location, walking distance to the night market and not to far from the center of all things, but you still will need a taxi to get around. Breakfast was American and good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Booked in at this hotel at the start of our month long Trailfinder trip and it was fine for a few nights. After a long flight from Heathrow via Singapore we were glad to arrive and get our heads down but it's pretty noisy in Hanoi so don't forget the earplugs, especially as the hotel comes to life at about 6am and the lack of carpets anywhere makes for a raucous start. Apparently our room was a "deluxe" but was fairly basic, but we did at least have a window! The bathroom was spacious but hot water is limited and whenever we used the shower it flooded the floor. The hotel is tall and thin, winding around the lift shaft, with the restaurant on the top which provides a good view across hazy Hanoi and a moderate breakfast. Being veggies the choice is, as often, somewhat limited but you can have a croissant and cheese and they'll cook you an egg any way you like. We ate supper there on our first night and it filled the gap but again had a limited offering for non meat eaters. The one major downside wasthe music....one looped CD of Christmas carols and covers of the theme tunes from Titanic and Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves, played on a soprano sax; amusing at first becoming a kind of torture after a few breakfasts! Staff were friendly and helpful and it's in a great location for exploring the Old Quarter etc. For a short stay with no frills it's fine but after a while the faded mediocrity could become depressing.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BarnacleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
#101 of 597 in Hanoi
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#112 of 597 in Hanoi
270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parkside Sunline Hotel
Parkside Sunline Hotel
#202 of 597 in Hanoi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#362 of 597 in Hanoi
24 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nesta Hanoi Hotel
Nesta Hanoi Hotel
#219 of 597 in Hanoi
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#253 of 597 in Hanoi
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 597 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £25 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing