We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our introduction to Vietnam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #168 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Merstham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our introduction to Vietnam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were a little daunted when we first arrived on the street of the hotel – having come straight from the airport, the hustle and bustle was quite intense. However, once we got inside to the bright and fresh reception area of the Anise Hotel we were made to feel very welcome.

We had a beautiful room at the front of the building on the 8th floor. It was very modern and comfortable and the shower was great.

We had a very enjoyable meal in the rooftop restaurant one evening and there was lots of choice at breakfast; both traditional Vietnamese and a more continental offering.

In terms of location, it is within easy walking distance of the Old Quarter and we were able to navigate ourselves pretty well using the hotel map – just watch out for the bikes, they will go around you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarence_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    219
    90
    9
    10
See reviews for
53
261
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

If this is your first stay in Vietnam don't be put off by the street appearance. As with any good hotel in Vietnam, as soon as you walk in the door all the street noise, heat and grime dissappears. Anise has all you require for your stay in Hanoi. The rooms are clean and comfortable and you can walk to pretty much everywhere. Breakfast is a combination of local and international with an omlette chef which is always a bonus. The bar downstairs does a nice iced coffee which is welcome at the end of a hot day. As is usual for most hotels in Vietnam the beds are too firm and the wifi is a lottery.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. Anise is a lovely hotel. We had a spacious bedroom which had fresh fruit & flowers in on our arrival. Lots of space and a great bathroom too. All staff are lovely & friendly. We tried the restaurant which was reasonably priced for central Hanoi. The area is great and the old quarter is practically on the doorstep.
Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rjw332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Good things: great location (near old quarter), good breakfasts, clean and spacious room.
Less good things: noisy rooms at front of hotel, extremely hard bed.

Overall very good value for money but it's a simple hotel, I would say a decent 3-star.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SabreM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaghra Gozo Malta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights on start of holiday going from North to South Vietnam Nice hotel with good breakfasts.Friendly & helpful staff.Near to Old Quarter Only drawback was the early morning - 5.30 am public service announcements on tannoy in the streets - woke us up every day

Room Tip: Rooms at back would probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterXaghraGozoMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
280 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was a clean ,no frills hotel that is bigger than it looks at street level and is pretty quiet. Rooms at the front are a little noisy, but there is a park that provides a buffer except for the early morning exercise groups. Traffic is constant in Hanoi. Not really suitable for disabled. A small lift. Good breakfast , for the price it is OK if you value saving over the excessive 5 star impersonals. We had groups there and internal noise was a problem on one night. Clean and staff helpful. Having a coffee or a drink at the tavern on the ground floor was good, if a little expensive by Hanoi standards. The hotel has wifi and It is also well placed to the Water Puppets, Maison Central[AKA Hanoi Hilton}the Dong Xuan market and shopping. We used the nearby SF Spa at 7 Cau Go Lane for great massages. WIFI to room, iron and safe provided.

Room Tip: Higher floors better for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel was a fantastic surprise. A very good 4 *hotel which we recommend. Very clean, nicely decorated with a top floor restaurant with great panoramic view and great kitchen. Also the hotel is situated in a quieter and less commercial area, with many local shops around; in front of it is a park where people come in the morning and do Tai Chi. In addition the staff is very polite and friendley.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eturia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
0.7 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#45 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalcedony Hotel
Chalcedony Hotel
#146 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanoi Merci Hotel
Hanoi Merci Hotel
#152 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
Icon 36 Hotel & Residence
#203 of 578 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#226 of 578 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing