We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #164 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The room was laid out with fruit water and flower petals when we arrived. only thing was the shower head was too low down for either of us to have a proper shower! We stayed an extra 2 nights than originally planned and the staff were very friendly and accomodated us even though they were very busy.

Good location, average price, but dont expect much from the breakfast. Everything was cold... no matter if you ate at 7am or 9.30. Poor wifi on the 8th floor but got better when we were moved to the 4th floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristinacork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Kristinacork,

Thank you for your kind comment posted on Tripadvisor with reference to the Anise hotel.

While we strive hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, it is always a delight to receive such positive comment.

I talked to our Chef to keep the food better and I already fixed the wifi connection at any places in our hotel not only in the low floor.

Kristinacork, once again, thank you for truly valuable feedback and I do hope that, as a result, be able to welcome you back to the Anise hotel.

Until the occasion permits,

Kind regards,

Phan Luong,
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    224
    95
    10
    10
See reviews for
56
271
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We are a family with two teenage daughters, stayed here three nights. Don't be put off by exterior. Its clean and cool inside. First night we had a problem with the a/c in our room not getting very cool, but the night staff offered us an alternative room on a different floor to our children. When we declined we were upgraded to a front facing room overlooking the park (with a balcony) The windows were double glazed and we didn't have any problem with noise - in fact we loved watching the ' exercise dancing classes' in the park for the public every evening. Breakfast was decent - nothing fabulous but all the usual suspects, omelettes, toast, croissants, fruit, cheese and cold cuts plus Asian dumplings etc. (By the way, if you are a tea drinker, maybe bring along twenty teabags and some UHT milk - their tea is awful and their milk is sweetened.) Staff were helpful - helped with booking tours and very pleasant . Had a bad experience with a taxi driver - most rides from this hotel to the old town should cost 30,000 dong (about $1.50) and one drivers' meter raced up to 100,000 dong (about $5) We challenged him and he yelled and screamed and charged us 50,000! But otherwise, had lovely experiences with very nice Vietnamese people. Unfortunately not able to go to HaLong Bay because of Typhoon approaching. Enjoyed Essence restaurant in different hotel - google it. Oh and Wifi free in hotel, like most of Vietnam.

Room Tip: If the a/c is not cold enough, tell the front reception to move you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear CarolAlexandra,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Anise hotel. I thank you for your feedback and special mention of our excellent service and quality of breakfast. I am also apologize for the trouble you got with taxi driver.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing your experience to other Tripadvisor surfers.

Kind regards,

Phan Luong,
Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a great wee hotel and for the price it was well worth it. We stayed here 5 nights. Our room was a nice size and towards the back of the hotel so quite quiet at night time. The staff were so helpful and always had a big hello when they seen you. We met the most amazing young barman in the small hotel bar and he couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in watching the World Cup on our final night planning on taking it easy and only having a few drinks but we had such a great time with the staff our plan on taking it easy didn't turn out so well. The view from the roof top cafe is rather nice even if you just pop up for a drink at night to have a look. I would definitely stay here again when I return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anisehotelhn, Manager at Anise Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Lyn112,

I am extremely thankful to all your compliments regarding the high standards of service delivered all over the hotel departments.

Lyn, we do look forward to having the opportunity of being able to welcome you back ‘home’ when you have reason to visit Hanoi.

Since then,

Kind regards,

Phan Luong,

Anise Hotel Hanoi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzburg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed there two nights - before and after Halong Bay Trip. For us it was more than we expected for the price (our travel agent booked everything for a fixed price). The rooms are neat and also well built (compared to other rooms we saw in this region). Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, staff is attentive and helpful, breakfast is ok, Wifi is not very stable. The location is ok. You need to keep the bathroom door shut to have a quiet night (the windows there are not as noise proof as the one in the sleeping room).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quesst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights at end of our trip. We have been to Hanoi before so knew the area. The room we got was a superior room as has a window it was clean spacious and at the back so not noisy. I thought breakfast average especially if not up early as lots of food dried out. Staff very friendly but once again do not eat and drink there as far mire expensive than outside. Walking distance to day and night market and also to the lake.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBYN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The air conditioning in the room was not cool. We were perspiring like crazy. The management said it would take more than half an hour to cool down but it didn't the whole night. However, if you are not bothered by the air conditioning not working well and able to stand the heat, then it would not be so bad.The power points were hidden behind cabinets and was hard to get to when I wanted to charge my phone. Location wise, it is good. It is walking distance to the night market and restaurants. Breakfast is good. Room is clean.

Room Tip: Should be fine if you are staying there in Spring, Fall or Winter but not in Summer where the temper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsurf128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

If you want somewhere to stay that is hassle free, friendly and clean you will not go far wrong. We stayed here for two nights, followed by a third after a day trip to Halong Bay. Located near the old town, it's a 15-20min walk to the lake past lots of shops and dodging the bikes that make getting around Vietnam that extra bit dangerous and special.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful, it is cool and calm which is what we needed when we turned up in the manic bustle of Ha Noi. Breakfast was simple, but in the heat of the city it was ample and there was enough to choose from. On our third night we also ate in the hotel. We usually hit the streets every night but we were just shattered. We were the only ones there but that was no reflection on the food. It was cheap, plenty of choice, simple and full of flavour.

The two rooms we had were really nice. The currency exchange service at reception is also a great help.

Easy to get gluten free food? Not the easiest, but they got it and were able to look after us for our two short stays.

Room Tip: It is extra for a room with a window - it's not much extra and well worth doing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlutenFree13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
0.8 mi away
Maison d'Orient
Maison d'Orient
#45 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Belle Vie Hotel
La Belle Vie Hotel
#147 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eco Hotel Hanoi
Eco Hotel Hanoi
#193 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moon View 2 Hotel
Moon View 2 Hotel
#244 of 581 in Hanoi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#226 of 581 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Property: Anise Hotel
Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 581 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing