We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean friendly hotel in excellent location”
Review of Anise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anise Hotel
Ranked #177 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 24 March 2010

we stayed three times here, between other trips. all rooms were large, the suite wondrerful. The staff were always very friendly and helpful. rooms very clean, breakfast excellent and it was so handy for the old town.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

I spent 3 nights in the Anise hotel while on holiday with my parents in Vietnam. This hotel is impeccable in nearly every way. Right from the start, the service at the reception and by the busboys is warm and efficient. I had booked directly with the hotel a month prior and after a couple of email exchanges, the booking was confirmed without any need for an advance payment. On checking in, we got our rooms quickly and with minimal fuss, and management had no problems locating our reservation. Additionally, my parents were also upgraded to a room with a balcony, which was a huge plus!
The rooms itself were large, spotless and very comfortable. The minibar was well-stocked and replenished and plenty of tea and coffee was made available in the rooms. The linen and toiletries provided were flawless, as were the beds themselves.
I would absolutely stay in this hotel again. If there is just one area of improvement, it would be with the food at the restaurant. While the breakfast buffet is great, no complaints there, the vegetarian options at lunch and dinner could be expanded; at present there is not much choice there. The desserts aren't much to write home about either. But, other than that minor quibble, Anise hotel was a great find and i would like to thank the management and staff for a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
Thank Anu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The Anise is a lovely clean hotel in the middle of a busy, bustling and dirty city. I loved Hanoi but it was great to have a clean place to come home to at the end of the day. The staff were friendly and helpful with booking tours out from the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewZealandVikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We stayed at the Anise Hotel for three nights. At first we were not pleased with the location - it is smack in the middle of a very busy street with all kinds of stuff going on and it is hard to walk on the sidewalk. It certainly wasn't anything we were used to. But after we stayed for awhile, we got used to it, and realized that it's just Hanoi, not the hotel, that was a little challenging due to the heavy and manic traffic. The hotel itself was fine - certainly not a luxury hotel, but a good tourist class hotel. The staff went out of their way to help us with restaurant recommendations and other concierge type things. The bellmen especially were very friendly and always smiling. The hotel does not have a spa, which disappointed us at first, but they referred us to the NK Spa about two blocks away which is unbelievably cheap ($24 US for a 90 minute massage!!!) and excellent. We wish we could take the NK Spa home with us. There is also a laundry right next door to the hotel where you can drop off your clothes and they will be ready in 24 hours.

The one thing that we never got used to was a very strong musty smell in the room. Also, nothing ever seemed to get completely dry, including the sheets. I attribute that to Hanoi's high humidity. One more tip - be sure to make sure the shower head is pointing down before you turn on the water or the floor will get flooded. Sometimes the housekeeper jars it when she cleans.

If you aren't looking for luxury accommodations, the Anise Hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

Lovely, colonial rooms, airy and spacious. Attractive pool area (nicest we had in Vietnam) with poolside service, breakfast outdoors on the terrace was great after being indoors at other hotels. After the hustle and bustle of many parts of Vietnam this was a real oasis. Pool table (free), nice bar with internet and book exchange.

Laundry can be done much more cheaply than the hotel if you give it to Miss Lan in the shop across the road - worth doing business with her as she is a real character.
Not in the centre of Hoi An, but a short cab journey away.
The only disappointment was that the gym was a collection of fairly hopeless, out of date equipment.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
Thank Arinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We have just returned frm a week in Hanoi staying at the Anise hotel on the edge of the Old Quarter of the city. The Hotel was very clean with friendly and helpful staff. The Hotel restaurant is on the top floor of the hotel givng a panoramic view of the city, although it was usually too hazy to see very far. We only had to step outside the front door to be immersed in the hussle and bussle of the city and its hectic traffic. The museum, Art Gallery and Temple of Literature were well worth a visit. The markets and shopping is a real cultural experience and lots of fun. We found some great places to eat and never had a bad meal. But beware where you get clothes made up! The only blur on our week was ordering some tailoring from Yen Boutique which poorly done i.e. seams not straight and even had an iron burn on the lining of one of the suits. But a facinating city and a great stepping stone to Sapa and Halong Bay

Thank traveller62Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

anise hotel hanoi has very good staff with good english. we are from australia and had no problem with their english. the room was clean and exactly as advertised. the electrical installation was relatively new, with normal circuit breakers and switchboards. this hotel actually has fire stairs and smoke alarms, which we found lacking in other hotels in vietnam. the gym wqas first class, and the internet facilities were good. the food was more than acceptable, and the views from the 11th floor restaurant were almost 360 degrees. the safes in the room were easy to use and still working. all the lights worked, and so did the hot water. we had room 801 and it was very comfortable, with views of hanoi from the windows. when the windows were shut there was very little noise from outside coming through the double glazing. the air con worked well, and was simple to use. the location was good, just next to the old quarter and walking distance to everywhere. the staff were professional and helpful and all of our requests were professionally attended to. We left tips for the staff, and they appreciated it, even though they never asked for it. some are students working their way through their studies, others are young marrieds with the inevitable struggle that entails. all were unceasingly happy and smiling and professional. top marks to you all. a very well run and managed hotel which anybody would be happy with.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olderaustralian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hong Ngoc Cochinchine Hotel
0.2 mi away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#64 of 607 in Hanoi
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#113 of 607 in Hanoi
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
Dragon Pearl Hotel Hanoi
#115 of 607 in Hanoi
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ann Hanoi
The Ann Hanoi
#89 of 607 in Hanoi
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anise Hotel

Address: 22 Quan Thanh street | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £25 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel of 3* standard, located at the corner of Hanoi Old quarter, 10 minutes walk from the Hoan Kiem lake, overlooking Hang Dau Park. With 42 well appointed high standard rooms. All guest rooms provide international standards of comfort and amenities featuring Asian contemporary décor. All room have individually controlled air-conditioning, WIFI, Cable TV offering a wide range of channels and languages, mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, bath and shaving outlet. The hotel with full services of Business centre, Concierge, Cashiering, Travel desk, Bar & Restaurant, Gymnasium, We ensure you the best comfortable and services while staying with us either on business or leisure trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anise Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing