We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better hotels in Hanoi”
Review of Royal 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal 2 Hotel
Ranked #400 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“There are much better hotels in Hanoi”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was not amused by this hotel.
18€ for a double bed room which has dirty sheets with holes.
The room looks quite clean but it is not nice to find a cockroach walking in the bath when you are taking a shower...
The hotel provides towels and toothbrushes but this is just to appear as nice hotel which is actually pretty far from that definition.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    8
    12
    6
See reviews for
3
14
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A friend and I stayed three nights at The Royal 2 Hotel in Hanoi and found the staff quite pleasant and very friendly. The room was very clean and spacious with a balcony that was perfect for us seeing were both smokers. It's in a great location, close to many shops and restaurants with free WiFi and computers for all hotel guests. It's all over a great place to stay at a low price.
P.S Key to any hotel in Hanoi don't let them bully you into booking tours through them if you don't want to..... oh and we still can't believe we missed breakfast!!!! Even with the morning phone call (That we slept through)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo3Natty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voiron
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The tout pick me on the street so i negotiated 12 dollars/night as it,s a 15/night brand new hotel with all mods&cons! Really good!
The problem is that in the morning the guy rang me to tell me to come for breakfast before it's too late for them (round 9.30) then he called again to try to sell me halong bay, then last call to tell me to pack up (i had booked for 3 nights) because they had 10 clients arriving and they needed my room!!! Can you believe that! It means that ifi had gone for a walk in the morning i would have probably find my bag at reception ready to go! The guy in charge is a d&%*head! He takes the micky with his fake smile and way of befriending you, i would not trust them to leave my stuff in their hotel!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at the Royal Hotel for one night in Hanoi - decent budget hotel, good wifi, decent breakfast, friendly staff - does the job a budget hotel should do - reasonably clean - if you are after a reasonable budget hotel - this will fit the bill - in the quaint old quarter.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WomaninConstruction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here for 1 night, and overall, it is a decent place to stay. Rooms are basic, but clean with tv (only with vietnamese channels though), and a good powerful shower.
Breakfast is very good, with fried rice, bread and types of egg. with vietnamese style coffee (it was cold when i had it). Get to breakfast early, because the food goes cold, the rice will run out and the coffee will be cold. I got to breakfast at half 9, so there was hardly any rice left, and coffee was cold- so get down there early.

Staff are friendly, however they will try and sell you tours whenever you pass through the lobby. Literally every time you leave or enter the hotel, whoever is at the desk will strike up a conversation about what you are doing next, which inevitably leads to them offering day trips etc. HOWEVER, every single budget hotel will be like this. Because the rooms are so cheap, i think they make most of their money from selling tours. All the budget hotels here double up as travel agents.

Location is excellent- right in the middle of the old quarter. Very busy outside, but our room was quiet (depends where your room is, i guess). Be prepared for a lot of stair climbing! Your room will probably be somewhere up in Hanoi's higher echelons. Its a very narrow hotel, and high.

If youre just looking for a place to crash for the night, right in the middle of the action; its not a bad place.

Room Tip: Don't go to the hotel travel agents to book tours. go to travel agents in town. Sinh Cafe is pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed at first for 3 nights on the 4th floor in a twin room. De room was very clean and quiet, nice beds and bathroom with clean towels everyday and a goodworking airco. Normal prices in the minibar. Breakfast is fine, fresh bread and eggs, fruit, jam. Good working internet and wifi.
The staff was very nice and helpful and booked a daytrip and taxi to the airport for us. After leaving for a cruise we booked another 2 nights in the hotel, that was not a problem, we got the same room again on the 4 th floor again.
We enjoyed our stay in the Royal 2 hotel, if we ever go back to Hanoi we would book a room again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book Agoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleLady_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The problem with this hotel is the staff. We booked our first night through Agoda and paid $12, the following morning we tried to book a second night over the counter and the girl said that we would have to pay $18. When we asked why, we were told that the previous night we had been put in the wrong room, a better room than we should of been in but this was not true so we just rebooked via agoda as it seemed the easiest option. This did not please the girl on reception and she said that we would have to move rooms but after a few slightly heated words she said that we could stay in the same room but it left a bad feeling. The breakfast was also not great. We had a choice of pinapple with flies on, melon with flies on, bread with flies on and a cooked egg YUM! The second day I skipped breakfast altogether. The problem is that this hotel could be great, the room are quite nice and spacious ( we were in room 304 ) and they could probably charge more if they gave the rooms a facelift but the staff let the whole establishment down with their total lack of regard for their customers. There are two computers that are free to use in reception but they are never available as the staff are always on them and are happy to leave you to sit there waiting for over an hour at a time whilst they play solitare! Overall there are so many other options in this area please do yourself a favour and look elsewhere!

Room Tip: 304 is a nice room but don't pay more than $12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisherwoman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
Hong Ngoc Dynastie Hotel
#135 of 586 in Hanoi
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Moon Suite Hotel & travel
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
Hanoi Symphony Hotel
#65 of 586 in Hanoi
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#111 of 586 in Hanoi
1,306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Emerald Hotel
Holiday Emerald Hotel
#2 of 586 in Hanoi
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
Little Hanoi DX Hotel
#1 of 586 in Hanoi
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal 2 Hotel

Property: Royal 2 Hotel
Address: 11 Hang Manh Street, Hanoi 84, Vietnam (Formerly Duc Huy)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal 2 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal 2 Hotel (formerly Duc Huy Hotel) is situated in downtown Hanoi, near major office buildings, popular shopping areas and ancient sites. Along with its spacious rooms, elegant furnishings and sophisticated facilities Duc Huy hotel is a place where you can feel relaxed, comfortable and well-looked after. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Royal 2 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal 2
Royal 2 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing