We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, outstanding customer service...nothing a problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rising Dragon Hotel
Ranked #131 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Tracey, Cindy and the staff are so lovely.........the customer service is outstanding and nothing seems to be a problem for them. They arrange everything at a moments notice and are so accommodating. Our Halong bay tour was cut short by a day due to bad weather, not a problem getting a refund and when we came off the overnight train from Sapa at 5am they had organised a pick up for us which we were not expecting and a pleasant surprise because we were so shattered. On the day we were leaving we didn't need to be at the airport until 5.30pm so they let us have the room until 2pm. I have never experienced service like it and is the best customer service we experienced throughout our three weeks travel of Cambodia, Vietnam and Thailand. They upgraded our room so we had a balcony. Location is excellent, close to shopping and great places to eat. I would definitely recommend this place to others and stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Debby,

It is just enchanted to read such nice words about the Rising Dragon hotel. We have tried hard, but your words are indeed more than what we are doing.

As customers' satisfaction is our utmost desire, we are very awarded to know that you did enjoy your stay in the hotel. I do hope that we can meet some days not too far in the future at Rising Dragon hotel, and your second stay will be better than the previous one.

Take care and all the best.

Kindly regards,

Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of our Vietnam trip. Unfortunately I arrived with a cold, so probably made more use of the Rising Dragon Hotel than we planned. If you want a hotel to 'hang out' (whether sick or not), then this probably isn't the one for you. But to be fair, there probably aren't many hotels that provide that type of accommodation, and its not the sort of place to 'relax'.
That aside, we generally enjoyed staying at the Rising Dragon because of the following:
- the service was really good. Great tours to Sapa and Ha Long Bay organised at a good price at a few days notice (glad we didn't follow through with a booking from Australia). Refund happily given when our Ha Long Bay tour was cut short by bad weather. Cindy was our main contact while there. When we were forgotten at the train station on return from Sapa, we got our taxi paid for by the hotel instead (at a higher rate than they would normally pay, because we're terrible hagglers) and we had free use of a room for about 5 hours before our flight out. As well as an apology. I sincerely believe this sort of thing is rare, because despite the general chaos of Vietnam, most things organised by hotel staff or tour guides went very smoothly.
- the room was clean and comfortable and importantly, very quiet for downtown Hanoi. This could be attributed to the window not facing the outside of the building. Refer to note about 'hanging out' at the hotel.
- the breakfasts were OK, but we didn't venture from the pho bo and the banana pancakes.
I would recommend this hotel to others. For the price and what you get for it, this place was great.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The combination of the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff, the unbelievable breakfasts, the cleanliness of the room and the location of the hotel made it the best vacation my daughter said she had ever had. And I agree with her entirely. They arranged an excellent trip to Ha Long Bay which was perfect as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnmiller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We was at this hotel twice in our Asia trip this autumn.
Hotel located in old center of Hanoi, near main attractions.
Staff was very friendly. Manager (Mr. Son) try to solve all our problems.
They give us better room then we booked.
We arrange Halong Bay tour in hotel, it was slightly cheaper then by internet and we pay for it on check out.

Room Tip: Don't take most cheap room, if you don't shure that hottel may change it for you for free. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepper_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The entire Rising Dragon hotel chain is centered on Service SERVICE SERVICE! While some of their locations aren't the most luxurious (some dont have elevators), the staff will go out their way to make sure that you have a great time and do whatever you are trying to do. They also have a lot of connections to some truly great tour companies and other local businesses (see my review on Ha Long Bay, Galaxy Cruises).

My fiance and I stayed at two of their locations, both in Hanoi during different parts of our two week trip. When I first booked our hotel, choosing them due to their great Trip Advisor record, I was immediatly contacted by the Hotel Manager (Judy) who made sure that everything was in place and to see if we needed help with our visas, flights, or travel itinerary. I had quite a few questions for here and a dozen emails later I had exhausted all of my questions with great recommendations/advice in hand.

When we reached Hanoi, we accidentally went to the wrong Rising Dragon Hotel (there are 9 of them from the same company) but they just transferred the reservation to the hotel we were at, no harm no foul.

After our Ha Long Bay trip, we went to the originally hotel (the Rising Dragon Grand) which turned out to be the more luxurious one. We are still here for another 2 nights, and couldnt be happier.

In summary, they are VERY professional, helpful, friendly, centrally located to all the action, and have great connections as a travel agency to reputable businesses.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Rising Dragon Hotel for two nights. We hadn't planned anything yet and while we were here, we spoke to Tracy and she made phone calls and prepaid for bookings and within half an hour our travels in Vietnam was all set at no extra cost. She was fantastic. The staff are also wonderful. We were dropped off at the station and he walked us to the train and showed us where they would wait for us on our return. Everything over the 10 days went according to plan. The staff were always there to pick us up or drop us off. The hotel was very good. Rooms were clean. On our return from a couple of trips, we were allowed to shower and rest in one of the rooms. The hotel doesn't have a working lift so you have to use the stairs which was good exercise. Breakfast was also good. I hightly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: They don't have a working lift so you might want to choose a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Maria,

It is a great pleasure for Rising Dragon Hotel to have an opportunity to accommodate you recently. We are very delighted to hear that you have been happily satisfied with your stay, and our service has met your expectation.

We are proud to share your sentiments with our team as this will inspire them to strive harder for delighting future guests.

We do hope to welcome you back at Rising Dragon hotel.

Kindly regards,

Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Arrived by chance without a booking and was made very welcome. Well appointed hotel in a great location in the old quarter. The price was very moderate. Liked it so much we returned after bussing around the north.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. For example, without any request a take away breakfast was provided on the final day as our flight (arranged by the hotel), was prior to the meal time.
All the valuable services one learns to value in travel in Asia were promptly provided, including advice on travel, free wi fi, obtaining and loading credit on mobile phone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Valued guest,

It is our great pleasure welcoming you at Rising Dragon hotel recently. I am very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, and satisfied with our service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and should you need any further assistance please feel free to contact us.

Kindly regards,
Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#160 of 600 in Hanoi
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#166 of 600 in Hanoi
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
Hanoi Little Center Hotel
#192 of 600 in Hanoi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#31 of 600 in Hanoi
508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#482 of 600 in Hanoi
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#126 of 600 in Hanoi
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Hotel

Address: 61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £20 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Rooms/Suites: Our hotel boasts large smoking and non-smoking rooms, some of which have beautiful balconies overlooking the Old Quarter and large bathrooms with bathtubs. Each deluxe and standard room in our safe and quiet building has air conditioning and hot water.Amenities: The on-site restaurant has a wide menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are provided with a free continental breakfast as part of their stay. Wireless internet is available, as are computers in our hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rising Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Hanoi
Hotel Rising Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing