We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't look elsewhere....just book this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Dragon Hotel
Ranked #117 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't look elsewhere....just book this”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hi,

Travelled in Dec 2013.

Location: Old quarter...awesome place to stay, everything is close by from water puppet theatre to other historial / religious sites and the lake Haon Kiem. Upteem restaurants and bars around this hotel.

Staff: Tracy is extremely efficient ...had exchanged over 60 emails with her and she patiently responded. Very helpful too for guiding on city info.

Rooms: Pretty clean, slightly small but very manageble

Breakfast: Nice coffee, couple of good options like banana pancake, eggs etc

Price: Great for what they offered. Its probably one of the lowest prices you can get in Hanoi

Other tours: Booked Galaxy Premium Cruise with them which was fantastic (new cruise). The Tam Coc tour was also super, the guide (Thao) took us to some offbeat places which saved time and the tourist rush.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GargiPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Gargi,

It is always rewarded to learn that our guests has been satisfied totally with our service. Thank you for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kindly regards,

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    274
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
116
284
96
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Rising Dragon at the last minute as the hotel we had been staying at was booked out and we were enjoying Hanoi so much we wanted to stay an extra night.
It was a great all around experience. We arrived before check in, so the friendly staff sat the four of us down with hot drinks and ran us through everything close by etc, at this point the lovely receptionist made it known that we had booked one of the small rooms and that she would recommend us to upgrade. As it was only for one night and we had an early flight the next day, we didn't worry.
Once we arrived in the room, I can see why she recommended the upgrade. It was small. But we had been fairly warned and it didn't phase us in the least. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a good hot shower!
The staff even arranged to pack us a breakfast because we were leaving before the buffet started - however we forgot to collect them.
The only thing is I wouldn't worry going to their sister hotel's rooftop restaurant. It was nice but nothing spectacular - very westernised food which isn't what we, personally, were looking for and probably the most expensive meal we had while in Vietnam.
ps. Always pack earplugs when travelling in Asia

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanmbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff were extremely helpful and organising our short stay in Hanoi. Rooms are quite small but very clean. Great value for money. Were able to provide advice with tours. In between 2 tours we had organised, the hotel allowed us to use there shower and eat breakfast for free even though we were not checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for spending time writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Your satisfaction is our utmost desire.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly regards,

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Bad start as we had arranged a private car transfer from
the airport as suggested by the hotel as many taxis are unsafe especially at night. We had travelled 16 hours, we arrived at Hanoi airport at midnight with no car and after calling them for an hour- still no car! We had to get a taxi in the end and thankfully no issues. Hotel was very sorry and put us in a nicer room which was good however second night in we went out for a few drinks at night and came back to a locked up hotel! The night manager was fast asleep and we had to ask for the help of surrounding hotel staff to wake him up and get us in the hotel- scary! Tracey on the front desk was fantastic. Many good hotels for a similar price in the area so would look around.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mmk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Matthew,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your review regarding your recent stay at Rising Dragon hotel.

Since guests satisfaction is our utmost desire; your feedback is very important to us. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. That you arrived in Hanoi on the 1st day of the New Year made it not easy to arrange the pick up, in addition, your reservation was only about 2 hours before your flight. How smart you were when you called the hotel then so that we could give you some notification about the taxi.
The night receptionist has been reprimanded. Please rest assured that we have thoroughly reviewed and paid attention to this matter to avoid repeated occurrences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back and making your stay more pleasant than the previous one!

Kindly regards,

Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

On our trip in Vietnam for a month, this hotel was the best of them all. Great location in the middle of the Old Quarter in Hanoi. The staff was more than helpful and kind, making us feel very welcome. The rooms are nice and clean. Some of them with balcony and great view to the street. There are plenty of breakfast dishes to choose from, both Vietnamese and Continental.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nweldingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We booked for their sister hotel, Rising Dragon Palace Hotel, but as we arrived at an ungodly hour and the very wonderful receptionist, seeing how exhausted my companion was (we took the sleeper train from Hue-Hanoi), he offered to transfer us to this hotel and upgrade our room free of charge.
A bit hesitant, we agreed and it turned out to be a good decision.
The hotel itself has a very budget atmosphere but we got a large spacious room with large French windows looking out to Hang Be Street. The building has an odd layout (I believe the staff live upstairs) and a certain French atmosphere (I'm at loss for words, here) that makes me think of budget hotels in Paris. Our room was very clean, wi-fi was fast and reliable and the room had a personal computer. The food was not good. Not much choices. But the location - oh my god, it's only a few meters from the Water Puppet Theater and Hoan Kiem Lake where most of the business are centered. It's convenient location in the Old Quarter means there are a lot of restaurants around.
And the staff where very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst taking in Hanoi's sights and a trip to Halong Bay. Perfectly placed for walking around the Old Quarter and absorbing the atmosphere. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. They appear not to get commissions on any trips on which we went so we felt completely at ease when choosing where to go. Some excellent recommendations for local restaurants and bars too. The free breakfasts were good with a small choice of cooked food. Coffee was free and available all day.
There is no lift and we were on the 5th floor (the best views no doubt!) which strangely improved one's memory. You only forget something in your room once!
We enjoyed Hanoi immensely. If we can return someday this hotel will be on the top of our list.

Room Tip: Beware as in a lot of Hanoi's tall thin hotels there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH-DEVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 mi away
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
#139 of 586 in Hanoi
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#116 of 586 in Hanoi
504 reviews
0.0 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#137 of 586 in Hanoi
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#131 of 586 in Hanoi
213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#113 of 586 in Hanoi
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rising Dragon Legend Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Hotel
Address: 61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Rooms/Suites: Our hotel boasts large smoking and non-smoking rooms, some of which have beautiful balconies overlooking the Old Quarter and large bathrooms with bathtubs. Each deluxe and standard room in our safe and quiet building has air conditioning and hot water.Amenities: The on-site restaurant has a wide menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are provided with a free continental breakfast as part of their stay. Wireless internet is available, as are computers in our hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Hanoi
Hotel Rising Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing