We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, helpful staff and clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rising Dragon Hotel
Ranked #133 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed a few nights here as the sister hotel was full. Standard was a bit cosy but clean and new. Heater on aircon unit which came in handy. Staff were helpful in resolving problem with halong bay tour company, one which they hadn't recommended. Breakfast was good. Will stay again. Also had PC in the room.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MeavyHetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

I found the area very loud and hard to sleep in. Some strange repatious song chant every so often. Also jarring to step out into chaotic traffic every morning to get your "real coffee" fix. They don't even have Traditional Vietamese coffee to purchase or local tea on their very westernized menu. Lipton tea and some basic drip coffee.
Just not impressed in the least with this hotel overall. Prices r quoted in US$ and they round up big time on the convertion to Dong. This whole area of the Old Quarter takes advantage of tourists being fresh off the plane. Prices r silly high compared to the rest of Vietnam and they are very willing to barter.
My advise. Visit this area but don't stay right on a busy street like this, find an quiet alley or stay on the outskirts.
Also, there r no good cafés or resturants right around in easy "not getting lost" distence.
Hotel is very clean however. And breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomnoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel was excellent! Rooms were very comfy, clean with a great shower, ac, tv and very fast wifi. Really good location in the old town and walking distance from everywhere in hanoi! Great breakfast and lovely restaurant called 'new day' a few minutes walk away.

The hotel at this hotel really made it. They were all so help and friendly. Tracy on the travel desk was fantastic! really nice and helpful and constantly recommending places to eat and see. She arranged a fantastic halong bay tour for us and was constantly there to help! We even got a free upgrade on our last night!!

Highly recommend the rising dragon for everyone!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Emily,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience regarding your stay at Rising Dragon hotel.
I am so delighted to hear that our service and facilities have been up your expectation. Your kind words will be passed on the entire staff to encourage them continuously keep up their good job.

We are looking forward to an opportunity welcoming you back!

Kindly regards,

Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days and it was great. Very friendly, helpful and professional staff and tidy rooms that were made up daily without fail. My room was equipped with a nice comfy double bed, powerful hot shower, fast reliable wi-fi, cable tv, air-con, hairdryer and toiletries. To my surprise this hotel even had an elevator! Location is perfect, great restaurants and bars only minutes away.The Market and Hoan Kiem Lake is 8-10 mins away on foot. The Staff can help you with any type of tour and will make best suggestions if you are on a budget. Special Thank You to Anna for organising everything and making me feel very welcome. Breakfast was included in the price and was more than adequate. Would not book any other hotel in Hanoi. (Solo traveler) Dave

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whooshbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hi,

Travelled in Dec 2013.

Location: Old quarter...awesome place to stay, everything is close by from water puppet theatre to other historial / religious sites and the lake Haon Kiem. Upteem restaurants and bars around this hotel.

Staff: Tracy is extremely efficient ...had exchanged over 60 emails with her and she patiently responded. Very helpful too for guiding on city info.

Rooms: Pretty clean, slightly small but very manageble

Breakfast: Nice coffee, couple of good options like banana pancake, eggs etc

Price: Great for what they offered. Its probably one of the lowest prices you can get in Hanoi

Other tours: Booked Galaxy Premium Cruise with them which was fantastic (new cruise). The Tam Coc tour was also super, the guide (Thao) took us to some offbeat places which saved time and the tourist rush.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank GargiPareek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Gargi,

It is always rewarded to learn that our guests has been satisfied totally with our service. Thank you for taking time to share your review on Tripadvisor and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kindly regards,

Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at the Rising Dragon at the last minute as the hotel we had been staying at was booked out and we were enjoying Hanoi so much we wanted to stay an extra night.
It was a great all around experience. We arrived before check in, so the friendly staff sat the four of us down with hot drinks and ran us through everything close by etc, at this point the lovely receptionist made it known that we had booked one of the small rooms and that she would recommend us to upgrade. As it was only for one night and we had an early flight the next day, we didn't worry.
Once we arrived in the room, I can see why she recommended the upgrade. It was small. But we had been fairly warned and it didn't phase us in the least. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a good hot shower!
The staff even arranged to pack us a breakfast because we were leaving before the buffet started - however we forgot to collect them.
The only thing is I wouldn't worry going to their sister hotel's rooftop restaurant. It was nice but nothing spectacular - very westernised food which isn't what we, personally, were looking for and probably the most expensive meal we had while in Vietnam.
ps. Always pack earplugs when travelling in Asia

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanmbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Staff were extremely helpful and organising our short stay in Hanoi. Rooms are quite small but very clean. Great value for money. Were able to provide advice with tours. In between 2 tours we had organised, the hotel allowed us to use there shower and eat breakfast for free even though we were not checking in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media R, Manager at Rising Dragon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Ryan,

Thank you for spending time writing this wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. Your satisfaction is our utmost desire.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly regards,

Tracy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#159 of 600 in Hanoi
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#119 of 600 in Hanoi
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#164 of 600 in Hanoi
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gecko Hotel
Gecko Hotel
#484 of 600 in Hanoi
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Charming Hotel
Hanoi Charming Hotel
#129 of 600 in Hanoi
1,319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
Hanoi Golden Moon Hotel
#32 of 600 in Hanoi
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Hotel

Address: 61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: £20 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Rooms/Suites: Our hotel boasts large smoking and non-smoking rooms, some of which have beautiful balconies overlooking the Old Quarter and large bathrooms with bathtubs. Each deluxe and standard room in our safe and quiet building has air conditioning and hot water.Amenities: The on-site restaurant has a wide menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are provided with a free continental breakfast as part of their stay. Wireless internet is available, as are computers in our hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rising Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Hanoi
Hotel Rising Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing