We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Dragon Hotel
Ranked #123 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The rooms are just like you would find in a hostel and worse! The air con was leaking on the headboard and the bed was like sleeping on concrete. Stayed there 1 night which was too long. If your a backpacker this may have been acceptable but there are much better hotels out there for the same price. When we wanted to check out in the morning to go to Halong bay they were very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luckycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    275
    51
    18
    17
See reviews for
117
287
96
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This place is the real deal. After a few weeks in Vietnam, somewhat tired and on edge from being scammed a few times, I needed a comfortable place with trustworthy staff. This place more than fit the bill.

SERVICE: What made this hotel for me was the staff. The manager, Thuyet, Thuy and Xuan (first name basis - pretty sweet) made sure my stay was comfortable and free from stress. If I needed a suggestion for a place to eat, they were eager to help. If I had any issue with the room, they were quick to respond. Even on my day of departure from Vietnam, they were helpful in providing me options to get to the airport and did not try to push me to go with their services. All around, I felt they were simply caring, genuinely nice staff.

ROOMS: For what you're paying, the rooms are great value. Again, this is not a luxury hotel, but the rooms are clean, beds are comfy, bathrooms more than adequate. The cleaning staff are friendly, and usually clean your room before lunch - so just a heads up for those who sleep in.

OTHER: I read in the LP about various scams regarding hotels trying to push guests to book tours through them, and I was initially very skeptical about booking through these guys. After doing some research, and even on the sly asking other guests how the tours were, I was surprised at just how perfectly fine the Halong Bay tour was after booking through the hotel. Sure, I'm guessing they get a small cut of whatever the main tour operators are getting, but still, I found the Halong Bay tour to be surprisingly decent through this hotel. (I did not go to Sapa so can't tell you about that tour.)

Overall, if you're looking for a wholly "un-scammy" and trustworthy place, this is it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_b577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. My first day in Hanoi was pretty unpleasant so I grabbed my backpack, checked out of my last hotel and wandered the streets of Hanoi and found THE RISING DRAGON hotel. It completely changed my entire view on Hanoi!

The staff is amazing! Extremely helpful. They even booked our train tickets for the following day to Hue so that we wouldn't have to pay for a taxi to the train station and wait in line that could have taken out a half a days time. They told my friends and I to enjoy the city while they did all the work! I am very impressed with the amount of English they were able to speak....turns out they had a book behind the desk that they read out of everyday so that they can teach themselves the language!

Breakfast was included in the already very inexpensive price of the room. We had scrambled eggs with some of the best bacon I've had in my life, banana pancakes and fried eggs w/a baguette. All delicious.

The rooms are adorable! Very clean, well kept and fully stocked with toiletries to use. There is also a small TV so you can lounge in your bed with the A/C on. Also, there is an ATM in the lobby of the hotel which makes it very convenient.

The location of the hotel is perfect! Only a block away from Hoan Kiem and if you walk a few blocks down you will hit the night street markets that seem to last forever! This place is an absolute gem and is not to be missed!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ttran321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Stayed the first night in Hanoi at The World Hostel and was not at all impressed by it. The price was excellent, but there is nothing to reccomend it beyond that. Refused to stay there a 2nd night, and so my friends and I went in search of a new hotel. Walked into The Rising Dragon and got the best service ever from the staff who are so friendly, work hard to help you with everything, even booking train tickets and planning our day trips for us, all for no comission.

The room was very clean, the location is amazing, and they served free breakfast and had internet. All in all, this hotel is a fantastic deal for the price in Hanoi and worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsharif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Amazing place to stay. The front desk staff is AMAZING. They gave us a great price for the room for 3 people, booked our train tickets to Hue and had the tickets delivered to the hotel, and then fed us the best breakfast!

The hotel is so close to Hoan Kiem lake and is a 2 minute walk to Dong Xuan market. Everything is close by. Cafes, shopping, sighseeing, etc.

Rooms are impeccable and stylish. Very clean, and pretty. The showers were hot, although it can run out and you have a wait a bit before the next person showers. Beds are so comfortable. Great place to recuperate!

Breakfast is included in the price and includes french bread with fried egg, scrambled eggs, banana crepe, or hot chicken soup. Coffee is hot and yummy. Condensed milk and sugar are provided.

Ticket booking is great. They called the train station early in the morning to make sure we got our tickets for an overnight train to Hue, and then had them delivered to the hotel by the time we got back from our day of sightseeing. It saved us a taxi ride to the train station and a long wait to buy the tickets.

We love love this place and would definitely recommend it over other hotels in the area.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debbyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Among all the places I stayed in my 2 weeks in Vietnam, this is the best. What sets this hotel apart from the rest is like what most of the rest of the reviews mentioned here; Service/Staff. Mr David Trung, the hotel manager, is definitely the person you'll want to look for when you r in hanoi. Even if you are not staying in this hotel, I would strongly recommend anyone to come look for him for advice on trips around Vietnam. Mr David has lots of good recommendations of where r the authentic places to eat around town (not the typical restaurant that you'll find for tourist), he's also able to arrange and make good recommendations for your trip in Vietnam. The hotel staff is very sincere in their recommendation for trips and booking thro them. Unlike other hotels that i've experience, they don't recommend things that will earn them a bigger commission instead they r really there to give good advice on what's the best options in booking a certain tour and how to go about booking travel n transport so that you get the best deal out of your buck. I've made transport arrangements, halong bay trips, train tickets thro them, not once i was disappointed with their service. Well don't take my word for it, read the rest of the reviews and i'm sure everyone else will tell you the same about this hotel. Definitely my choice of accommodation the next time i'm back in Hanoi.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kueikoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwon, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

During my stay at the Rising Dragon I was treated with utmost hospitality. I commend the staff for their sincere and honest service. Everyone at the hotel attended promptly and happily to all my questions and needs.

The hotel offers airport pickup and drop off (especially important for a solo traveler) and at a good rate. The room was comfortable and tidy. The location is superb, right in the heart of the Old Quarter. Extra baggage can be comfortably stored at the hotel while on tours and a place to shower is offered with fresh towels when popping into the hotel at odd hours between trips.

The staff helped me book tours that accommodated my travel interests without a problem. I was introduced to tremendous tour guides that made the trips all the more memorable. I was even offered a large bottle of water at no cost for my overnight train ride to Sapa.

But the kind gestures didn’t stop there. Staff even went out of their way to escort me by motorbike to a seamstress in the Old Quarter when I inquired about getting some clothes custom-made. In addition, when feeling spent from my travels on my last day I was offered a room to take a nap at no cost. And the icing on the cake for me was when after forgetting a very valued souvenir upon my departure from Vietnam it was delivered to my home at no hassle.

At the Rising Dragon I was repeatedly made to feel like an important guest. I highly recommend this hotel! Staying here will surely add value to your travel experience in Vietnam.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 mi away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#120 of 591 in Hanoi
510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#142 of 591 in Hanoi
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
Camellia 4 Hanoi Hotel
#204 of 591 in Hanoi
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
Splendid Jupiter Hotel
#141 of 591 in Hanoi
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanoi Space Hotel
Hanoi Space Hotel
#32 of 591 in Hanoi
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
Hanoi Meracus Hotel 1
#50 of 591 in Hanoi
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rising Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Hotel

Property: Rising Dragon Hotel
Address: 61 Hang Be St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#48 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description of Rooms/Suites: Our hotel boasts large smoking and non-smoking rooms, some of which have beautiful balconies overlooking the Old Quarter and large bathrooms with bathtubs. Each deluxe and standard room in our safe and quiet building has air conditioning and hot water.Amenities: The on-site restaurant has a wide menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Guests are provided with a free continental breakfast as part of their stay. Wireless internet is available, as are computers in our hotel lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Hanoi
Hotel Rising Dragon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing