We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to start in Vietnam”
Review of Hanoi Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanoi Street Hotel
Ranked #225 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Great way to start in Vietnam”
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Hanoi was our first stop in Vietnam and the Hanoi Street Hotel was the perfect place to start our trip in Vietnam. The staff are incredibly helpful, giving advice on tours, what to do and see around the city of Hanoi and just generally making sure that a good time is being had. The Hotel itself is owned and run by a family, who are a constant and very refreshing presence around the hotel, as it feels like your Vietnamese home-away-from-home. The food included in the breakfast is amazing and if you are lucky enough then perhaps dinner will be cooked for you as well, a meal that after three-weeks in Vietnam was still a culinary highlight. Our trip in Vietnam would not have been the same if not for the wonderful and caring people from Hanoi Street Hotel, led by their English mastermind Zung, so thankyou once again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie_Candler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear Jamie_Candler,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hanoi Street Hotel and your precious time posting this wonderful comment and recommendation on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay. We will continue to work hard to provide better services to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
So many thanks,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    36
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
24
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I chose this hotel (on the basis of other reviews) to stay for 10 days with a friend of mine over the New Year period 2009/2010 and to use as a base to explore the North part of Vietnam. The hotel itself is ideally located, just a short walk away from the main tourist hub of Hoan Kiem lake, on a great little alley buzzing with Vietnamese restaurants. 5 mins walk away is the main train station for taking trips to Sapa etc, as well as the main thoroughfares leading to the Opera House, History Museum, Army Museum etc. 1 minute round the corner is an ATM which accepts most debit and credit cards, and a few minutes in the opposite direction is a great bakery (surprisingly chocolate pies in Vietnam are exceedingly good).

But the best thing about this hotel is the welcome and service you get from the owners, family and staff there, who make you feel like long lost relatives the moment you come through the door. The host insisted on cooking a great Vietnamese feast for all her guests on New Years eve, and the whole family generally want to do everything they can to make your stay in Vietnam special: from taking care of day and overnight trip arrangements, to recommending the best (and best value) restaurants in Hanoi. They even take to chasing any taxi companies you might feel you've been ripped off by on your travels around Hanoi.

While the entrance to the hotel is modestly sandwiched between the outdoor Vietnamese restaurants (with flaming woks, boiling pots), the rooms inside are very well sized and equipped (with TV, internet, en suite, comfortable beds etc.) and are well insulated from the bustle outside. The little breakfast room at the back quickly becomes your little 'snug' to charge up with a good bowl of Pho (Vietnamese noodle soup), some of the great Vietnamese coffee and to chat with the owners, staff and fellow travellers. There's free internet in the lobby, which the hosts will usually augment with the offer of a cuppa.

For those who are on a bit of squeezed schedule, this hotel offers a great range of 1,2 and 3 day excursions to the hills of Sapa, on the boat in Halong Bay or just visiting some of the temples and landscapes around Hanoi - just say the word and you'll quickly have tickets, hotel, transport and guide already arranged for a good price, and relax and enjoy the rest of the day.

Overall, this great hotel really helps make your stay in Hanoi and Vietnam a memorable one, and for a great value especially when splitting the cost of rooms between 2 (around 15USD per person). The only problem is that at the end of your trip, you really wont feel like leaving.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear fizzyric,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hanoi Street Hotel and your precious time posting this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you really enjoyed your stay. Much more happier to know that we made your trip easy and memorable. It means that we succeeded, right.
We will continue to work hard to meet our customer’s requirement.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Once again, thank you so much for everything.

With best regards,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brielle, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We stayed in this hotel for four nights during our holiday in Vietnam. The location is o.k. The walking distance to the Hoa Kiem Lake is about ten minutes, the Temple of Literature is a five minute walk. Our room at the seventh floor was big and comfy but couldn’t keep the street noise out completely (but what can you expect in noisy Vietnam?). Breakfast is nice and cosy. We were very satisfied by service and kindness off the staff. As the rates for this hotel aren’t that high at all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear Pepper1978,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hanoi Street Hotel and taking time to write this great comment.
We are pleased to know that you are satisfied with our services and facilities. We will continue to work hard to meet our customer’s requirement.
We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.
Thank you and hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

All the staff at this hotel were very polite and friendly, they do seem to go out of their way for you.

It is located in a back street and if we hadn't arranged an airport pick up it would have probably taken us a while to find it.

Our room was a decent size and very clean, with free wifi. The manager helped us arrange a trip and was very accomodating with any other requests such as laundry, airport pick up etc. Breakfast was quite simple but the tea was nice!

One thing I would be aware of is the rate of the hotel is very negiotable, I heard two people checking t in reception getting very different rates. Also on check out we paid in dong and they used the wrong rate, and our bill didn't add up, to avoid this kind of hassle pay in dollars if you have them.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooms77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear Mooms77,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your feedback about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our room and services. We will continue to work harder to meet customer’s need.
We appreciate your comments about the hotel bills and feel really sorry about it. We have pass your comments to our service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

I do look forward to your next stay in Hanoi!

With best regards,
Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

A great little hotel. Friendly personal service. They assisted us greatly when jetstar cancelled our flight several times (always fly Vietnam airways on internal flights) . Booked hotels and a tour to Halong Bay for us. They took particular care of us, during our second stay, after my husband fell ill.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear belintel,

Warmest Greetings from Hanoi Street Hotel!

Thank you for your stay with us.
We would also like to say thank you for taking your specious time to post this review on TripAdvisor. All comments are valued and appreciated.
We are pleased that all our services have satisfied your needs and expectation.
We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and recommendation to other visitors.
We hope to see you again at Hanoi Street Hotel

With best regards,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I’ve just about concluded my 6 week journey through Indonesia, Thailand and Vietnam. With out a doubt the Hanoi Street Hotel is at the top of my list of favorites. The service is the best. Never before in any hotel have I felt so cared for. There was always an offer to get me a beverage, tasty breakfast with fantastic coffee in the morning, and even dinner with the family enjoying great local food. The guidance I received for planning my excursions to Halong Bay and Perfume Pagoda was spot on. This charming little boutique hotel is located perfectly, just on the fringe of the Old Quarter but close enough to get there quickly. Not over run with tourists so you get an authentic feel with great food right out the front door. They even arranged for my airport pick up and departure. Free Wi-Fi and front desk staff speak English very well. The family made me feel special and I was sad to leave

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovinseasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear Lovinseasia,

Thank you very much for your stay at Hanoi Street Hotel and taking time to write this thoughtful comment.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. We will continue to work hard to meet our customer’s requirement.
We will pass your comments to service team so that we can do our utmost to provide great service to all guests.

Once again, thank you for everything. I do hope to meet you again at Hanoi Street Hotel in near future.

With our best regards,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

The hotel staff (all part of the family run extablishment) could not do enough for us. Took care of our valuables and did our Laundry. Regarding the laundry we paid half what we expected to pay after doing the maths on amount of garments and the price per garment. Helpful with local advice regarding restaurants and excursions. The free internet in the lobby kept us in touch with our friends and cats (don't ask). The breakfast menu (all cooked fresh) was very good with a large enough selection to keep our hungry friends happy. The rooms were clean with an excellent bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lidayMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminfdlr, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Hanoi Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2015
Dear H0lidayMike,

Warmest regards from Hanoi Street Hotel!

Thank you very much for your stay at Hanoi Street Hotel.
We would also like to say thank you for taking time to post this review on TripAdvisor.
All comments are valued and appreciated.

We are very happy to know that you really enjoyed the time staying with us. And it's the gift for me and all our staffs.

Once again, thank you so much for everything. I hope to meet you again at Hanoi street Hotel in near future.

Kind regards,

Ms Giang
Customer Relations Specialist @Hanoi Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#35 of 592 in Hanoi
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
Hanoi Old Quarter Hotel
#165 of 592 in Hanoi
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luxury Hotel
Luxury Hotel
#80 of 592 in Hanoi
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
Parkson Hotel Hanoi
#132 of 592 in Hanoi
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#270 of 592 in Hanoi
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icon 36 Hotel - Hang Bong
Icon 36 Hotel - Hang Bong
#416 of 592 in Hanoi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Street Hotel

Property: Hanoi Street Hotel
Address: No 1A, Hang Bong Alley, Hang Bong Street, Hoan Kiem Dist., Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 592 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanoi Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanoi Street Hotel just opened on March 1st, 2007. It is one of the most beautiful and luxurious hotels in the center of Hanoi's Old Quarter. Surrounded by the central business district, major non - governmental offices, temples and shopping areas. Coming to Hanoi Street you will be satisfied with the best services provided by our professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanoi Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing