We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa
Ranked #37 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels I ever stayed in, and great value. Lovely staff. Its right in the middle of the old quarter and the hotel is a haven of calm in a very hectic area. If I went to Hanoi again would stay again for sure

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank smithcj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 706 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Essence Hotel in Hanoi for 3 nights. The entire experience was exceptional. The staff was professional, friendly and helpful. Rooms are kept spotless and the location of the hotel is fantastic! Located in the heart of old quarter. The food at the restaurant was excellent. The staff was very helpful in selecting dishes and also explaining how to properly eat it, in order to experience all flavours. Also, the spa was great! I enjoyed three treatments during my stay and enjoyed them immensely. I highly recommend staying at this hotel, and would stay here again in a heartbeat if I ever return to Hanoi.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may not want to stay in the city view room. It can get quite noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were very impressed with the lovely facilities of this hotel; especially for the price. It's in a perfect location near the famous beer corner, and it's close to everything in the old quarter. We wanted to say a big thankyou to the wonderful staff, who went out of their way with everything. Thanks Eric, Clayton, Jane, and Harry
P.s thankyou for the beautiful honeymoon welcome

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Damianjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at the Essence and hated to leave. It was the perfect location and the room was spotless. The staff goes above and beyond to meet all of our needs. They were so kind and helpful. We would recommend this hotel without any reservation, in fact if your travels work so that you can stay here you will not regret it. I travel many nights per year and I am particular about the hotels I book. The Essence is a real find and a great deal for the money. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My partner and I spent 3 nights at Essence d'Orient Hotel in Hanoi in July 2014. The hotel was perfect - I couldn't fault it. The staff were amazing, very attentive and paid close attention to detail. Rooms were very clean, perfect location in the old quarter and the hotel arranged everything we needed - including an amazing trip to Halong Bay. The rooms were also beautiful. Will definitely be returning to Hanoi and would not stay anywhere else! Thankyou for making our time in Hanoi perfect :)

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor - great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

located in Old Quarter in Hanoi..perfect place...
lovely welcome smile !
friendly & accommodating staff .Frank was very truly wonderful,he recommended many excellent places to enjoy last trip!thanks to his credible guide ,I had very nice vacation !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kinbaka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently stayed there for four nights and enjoyed it very much. Location is right in the centre of the Old District. V convenient. Service was impeccable. The hotel staff are young (in their 20s) and are v friendly and hospitable. Upon arrival, u'll get a welcome drink, and a staff member will sit u down, give u a map and recommend places to eat. Those recommendations are excellent. V cheap and tasty. U will also receive a fruit basket in the room. And a laptop in the room for u to use! And of cos there's free wifi. The hotel exterior n interior decor are v tastefully designed. One of the best hotels (in the world!) that I've stayed at for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 mi away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Essence Palace Hotel
Essence Palace Hotel
#28 of 607 in Hanoi
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oriental Suites Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa

Address: 22A Ta Hien Street, Hoan Kiem District | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Essence d'Orient Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 607 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £44 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the buzz of Hanoi's Old Quarter, the eco-friendly Essence d'Orient Hotel & Spa has built a reputation as one of the city's top boutique hotels. Great location, elegantly simple rooms with a Vietnamese touch and an obsession with service are the hallmarks of our hotel, which, despite its small size, offers most of the services of a five-star hotel. The awarded Essence restaurant & Essencia Spa opens daily to serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Essence d’Orient Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing