We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely”
Review of Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen Hotel
Ranked #233 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I loved this hotel. The staff were beautiful in spirit, helpful and went out of their way. Giang heated the room after a long trip from Sapa, fetched bread rolls from hoan kiem lake when I was sick, and become a personal guide on the moped around Hanoi..
The rooms were large, and the breakfast room was quirky. It became my home away from home for 10days. Noise was a problem in the rooms on the street side, but this is vietnam, and wouldn't you rather experience the chaos and culture instead of hiding away in a 5 star sterile hotel.. will stay there again on my trip.

Room Tip: room 602 has the best hot water and pressure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theroadslesstravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    26
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
38
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Queen Travel Hotel in December 2010. We found it to be very quirky - I was especially fond of the little indoor pond overwhich you had to cross by footbridge in order to access the reception desk. The rooms were very large and very comfortable and the bathrooms were complete with hairdryer which is always a bonus! Both our rooms had televisions, dvd players and their own computer with high speed internet access. Hoan Kiem lake was only a 10 minute walk away and there were plenty of good restaurants to choose from nearby. The staff were very helpful and even insisted on helping us to cross the road.

Room Tip: ask for a VIP room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JemmaD19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

After a dodgy taxi from the airport that tried to take us to the wrong hotel we arrived at the Queen Travel Hotel and were really pleased with it. It's build in the traditional narrow and tall style with two rooms on each floor. The staff are lovely and really helpful and not intrusive. The reception area is really cool with a little bridge and pond with fish and turtles. Breakfast is served in a really cute room, it's pretty basic but nice and the coffee is great. There is free internet access in the breakfast room. We had an exec room which had internet access in the room. The bedroom decor was really quirky and the bathroom was a good size. The place is a haven in the slightly chaotic old quarter.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DewsburyEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in Hanoi and it really was a great hotel for the money. The location is great, rooms really big and decorated lovely! all the staff were great and it was a bit like a home from home

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EmmaEDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Great room, great breakfast and great staff in this lovely small hotel with heaps of character in the middle of the Old Quarter. We stayed in a room at the back of the hotel which I believe is vital as the noise at the front may be a bit too much in the early hours. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoiraManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We stayed at THE Queen Travel at 65 Hang Bac for a number of days during July/August. The individuality and quirky features were a joy - the dining room with low level table and cushions was wonderful - did you know Tom Hanks had issued an LP - I didn't until I saw the evidence in a hotel in Hanoi - wonderful but weird. The zen roof garden was a fabulous and peaceful refuge from the heat and noise of the Old Quarter. We went to the very posh and very expensive Hotel Metropole for a cocktail - fascinating in its own and expensive right. On balance - where would I rather stay? The stuffy and starchy Metropole or the warm and friendly Queen Hotel? Queen Hotel, no shadow of a doubt. Nothing was too much trouble - even our own huggy ride across town on the hotel Honda 90 driven by one of the hardworking and friendly staff. The rooms are fine - they have character - as well as effective AC, good bathrooms and free internet connection (your own keyboard and screen provided in your room).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary-Dee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

We booked this hotel after seeing good reviews on this website. We were not disappointed.

We booked by emailing Queen Hotel, and organised pick up from the airport at the same time. From the moment we arrived at Hanoi international, everything ran smoothly. We were collected and delivered without fuss to the door of the hotel. The hotel itself (65 Hang Bac - beware of imitators) is in the heart of the old quarter, but stepping into the reception removes the stress immediately. The rooms are clean, spacious and breakfast is delivered to your room - try the Pho Bo - and staff were nothing less than helpful at all times. There was no hard sell of trips. I note that some reviews mention the noise. We stayed in bedrooms at the back of the hotel and had no trouble at all. I suppose rooms at the front would be noisier, but if you're staying in the old quarter, what do you expect?

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#200 of 591 in Hanoi
177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gia Thinh Hotel
Gia Thinh Hotel
#139 of 591 in Hanoi
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#142 of 591 in Hanoi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oliving Residence
Oliving Residence
#400 of 591 in Hanoi
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calypso Suites Hotel
Calypso Suites Hotel
#42 of 591 in Hanoi
910 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Hotel

Property: Queen Hotel
Address: 65 Hang Bac Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #233 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing