We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff who speak good English”
Review of Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen Hotel
Ranked #232 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Queen Hotel is ideally located for exploring the Old Quarter and nearby areas of the city. Many places of interest, restaurants and souvenir shops can be reached by walking. The staff are friendly and are happy to organise transport and tours if needed. The rooms are good, although the beds are quite firm. Breakfast is adequate, but not the type where you can load up for the day and not worry about eating until dinner time. The historic push bikes and motor bikes that decorate the place are interesting in their own right. There is a money changer next door, above one of the many jewellery shops in Hang Bac Street. Internet is free, but very slow.

Room Tip: There are two rooms on each floor. The front rooms, closest to Hang Bac Street, are tight for space...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Queen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Yes, this is a quirky hotel but they need to update a couple of things to keep getting good reviews.

Positives - the air conditioning and fans are great, the beds are firm and comfortable (even the fold up beds), the breakfast is adequate (hot meals available), it is in a convenient position to get to the markets and to see the old quarter and to walk to the lake, friendly staff. The rear rooms (VIP - 602, 702) are quiet and do not get much city noise) and have compueters with internet connection (a bit slow sometimes).

Negatives - strong mould smell from the bathrooms (water runs from the shower behind the bath and shower curtain has visable mould), no hot water available on two days, no cold water available on one day, pet cat in the hotel, love room (garden room) is very unappealing and dirty.

Our experience here has been a positive one, and we would come back. The staff spoke some english and were really willing to help with whatever we needed.

Room Tip: The rear rooms in our experience are quiet
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Great location, great staff (friendly and very helpful) and quirky! Reasonably quiet room in a very noisy district. grab yourself a free postcard from the front desk and utilise the map on the back. Close to lots of restaurants and bars. I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 702...no complaints at all
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newtowneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Small hotel, great location, clean and comfortable. Air conditioners, hot water and lift worked at all times. Best pillows i've ever had in a hotel. We came and went over 7 days and it was like coming home each time. The staff here were so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Although only a quirky little hotel with lots of antique bikes, clocks etc everywhere we had by far the best experience here than any other hotel we stayed at in Vietnam. Would definitely stay here again the staff made it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Hogel very convenient. Arrived very early about 930am and they let us have our room which was great. Mad mopeds in corridors! Room very large with little balcon. Overall definitely recommend and the lift worked OK except when power cut.

Room Tip: We had 502 at the back which was quiet
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I remember having to walk up these steep stairs that took forever just to get from one floor to another. Although I haven't been there for two years. I doubt that the lift works now.

Also, they have only one computer for the whole hotel that's quite small. But the rooms are nice, air conditioned, not incredible large but good. If I were to go to Hanoi again, I would stay in this hotel again (it's a small, clean, local hotel - so don't expect anything big).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veronicamorali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel is located in the crowded city centre of Hanoi. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The air-conditioned rooms have a size which is ok for the location and price and are furnished as travelers would expect an Vietnamese furnished bedroom. ;-) The breakfast can be varied by your own and is tasty. The laundry service is quick and our clothes were very clean and ironed. In the hotel WiFi is available. Because the hotel is located in the crowded and noisy centre of Hanoi the city sound can also be heared in the room. Our room was in the 5th floor to the front of the street but we could sleep well and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Luminous Viet Hotel
Luminous Viet Hotel
#195 of 598 in Hanoi
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanoi La Suite Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
Hanoi Central Park Hotel
#145 of 598 in Hanoi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Golden Spring Hotel
Golden Spring Hotel
#169 of 598 in Hanoi
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prince II Hotel
Prince II Hotel
#210 of 598 in Hanoi
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Classic Street Hotel
Classic Street Hotel
#126 of 598 in Hanoi
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Hotel

Address: 65 Hang Bac Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 598 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: £21 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing