We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good hotel if you are working in the area”
Review of Wild Lotus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wild Lotus Hotel
Ranked #413 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a good hotel if you are working in the area”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The position of this hotel is brilliant. The rooms have a beautiful view of the lake. The room itself was not good. Although recently renovated, Ll the price tags were still on everything and the mattress still had it's plastic cover. The bed, in traditional Vietnamese style, was in really hard. The bathroom was a health and safety nightmare. Hot water was not readily available, which was not good if you have an early start for work. The breakfast which had to be ordered the night before was appalling.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
9
14
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There are better options for hotels in Hanoi at this price point. My room was huge with a nice view of the lake and the staff was very nice. However, the room smelled terrible, the bed was hard and the pillow stiff. Not comfortable at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanoi hotels

USA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

You have to be kidding if you think you want to stay in the Old Quarter. Aim for the Sheraton instead then walk surrounding streets by West Lake (Ho Tay) until you find the hotel you like. Good restaurants, bars, street food and nice hotel rooms in the $40 range. Au Co Hotel deluxe room had a deep bathtub. Dragon Hotel is Chinese motif but I went for Wild Lotus room 101 decor and view of water lillies. 4 nights. No regrets. One desk clerk went on street bus 31 with me to buy a bus ticket to Nanning, China ($35 Kim Travel Hang Bac St--valuable info) in the confusing Old Quarter. So beyond the Call of Duty òf him. Xiaou Dieu St. has St Honore French Cafe, Vietnamese cafe with a choice of veggies and meats you can pick from, in other direction a gyros stand and morning market. Let your know-it-all kids stay in the Old Quarter. You want this area.

Room Tip: Only saw room 101 and took it. There is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel up in the Westlake district of Hanoi. The room we had was a deluxe with a city view. The bonus is that there was also a pretty nice view of the lake which is the largest in Hanoi. The deluxe room cost $64.00au. and as far as the room went it was well worth it. The reception staff spoke very good English so we were able to communicate quite well. It's too bad we only stayed her for one night as a stop over after returning to Hanoi from Halong Bay as it it close to the airport and we had to fly out early the next day to go to Hoian.
Unfortunately we had to order breakfast the night before and the following morning I was really unwell due to a respiratory infection both my partner and I picked up when we stayed in the old quarter of Hanoi a week prior, due to the polluted air. For this reason I was unable to go to breakfast. The air here is much cleaner.
My partner's breakfast was not what she had ordered the night before which was scrambled eggs on toast..she got two dried up fried eggs on toast. When she asked for the correct order she was brought two dried up fried eggs with no toast. If anyone is considering staying here forget about breakfast at the hotel, instead go out and have a nice baguette or croissant.
This is a hotel with much potential it just needs someone to come in and show them how to do it right. It is in a lovely area of Hanoi amongst some amazing houses which could fit in, in any swank area of the world. Also the main thoroughfares are so much cleaner and more like boulevardes rather then the narrow, dirty, congested streets of the Old Quarter.
There is an enormous selection of cafes and restaurants as well as patisseries most having a French influence about them. We had dinner at one called St. Honore and the quality of the food was as good as anything we had when we were in France a couple of years ago.

Room Tip: Probably a room facing the lake it has a very calming effect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louis x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Wild Lotus is a small hotel in the expat area of Tay Ho. We had a huge room with views of the lake. Breakfast was included in the room charge. The staff at Wild Lotus are amazing. They organised a SIM card for me, nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank happytravelling55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Friendly and nicely appointed little hotel. We picked this as a good value for money option as we had a 10 hour overnight layover in Hanoi. Amazingly there don't appear to be any airport hotels yet. It's 35 minutes from the airport and you can ask the hotel to send a cab there and back - cost $30 return which can be added to your hotel bill. This seems a good idea as the guide books talk of numerous taxi scams at the airport. When you check in at Hanoi - make sure you leave at least TWO hours to check in before your flight - and have patience! They are building a 2nd terminal at Hanoi ready in 2015 and they need it!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank iain_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville, MN
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Our room (501) faced the lake. It was huge, with very nice lighting and amenities. The view over the lake was great. The hotel sits on a fairly busy street, but the traffic dies down pretty early and the windows are well insulated against the noise. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was quite nice as well. The bowl of pho was huge, steaming, and really hit the spot on a cold January morning. The egg choice was nice as well. We saw another room, 701, which seemed as nice or better than 501. I didn't see an other rooms, but the lakeview rooms were great. There is a cool pagoda in the back that you can see from the breakfast area. I suppose you can see it from the rooms in back, but i didn't see any of those rooms.
We walked downtown, but you can take the taxi downtown for about five bucks. If you take a taxi, make sure it says TAXIGROUP on the sign on top. They are white with blue marks. I have heard these are the only taxis that will not try to scam you. We took them many times, with no problems. If you take another company, either agree on the price first or make sure they run the meter. I heard a few stories of huge fares for small trips.
Many small restaurants and bars nearby within walking distance. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.0 mi away
Dragon Hotel
Dragon Hotel
#192 of 591 in Hanoi
66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Westlake Hanoi Hotel
0.7 mi away
Diamond Westlake Suites
Diamond Westlake Suites
#115 of 591 in Hanoi
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fraser Suites Hanoi
Fraser Suites Hanoi
#168 of 591 in Hanoi
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paloma Hotel
Paloma Hotel
#267 of 618 in Hanoi
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elegant Suites Westlake
Elegant Suites Westlake
#24 of 383 in Hanoi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Lotus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Lotus Hotel

Property: Wild Lotus Hotel
Address: 106 Xuan Dieu , Tay Ho, Hanoi 8443, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #413 of 591 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Lotus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter with five floors containing 12 rooms designed and built with high architectural standards. It is among the Hanoi Old Quarter's top ten hotels, and has an excellent view of Hanoi. All rooms are air-conditioned and equipped with wood furnitures in classical style, IDD telephones, satellite TV, mini-bar, bathroom with bath-tub & hair dryers. ADSL internet access is free for guests staying in the hotel. Our friendly staff at travel desk will be at your service to help you in any travel arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Wild Lotus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing